Murad Essential-C Day Moisture SPF 30

3.1

28 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Ensulizole 2.0%, Octinoxate 7.5%, Octocrylene 6.0%, Titanium Dioxide 3.0% Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Butylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Cocoglycerides, Diisopropyl Sebacate, Glyceryl Stearate, Lauryl Lactate, PEG-100 Stearate, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Dimethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Aminomethyl Propanol, Pelvetia Canaliculata Extract, Ectoin, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Passiflora Incarnata Extract, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Tripleurospermum Maritima Extract, Sodium Myristoyl Sarcosinate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phospholipids, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Chitosan Ascorbate, Betaine, Sorbitol, Glycine, Alanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Arginine, Lysine, Glutamic Acid, Zinc Gluconate, Ethyl Linoleate, Cetyl Phosphate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Eugenol, Limonene, Linalool, Fragrance (Parfum), Yellow 6 (CI 15985), Red 33 (CI 17200)


on 4/30/2015 7:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After finishing the samples of this I had received I decided to go ahead and get the full sized bottle. I actually really do like this moisturizer. I don't like to wear it alone so I tend to mix a bit of my everyday moisturizer with it and then apply it. Personally, I don't need to much. I use probably a bit more than a pea sized amount with the same amount of my usual moisturizer and I find it to work out really well.
It does have a sunscreen scent but it tends to disappear within a minute or two. This sunscreen is on the pricey side but this is the first sunscreen that I have actually liked. I find that others can be too drying or oily but I rarely have that problem with this one. When I run out I will most likely be repurchasing it.



on 5/11/2014 11:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm on my second full-sized tube of this after initially getting a sample from Sephora. It's my everyday morning moisturizer. I love the scent, the lightweight formula, and the spf. To me, it does its job well and I'm growing accustomed to it, though I do wish it weren't so pricey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2014 8:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Meh. Just OK - and way too expensive. I am sticking with Skinceuticals and BeautiControl for now. Non occlusive and benign. Smells nice.


on 2/11/2014 10:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this from Ulta because they have an awesome return policy. I tried it for about a month--it was okay, nothing special. For $60 I wanted to be wowed, but instead, I was pretty underwhelmed. It also made my eyes sting during the day no matter how far away I put the product from my eyes, but that is seeming to be pretty common for me as I've been trying different moisturizers w/ sunscreen. I chose this sunscreen in particular because it is free of parabens. I also have a small bit of pigmentation from an old pimple. I can't comment on if this lightened it up any because I was also given the matching cleanser for free during a promotion. I used that with my Clarisonic and I think it helped brighten my skin. Needless to say, I returned the sunscreen and I'm sticking with my Neutrogena Ultra Sheer sunscreen for now (even though, sadly, it has parabens).

Anyway, I have oily skin and the Murad contributed to that but not horribly. I didn't have any adverse effects from it such as pimples. It is not very moisturizing, probably best to be used during the summer. I liked the fact that it has Vitamin C in it, but, as someone else mentioned, it's a bit odd that it's not in a dark-colored container. If you have the money, it wouldn't hurt to try it. But for my student budget it was too pricy for little benefit to me so I returned it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2013 2:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Where to begin... This is not moisturizing enough, it does not brighten the complexion, you need to apply it generously to get adequate sun protection, and the price is ridiculous. This is a very, very average product. Do not waste your money.


on 11/17/2013 1:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Good: I've been using this for about a couple of months now and I'm enjoying it. I love the way it keeps my skin hydrated throughout the day.
I have not had any breakouts or feeling of slimy oily skin.
I enjoy the light scent of citrus as i put this on each morning. Other than my coconut oil this is pretty much all i use for a daily moisturiser now.



Bad: I think it's a bit pricey really (over $100 here in New Zealand), but i'll buy it again at a cheaper price (Ebay).


on 10/13/2013 12:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely dry skin and this stuff was so greasy and sticky it made me look like an oily teenager. Never seems to absorb fully. I much prefer Neutrogena or Aveeno for SPF for my face. This stuff is comparable to something you'd grab at the dollar store.


on 6/10/2013 10:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this on sale, and until now it seems fine. No breakouts or anything. :)


on 5/5/2013 3:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really like the fresh orange citrus smell and the texture of this day cream. But, it sits on top of the skin and leaves a shiny greasy feel. I would not buy this again because of the gross shine it leaves. I needed to use a face powder to take the greasy look away, and the combination of the two feels like I'm wearing a mask. It's too expensive for what it is.


on 3/10/2013 12:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got a free sample and decided to try it today under my makeup as I am on the hunt for a moisturizer. The citrus smell is ehhh but it went away quickly. I had to wait a bit for it to be absorbed so I can use my MAC Studio Fix. Even after a few minutes it was still not completely absorbed and I was rushed so I had to do my makeup anyway which I did not like.

It wasn't a bad moisturizer but it wasn't great either and for that price, I'll pass!

I must say, if it has vitamin C or antioxidants, shouldn't it be packaged in a dark glass bottle??


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top