Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Fast Dry Nail Color

3.3

119 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/18/2015 10:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've tried 2 colors from the Insta-Dri line (a purple and a pink), and I liked them. Looking at the other reviews, I might have non-picky nails as they don't chip often and I don't think I've ever gotten an air bubble with any polish I've used. My main concern when polishing my nails is that they don't apply streaky. The Insta-Dri polishes don't streak at all (even with my sometimes sloppy application).

I think some people have mentioned the brush as a negative, but for me it is a definite positive. It is short and fat which allows for better control and allows me to cover my entire nail in 2 brush strokes rather than 3 (lessening the chance of any streaking too). Before when I didn't use a base coat or a top coat, I never had any staining even with the rich purple color on my toes for 2 weeks. I do think they dry faster than a regular polish but since I use a dry-fast top coat now I haven't had much of a chance to evaluate that aspect.

Overall, I enjoy using the Insta-Dri colors and the unique brush shape allows for easier application. I also like that the bottle is shaped differently as it makes it easier to find the color I'm looking for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/10/2015 2:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have these in Expresso (mauve-berry), Racey Rouge (bright red) and Pink Blink (baby pink with a white-ish undertone) and I love them! The wide and flat brush is so easy to use, just the best brush I could imagine. I wish all polishes came with this type of brush. They do dry fairly fast, although I still wait at least 10 minutes for them to dry just in case. They are very opaque and matte with little shimmer. Texture-wise they differ a bit depending on which shade you buy. My favorite of the 3 I own is Expresso because it takes only 1 coat and I can wear it a week with barely any chipping. With Racey Rouge a second coat is optional, I would say, depending how deep you want the color to be, but not necessary. (UPDATE on Racey Rouge: it is actually kind of watery unlike the other shades & has a completely different formula! It also chips quickly, so despite my love for the usual Insta-Dri formula, I DO NOT recommend this particular shade!) Pink Blink being a lighter shade does require a second coat. Both of the last 2 I mentioned last a few days but not as long as Expresso. The only thing is, I wish they had a greater variety of shades and a more modern, creative twist on classic reds, pinks and corals. They tried to go with the trend and came up with some greens and yellows, but IMO those shades did not turn out pretty at all, they are edgy or "different" at best. If they had more cute and modern shades to choose from like Essie, for example, I would seriously buy most of my polishes from that line!


on 11/28/2014 11:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

The plus about Insta-Dri line is that they do indeed dry fast; not as much as they claim but faster than a lot of other brands. Unfortunately that's about the only good thing I have to say about them. They are pretty goopy and look thick and cheap on the nail, and also bubble like crazy. Not to mention they chip horribly. I have heard good things about the Insta-Dri top coat and I plan on trying that in the future but I won't buy any more of their colors.


on 11/2/2014 3:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Sandstorm is my absolute favourite color from this collection. It dries fast, has a nice formula, wide brush (THE BEST TYPE OF BRUSH), and it's cheap. Cons: It chips without a top coat and it gets thick/unusable over time. Regardless, it's cheap and a go-to nail color for me. I have repurchased and will continue to.


on 10/8/2014 7:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

At first I thought I hit the jackpot...manicure went on easily, dried extremely fast, looked amazing. Unforuntatley the chipping started the next morning and by mid day I was embarrassed of my nails. Will not repurchase but it was cheap and worth a try


on 9/23/2014 10:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I tried the clear polish as a quick dry top coat. Awesome results! I used it with Sugar Daddy. I'm not sure if it will work as well with a dark color but I'm certainly going to try it. It's less expensive than using a quick dry top coat, like Seche, that gets thick half way through the bottle.

The brush is too big but it's clear polish, so I didn't mind it being a little messier to apply.

I just tried this so I have no idea how long this manicure will last. I would only get three days of no chipping with Seche so if I get near that I will be pleased.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought Go For Gold and it's fabulous. Very sparkly and metallic. I only needed one coat. Will post a follow up on how long it wears.

Follow up review: this nail polish chips in 48 hours I guess if you need a quick drying manicure that doesn't need to last beyond a day, this will be perfect. It does dry quickly and it looks very nice. But it was chipped in 2 days. I'd rather get something a little more longer wearing (note - I used seche vite top coat). I've revised my overall rating to 1.


on 7/20/2014 4:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love these polishes. I have the following colors: Sonic Bloom- a coral/rose cream; Agile Amethyst- a shimmery purple/pink; In A Flash- a shimmery light pearl/gold; Wined Up- a dark burgundy shimmer; Hurry Honey- a shimmery nude; Expresso- a nude pinky/brown cream; Night Flight- an almost black navy blue; Royal Rum- a shimmery mauve; Mochachino- a shimmery chocolate brown; Cocoa Crisp- a shimmery cinnamon color; Uptempo Plum- a shimmery nearly black Purple. I love that these are fast drying. I would say the formula can be a little thick and gloppy and the brush is tricky but overall the polish lasts for at least 6 days and only a little wear at the tips which is expected. No chips. These polishes are also a good value as they can be found at Target or most drugstores at any given time on sale for as cheap as $2.99. I pick up new colors whenever I see them on sale. Definitely have and will continue to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2014 6:22:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It dries kind of fast. The brush came off... And it peels off almost the same date.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2014 8:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a few of these nail polishes, they dry fast, of course it says insta dry. Nice colors, except the yellow. These will lasta long timje so I think when I ran out of them I won't be buying them anymore. Nice pigments, they last for 2 to 3 days without chipping I put a top coat on. The only problem is the wide brush, is not for a small nail. Need to be careful when swipping the brush. A good product, but not a holy grail product.


Popular Polishes


Cajun Shrimp
115 Reviews
Nail Paint
65 Reviews
Nail Polish
42 Reviews
Dorothy Who?
33 Reviews
Nail Enamel
162 Reviews


Back to Top