Neutrogena Ageless Intensives Deep Wrinkle Serum

3.8

35 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dipropylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isononyl Isononanoate, Adipic Acid/Diethylene Glycol/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Dimethicone PEG 10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Copolymer, Bisabolol, Squalane, Oat Kernel Extract (Avena Sativa), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Retinol, Tocopherol, BHT, Glycerin, Erythorbic Acid, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Chloride


on 6/26/2015 5:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Wow the last time I reviewed a product was years ago. But this product is definitely deserving of a review. I bought this just last week at a warehouse sale and have been using it daily since. I chose this serum over the cream because the cream contains parabens and I am trying to avoid those. I honestly believe this is my miracle in a bottle. I was so impressed that I went back before the sale ended and got 5 more bottles. I have tried so many products for my face (I was looking for anti-aging as well as something that fights acne) and honest to goodness this stuff is amazing. I have never seen anything that works as fast as this product does. It absorbs so easily! My skin has never looked this good in the last 7 or 8 years. It is so smooth and can barely see my pores with using this stuff for just a week! I did have some mild peeling and very mild irritation the first couple of days but that has all subsided now and I was glad because it means the product is working. I should mention that if you have very sensitive skin you should start very slowly and work your way up because this stuff is potent. My skin is not sensitive so I was able to use it twice daily from the get go. BOTTOM LINE: amazing amazing stuff (not only anti-aging but also anti-acne)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 3/28/2015 11:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I rarely review products unless they are miracle workers or beyond horrible. For me this stuff is a miracle in a bottle. I've been using it on and off for about a year now. I have a very expressive face and because of this I started getting deep wrinkles along my forehead when I was fairly young (early 20's) With consistent use it makes my forehead lines nearly invisible. If you stop using the product all the good it has done goes away within a couple weeks, there's also a possibility that the dry winter air sped up that process for me. One bottle lasts me about 6-8 months. After my last bottle ran out I had stopped using it for about two months. By the time I repurchased I felt like Mother Gothel, despite the rest of my skincare routine without consistent use of this serum I just looked haggard.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2015 3:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using this for a few years on and off. I've tried all types of skincare products but I always have this one on hand. It's as good or better as some serums that are much more expensive. I can see the difference in my skin in the morning when i use this at night. My skin is brighter, more even toned and softer. There is no miracle in a bottle out there that will remove your wrinkles. I'd rather save my money for botox and fillers when I need them.


on 3/20/2015 7:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I didn't realize the good this product did until i ran out and quit using it! Once i ran out of this, i tried SO many other products and none compared to this, so i'm going back.
the main things i love about this are as follows:
sanitary pump: so you aren't dipping your fingers into a pot of product every day and it continues to collect germs and bacteria. it also doesn't dry out or change because of exposure to air.
absorbency: it soaks into the skin quickly and doesn't cause a greasy build-up. doesn't have any negative affect on primers or makeup you apply after.
benefits: over several weeks i noticed a decrease in minor and even major lines and wrinkles, discoloration, acne scars.. had no ill effects like break outs or irritation. i also noticed that my skin felt more hydrated.
compared to other products i've tried, this one seems to have maximum benefits with no greasy residue, break outs or irritation. after a few weeks of not using this product, i noticed a huge decline in the condition of my skin and no other product seemed to help. I went back to this product and i started looking better and feeling more confident within a couple weeks.
As a result of this little experiment, i am now a dedicated consumer and i will continue to purchase this serum as long as it is available to me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2015 3:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Purchased this to compare to PTR Retinol Fusion PM, which I've just finished using. Don't want to pay for expensive stuff if the cheaper stuff works just as well.
Out of the box, I really like the packaging. Glass bottle, completely opaque, and the pump can be closed to prevent air intake. Compared to the PTR, the price is super reasonable, (if it works).

The formula is more of a gel cream than a serum. The smell is very faint to me, not sure if they've reformulated or what. It is maple syrupy for sure, but doesn't bother me at all. It leaves a coney after feel, not surprised about that. So far so good, no irritation or break outs. My skin is normal to dry, not sensitive in the least, and is accustomed to using acids and retinols.

VERDICT: I don't like the greasy after feel. I don't like using silicone in my skin. I won't repurchase for this reason. The product seemed to work with evening skin tone and helped a tad with texture, but nothing miraculous from the one bottle I used. It made little to no difference in fine lines or wrinkles. I prefer the PTR formula, but not the price. This stuff worked just as well where results are concerned.
Off to try the next...


on 10/1/2014 8:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As with other reviewers, this has broken me out into big cystic pimples. Very disappointing. No effect on wrinkling that I could tell. I much prefer the ageless intensives moisturizer. This one was just not right for my skin.
Not repurchasing.


on 9/3/2014 5:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I have been using it for 3 weeks. It stings my skin a bit. However I haven't notice any results on my fine lines. I plan to move to prescription retinoids after this.

My skin got super sensitive after using it for 6 weeks.
I have moved onto prescription retinal and have never looked back

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2014 4:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have been using this for a couple months and it pretty much breaks me out everywhere I would put it. Now I only apply it to laugh lines on the bottom of my cheeks; if I apply it anywhere above my mouth I get breakouts and bumpy irritated skin. Yes I have sensitive skin and was only using it every couple days like the directions said (for sensitive skin) but it's pretty much been a waste of money. Very disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2014 5:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

Of all the retinol products I've tried (including other retinol products from Neutrogena), I like this one best. It works as well as any I've tried, but I prefer the texture of this one---a very silky gel/cream formula which just feels wonderful going on the skin.

The packaging is hygenic, and the opaque white bottle and pump keeps the retinol from light and air exposure, thereby keeping it stable (NEVER use a retinol product from a jar or see-through bottle!) But, the pump does make getting the last little bit out of the bottle a bit tricky. When it's getting near the end, I just lay the bottle on its side and pour out a bit of it onto my fingers.

I really don't notice much of a scent/smell at all. It's fragrance-free, which is another plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2013 2:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It's not too potent, but of course, if this is your first time using anything along the lines of retinol, do go slow and start with only a few days per week before building up to daily use

Smell wise -- yes, there is a scent, but it's not harsh or overwhelming at all. I am quite sensitive to smell.

Texture -- very light and velvety (can't think of any other word).

Packaging -- the pump is nice and hygienic. The downside is that it won't get everything or even most of the products out when you're nearing the end. In order to use every bit left after the pump could no longer pump anymore product out, I had the bottle stand upside down, and I would just unscrew it every night and with the little tube attached, scoop out a bit. This sure got tiring! Note that the tube is short and does not reach the very bottom of the bottle, so when I couldn't scoop anything out anymore, I would just hit the opening into my palm, and out would come the product! There was actually enough left to last me a good several weeks. So remember, don't toss it away or you'd have wasted a portion of your money (although it can get a bit annoying and unhygienic so make sure to have clean hands)!

Effectiveness -- not that effective. I say this because the effect is temporary. It's there, but it's temporary. I used up the whole bottle, and nothing changed. The only change you will see is perhaps within a few hours after using it or by morning (given that you use this product at night, which is when you ought to be using it). Fine lines (ie - marionette lines or mild forehead lines) will appear much softer and less visible. Perhaps to see better results, one must use this bottle after bottle after bottle. In any case, it's not worth it to me simply because the effectiveness just isn't good enough for me to spend the amount this product requires.

Prior to using this, I was using the serum from ROC (which is quite similar to this product, thus the switch). However, this product was just mehhh. I am going back to ROC; the price is about the same ($20 ish), but I do find ROC's much more potent.

All in all, this isn't bad to have in your skincare collection, but it's just not the best (and definitely not worth $20).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
Back to Top