Neutrogena • Ageless Intensives Deep Wrinkle Serum • Treatments

rated 3.8(28 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Possum44 on 2/25/2014 4:12:00 AM more reviews by Possum44

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for a couple months and it pretty much breaks me out everywhere I would put it. Now I only apply it to laugh lines on the bottom of my cheeks; if I apply it anywhere above my mouth I get breakouts and bumpy irritated skin. Yes I have sensitive skin and was only using it every couple days like the directions said (for sensitive skin) but it's pretty much been a waste of money. Very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mielr on 2/17/2014 5:46:00 PM more reviews by mielr

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

Of all the retinol products I've tried (including other retinol products from Neutrogena), I like this one best. It works as well as any I've tried, but I prefer the texture of this one---a very silky gel/cream formula which just feels wonderful going on the skin.

The packaging is hygenic, and the opaque white bottle and pump keeps the retinol from light and air exposure, thereby keeping it stable (NEVER use a retinol product from a jar or see-through bottle!) But, the pump does make getting the last little bit out of the bottle a bit tricky. When it's getting near the end, I just lay the bottle on its side and pour out a bit of it onto my fingers.

I really don't notice much of a scent/smell at all. It's fragrance-free, which is another plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Staaarlit on 10/17/2013 2:13:00 AM more reviews by Staaarlit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

It's not too potent, but of course, if this is your first time using anything along the lines of retinol, do go slow and start with only a few days per week before building up to daily use

Smell wise -- yes, there is a scent, but it's not harsh or overwhelming at all. I am quite sensitive to smell.

Texture -- very light and velvety (can't think of any other word).

Packaging -- the pump is nice and hygienic. The downside is that it won't get everything or even most of the products out when you're nearing the end. In order to use every bit left after the pump could no longer pump anymore product out, I had the bottle stand upside down, and I would just unscrew it every night and with the little tube attached, scoop out a bit. This sure got tiring! Note that the tube is short and does not reach the very bottom of the bottle, so when I couldn't scoop anything out anymore, I would just hit the opening into my palm, and out would come the product! There was actually enough left to last me a good several weeks. So remember, don't toss it away or you'd have wasted a portion of your money (although it can get a bit annoying and unhygienic so make sure to have clean hands)!

Effectiveness -- not that effective. I say this because the effect is temporary. It's there, but it's temporary. I used up the whole bottle, and nothing changed. The only change you will see is perhaps within a few hours after using it or by morning (given that you use this product at night, which is when you ought to be using it). Fine lines (ie - marionette lines or mild forehead lines) will appear much softer and less visible. Perhaps to see better results, one must use this bottle after bottle after bottle. In any case, it's not worth it to me simply because the effectiveness just isn't good enough for me to spend the amount this product requires.

Prior to using this, I was using the serum from ROC (which is quite similar to this product, thus the switch). However, this product was just mehhh. I am going back to ROC; the price is about the same ($20 ish), but I do find ROC's much more potent.

All in all, this isn't bad to have in your skincare collection, but it's just not the best (and definitely not worth $20).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* orenjinominh on 10/16/2013 3:12:00 AM more reviews by orenjinominh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

As a 20 year old, I practice religious sunscreen. however I live in a smoking household in the smog of LA and my skin though very clear and not too red, does have expression lines already showing on my forehead and sides of mouth. not to be a negative nancy, but I still prefer my skin to be better and worse and didn't want to shell out for skincare upwards of 50 a jar. I tried this on a whim even though I have plenty of moisturizers and tried roc (didn't see any difference). its been 2 weeks, but my lines are much much less noticeable on my forehead when I pull my eyebrows up. I need to use a few more jars to see, but the price and sanitary bottle doesn't hurt the curiosity. I also don't notice any discomfort or peeling even with nightly usage. I have to take a lip off for the odious meat marinade smell of it all. I use this at night. Also, some red spots from past acne are healing up very nicely! overall I'm glad I didn't shell out for a fancy pants version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chelleyb on 3/21/2013 2:51:00 AM more reviews by chelleyb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

So far it is doing well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleViolet on 12/20/2012 3:07:00 PM more reviews by LittleViolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Does a good job exfoliating and feeling that it is working. I didn't care for sleeping with the vanilla-egg cake scent, but it grew on me after a while (but I still don't like it).

My only real qualm was the glass jar and pump made it difficult to get the last part of the cream out of the bottle. $16 is spendy for me, and I don't want to waste product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 10/9/2012 4:33:00 PM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Nice gentle retinol serum. I use this around eyes & sometimes mouth area. It does a better job than a simple moisturizer around the eyes especially. I do find I have to wait a few minutes after cleansing, or I get a faint burning sensation. If I do wait, I have no sensitivity problems. Unlike Olay Regenerist, I haven't had any problems with clogged pores or acne. I don't know that it really has any effect on actual wrinkles, but it does seem to help with nighttime hydration in those sensitive areas that can't handle regular moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LauraAronson on 8/9/2012 11:02:00 AM more reviews by LauraAronson

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I switched to Neutrogena in June from another retinol serum, and so far I am pleased with it.

My dermatologist recommends using retinol at night (increases sun sensitivity). Having used retinol serums for a long time, I am much less wrinkled than many of my peers and get compliments on my appearance.

I have also used and liked Boots 7 regular (not intense) serum and Olay Regenerist serum, which both came out tops in the Good Housekeeping tests. The Neutrogena offers better value. If I still like it this winter, I'll stay with it long-term.

Learn from this 61-year old with great skin: Use sun screen, don't burn, eat a healthy diet, get enough sleep, and exercise. Meditate; it will lower your stress level. Avoid toxic people. Practice compassion. Cultivate happiness. If you live well, your skin care products have a chance to work. And you will be happy!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 7663shannon on 6/30/2012 8:14:00 PM more reviews by 7663shannon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

After reading all the great reviews I bought this one. Mistake I got biggest cystic pimples on my chin, I haven't had those since I was a teenager.I guess like others I can't handle the silicone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chippochic on 6/5/2012 3:55:00 AM more reviews by chippochic

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this serum after reading the reviews on MUA especially from bernsie. I bought the day cream as well. I really like this serum, others have said they don't like the silicone but I do. It makes your skin feel so smooth. I only use it in the morning on a clean face and then put the day cream over it. I sometimes mix the day cream with Philosophy Turbo Vit C powder for an extra hit. (Thanks, bernsie) The serum is in a pump bottle that opens and closes which is great. I won't buy creams that come in tubs or jars anymore. The bottle also unscrews so you can get the last of the serum out.

I recommend this serum. In Australia, where I am, it is a reasonable price too, compared to some other products that are relatively cheap overseas but not here. It is around AUD30 in priceline but is on special occasionally.

I have been using this for quite a while and have noticed a difference in the texture of my skin. I don't have any particular skin problems except aging and this has brightened my skin considerably. I only use it in the morning, I use other products at night.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments products