Neutrogena • Clear Pore Oil-Eliminating Astringent • Toners

rated 3.6(130 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Binney on 2/23/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by Binney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this toner but the smell is so incredibly strong of alcohol every time I take a whiff I gag. I breathe through my mouth when using it. I love it though so I manage :-) after this bottle I'm gonna look for another neutrogena toner that has witch hazel also but maybe less alcohol than 45%...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Narmeenbayy on 2/20/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by Narmeenbayy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Good product. But you have to stay consistent ! Will repurchase only because i feel like it did help as a spot treatment. Especially when you pick on pimples and need to dry one out just take a cotton ball or qtip and apply some with this stuff. Definitely helps wih that

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lftyexo14 on 1/26/2014 11:50:00 PM more reviews by lftyexo14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This product is just not working out for me.. Today I woke up to dry/ peeling skin. That's not a good thing, especially since I'm only 14. Also knowing the fact that I have really bad acne at this age.. I've barely had this product for 3 days and it's not really working. It's also a bit harsh because it burns after applying the oil-free acne wash. I don't know if I'd purchase this item again. I'd give it another try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pheebie on 1/17/2014 2:57:00 PM more reviews by Pheebie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After only 3 days of using this product (once per day), I developed several large, very red, very angry, painful blemishes on my right cheek, and numerous unsightly bumps on my forehead - areas where I rarely get blemishes. This was the only change in my product line-up, so it's taking the blame. It's been a week since I last used it and my face is still a mess. Please do not, DO NOT, use this. Foolishly I didn't heed others' warnings, as I've now realized my reaction is not uncommon. I also didn't read the ingredient label carefully - the alcohol content of 45%. FORTY-FIVE PERCENT. That is crazy high. It's going in the trash - I can't see keeping this noxious item in my house for any reason. Epic fail. I hope my skin recovers soon.

UPDATE - 1/22/14
It's now been well over a week since I last used this demon on my skin and, while I still have a few red spots from the blemishes it caused, they are no longer swollen or painful and finally seem to be going away. I'll continue to treat my skin with TLC in hopes repair the damage this {bleeping} product caused.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kyliemou on 11/5/2013 8:45:00 PM more reviews by kyliemou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have been a long-time sufferer of pimples and blackheads ever since I was a teenager. Nothing seemed to really work for me until my friend recommended this astringent to me in high school. All I can truly say is I have been using this for YEARS and it still works for me. It's my holy grail and it'll never change. The salicylic acid is 2%, which can be drying, but as long as you follow up with a moisturizer, you should be okay. I sometimes even use this as a spot treatment throughout the day by dabbing a bit on my clean finger or q-tip and applying it to the pimple. This astringent has been very helpful in keeping my pimples at bay. I can't say it has helped clear my blackheads completely (I still have them), but it has definitely helped keeping them to a minimal.

Skin Info: I have sensitive, acne-prone, combination (dry/oily) skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katzie105 on 10/18/2013 9:29:00 PM more reviews by Katzie105

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

10/25/2013 UPDATE: Unfortunately I'm going to have to bring this 5 star rating down to a 1. After about 2.5 days of using this toner it broke me out something horrendous. I never get huge acne and I developed 4 huge, pus filled acne. That happened this past Monday. It's now Friday and I'm STILL battling the effects of this toner. I returned it and wound up picking up Clean and Clear toner. I have no idea what it was that irritated my skin so horribly, but it also made it crazy dry and I've been using deep moisturizer for 4 days now. This destroyed even MY skin which is so hardy to begin with.

------------------

ORIGINAL REVIEW:

This product is NOT for sensitive skin, or dry skin at all, even if you guys DO have acne.

The product is self explanatory, "clear pore and oil eliminating." If you have extremely congested skin, combination skin, oily skin, or "tough skin" then this product will be for you.

I have the worst kind of skin that is very tough. If I don't physically scrub my face daily, I will get skin build up, tons of hard oil plugs that manifest quite literally over night, blackheads, and acne spots.

This stuff is SERIOUS. It's high alcohol content, and 2% Salicylic Acid.

My mother has oily skin and has used this for years and she has no congestion, no acne, and no blackheads. I decided to give it a shot because nothing else was budging my bumpy skin, and Witch Hazel is too gentle for my face.

It tightened up pores immediately, it smoothed my skin, and the clogs and congestion I had on my face were able to be extracted soon there after, and very easily. It is HARSH though. It burned very badly the first time I used it, subsequent times were not as bad.

Definitely follow up with a gel moisturizer if you have oily/clog prone skin. I haven't had an issue with drying yet, but I'm sure if you overuse it it could become a problem.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mchllbnll on 10/18/2013 2:32:00 AM more reviews by mchllbnll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

This astringent in conjunction with my clindamycin topical gel is fantastic. It has salicylic acid which is definitely doing a great job at keeping my moderate acne at bay. It's very cooling and refreshing, and if you can get past the smell (think listerine) then I would definitely recommened this toner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yaytaytay on 8/31/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by yaytaytay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this! i only use it once or twice a week to get rid of all the gunk and exfoliate, especially when i'm having a breakout. This clears it right up. It's a little too harsh too use every day tho. Plus, the smell is a little strange. But other than that i love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GabriellaC on 7/29/2013 12:45:00 AM more reviews by GabriellaC

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Works great with the clean pore mask! Way better than the clean and clear astringents!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lyssiekimi on 7/17/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by lyssiekimi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the first astringent/toner i've used and I like it a lot:) I'll put this on a cotton ball and run it over my whole face and the cotton ball will turn brown, sometimes yellow because of the dirt and oil on my face, even after washing it with clearasil! however, after i use it, it makes my face really shiny... weird, but my matte foundation usually takes care of shinyness. And I recently started using it on my chest and back and my chest totally cleared up over night! There are still a few bumps but it's not red at all! I cant really say much for my backne cause it's mostly acne scars on my back, but i think this is helping to lighten them:D

I also use it after i've popped a pimple or extracted a blackhead and ooh, it STINGS but it does the job, and i can deal with the sting.

The smell IS really chemically though...

So far i love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Toners products