Calamine Lotion

4.5

67 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Calamine (6.971%) (skin protectant), Zinc Oxide (6.971%) (skin protectant) Inactive Ingredients: Bentonite, Calcium Hydroxide, Glycerin, Water (Purified)


on 7/22/2015 10:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm new to using this so I am still on the fence but I will update as I go.

I got this specifically because I have a problem with hormonal acne.
I never used to but I stopped taking birth control pills in February in favor of an IUD and the hormonal acne showed up a couple months later (around april/may). I think it's hormonal acne because its only on my jawline. I don't really have a problem with acne anywhere else.

So I bought a bottle of this, shook it up, and dabbed it on my lovely zits. Then I went to bed.
When I woke up, the acne looked the same (to me). But it felt like it was less swollen and hot. I get those deep knotted pimples that are under the surface.

After a couple days, most of my pimples had come to a head and were much less swollen and red. Usually these pimples last a week or more and never come to a head, just boil up and sit there looking hideous.

Well it's been about 4 days since applying this that one time. I gently exfoliated with my clarisonic as I could see dead skin shedding off my zits. So the calamine lotion definitely helped dry out that acne. Today I woke up and all of my zits are flat, with no dead skin or swelling. Just little red marks.

I would say it's definitely an improvement. I DID dab on some tea tree oil after exfoliating last night as well. I think the calamine helps really "calm down" the acne, like reduces swelling and redness a lot and helps bring them to a head.

I will update!



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Everyone seems to love this but it really did nothing for me! In fact I think it irritated my skin, I put it on a breakout and not only did it do nothing for it but the skin around it became...textured? This is soothing on bites and rashes on the body though (It stops itching, nothing else really) but it was cheap so no hard feelings.


on 7/9/2015 11:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

I wish that this had worked for me as well as it did for everyone else! I tried this on some cystic pimples and this did nothing for them :( it didn't make them less inflamed or go down at all (to be fair, my cystic acne usually won't go down with anything once it's there). I'm giving this three lippies because I have used it on regular pimples and it has helped a lot. A good, cheap cure for regular acne but not for cystic acne!


on 7/8/2015 11:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow. I've always had this stuff in the back of my cabinet that my family uses for bug bites and I remember being covered in this stuff when I had chicken pox. But I NEVER thought to use it after months of experiencing mild acne all over my face. (I used to have moderate acne a few years ago, I thought i had cleared it up for good but i guess not.) I've used so many things to try and clear my skin up: witch hazel, lavender oil, raw honey, ice cube facials, apple cider vinegar, and plenty of drugstore washes and spot treatments. The only thing that has been helping a little is the raw honey as a mask/cleanser and rubbing my face with an ice cube twice a day. But I still had these tiny pimples all over my forehead and some painful ones on my temples. I also have red marks on my cheeks from breakouts and a few small under the skin pimples which are painful nonetheless. I decided to try it after finding a review for it on here since I'm always scouring the internet for new ways to try and fix my skin. I grabbed the one in my cabinet and almost started putting it all over my face but i'm so glad i looked at the ingredients first because it wasnt even real calamine! It just had a bunch of artificial junk in it and not even the good stuff which is zinc. I went and got actual calamaine in the first aid section of the supermarket and i dabbed it all over my problem areas and went to sleep. I just woke up and rinsed it off and my skin hasn't looked this good in so long... Some pimples are still there but it completely took the redness away! I'm so happy. I'm going to do this every few nights until my skin is better because I've read that it can be drying and your skin might become used to it and it may not be as effective.

Side note: I wash with a mild goat milk soap instead of a harsh cleanser and when I'm wearing makeup i use a vibrating gentle brush to make sure the makeup is all out of my skin and then i cleanse with raw honey after that. I also try to do honey masks for 30 mins a day because i feel like it keeps the larger pimples at bay and my face moisturized. I also started drinking more water and I drink up to 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar a day diluted in water. I've also started exercising more each day and eating more fresh foods and less sugar and dairy ( I didn't completely cut those things out because I have the biggest sweet tooth and I love cheese -__-)

Anyone who is experiencing acne and nothing is working, you should definitely try this regimen and spot treat with calamine!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2015 9:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very oily on my T-zone, sensitive and acne prone skin... I've read a lot of gud reviews about this product, but unfortunately, it didnt work for my pimples.. I've been using for 4 days now but those pimples still on my face... It might work for somebody else, not for me :(


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

WHO FREAKING KNEW. After two nights use, this shrunk two HUGE zits (and didn't dry them up and make them scab either....just shrunk them) and DRAMATICALLY faded some recent post acne marks and made my skin tone look so much more even. I also wore this as a makeup primer to work yesterday and IT IS AWESOME. Made my skin look completely pore less, matte and kept my makeup on all day. WHO FREAKING KNEW.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2015 1:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to use this on cystic pimples I would get and it really helped. Now I use it from time to time as a facial mask and still really like it as that.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 12:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Love it... Oil control, clear acne and blemish.. Great makeup primer too..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2015 3:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was so impressed by this. I purchased it due to all the reviews on here saying that this effectively dried out their pimples without being harsh.
It's so true. I got a bottle of the Walgreen's brand pink stuff for like $6.00. I had a cystic pimple forming on my chin and I've been leaving the lotion on overnight for the past two nights as a spot treatment. All I can say is wow. It's already gotten smaller and it doesn't hurt anymore like it initially did. I also used this as a spot treatment for a couple of pimples I've been having on my jawline and it's making the redness go away while also drying the pimples. This stuff is wonderful, and so inexpensive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2015 10:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great little CVS find , desperation of finding product for my hormone acne and happy found it and every time sense a zit popping up apply once in morning and night and didn't flake or over dry it went away faster the chin acne clear in one day in half after applying might and five house in morning before errands and used acne concealer to give it more fighting power.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
144 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top