Michael Kors • Very Hollywood • Fragrances

rated 3.3(97 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 stylesnburberry on 3/14/2014 2:17:00 AM more reviews by stylesnburberry

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is not your average Michael scent. It is very light and and has some traces of floral scents, in particular gardenia. I feel that Micheal Kors brought out this scent for the younger generation as he was/is seemingly getting popular with them. Just look at the pink, over the top bottle. My best friend normally has a great taste in fashion and perfumes so when she told me she had bought this and how wonderful it was (when it first came out), I didn't even flinch to buy the 3.4 oz. bottle. This scent is a way too light for me and whenever I take it out with me I find myself spraying it on frequently. There is NO staying power! I absolutely hate the clunky bottle. It takes up so much room in your purse and the rectangular cap somehow finds its way to twist itself off leaving you to fondle around your purse to try and find it. Needless to say, there is a nice amount left on my perfume stand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 2/8/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Don't buy if you're a perfume lover, love white florals, or gardenias, or demand value for your money in perfume.

Do buy if you're:
...used to "youthful" citrus scents, or berry body mists in huge plastic bottles.
...new to collecting perfumes and want a display-worthy super cute bottle.
...want a safe entry into wearing white florals and don't want to offend anyone.
...have plenty of money for the first time and want to upgrade to a "real, grown-up" perfume
...have tried classic fragrances before but at the first sniff, before they've had a chance to settle, you ran to the bathroom to scrub it off, screaming "over powering - choking - 100 year old lady smell - dead person in funeral home - toilet/bug/laundry/cleaning spray!!"

Very Hollywood is a short-lasting, gardenia-based white floral water with poor lasting power (1/2 - 1 hour on me). Its 50c worth of body spray in a nicely designed bottle that will take Michael Kors laughing all the way to the bank, thank you very much. I really regret buying this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TacoBelle on 1/11/2014 5:06:00 PM more reviews by TacoBelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

WOW! I love this scent! I never liked gardenia before but this is just *beautiful*! youthful floral with a hint of sweetness, I feel like I'm in a summer garden

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missymarissa on 10/11/2013 12:54:00 AM more reviews by missymarissa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I also agree with other reviewers that this does NOT describe Hollywood. I think of Chanel Coco to describe the glamorous personality of Hollywood. If it was a scent that I enjoyed I could overlook it but unfortunately I don't. It says nothing. It's just floral and sweet. There's just nothing there for me and I feel very average when I wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 erkava2071 on 4/9/2013 4:31:00 AM more reviews by erkava2071

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

So I'm going to go ahead and give this a review after having this perfume for over a year and a half. First of all it has rarely been used due to the strong floral factor that I wish was toned down. Every once in a while I say to myself ooh let me try wearing it today-but it falls short. Ok and also I can't get over the name. This fragrance is just the opposite of what my vision of Hollywood is. This fragrance is safe, delicate, floral(strong on the gardenia) and a bit conservative. Hollywood is seductive, sexy, alluring and dangerous I can't even wear this on a night out in Hollywood it's a mere day scent with no dimension in my opinion. It also fades incredibly fast. I just think it could've been a bit more alluring- it's just lacking. But it's a good floral for those that prefer them. Me? I don't wanna smell like a bouquet. I love the bottle though and I'm keeping it as decor. Staying power=no good Overall scent is good for casual daytime wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pestina18 on 3/22/2013 8:53:00 PM more reviews by Pestina18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My favorite scent! I bought two bottles with a coupon and got a great deal. This scent is so light, like a flowery, blossomy, springtime scent. I don't get a fruity smell from it at all. The "sparkling" version isn't much different at all, and it's a little cheaper. There's nothing heavy or overpowering about it, and it doesn't have that burning alcohol-like scent I get with many other perfumes. Light and flowery - great for spring and summer, but it's refreshing in the colder months. I won't use anything else!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovemacchiato on 10/27/2012 5:36:00 PM more reviews by ilovemacchiato

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this - It smells kind of like Jennifer Aniston's scent, but with a dash of fruit. It doesn't seem to last very long, so get a small bottle that you can keep in your purse to reapply throughout the day

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 loobyl on 9/9/2012 5:21:00 PM more reviews by loobyl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I managed to get a 50ml bottle for only 20 pounds instead of the usual 50. Smells nice when first sprayed but unfortunatly only lasts about an hour on my skin so I donīt think I would buy it again as I like a perfume to last for at least 6 hours. I ended up giving this to my sister.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SweetKaceyJane on 7/2/2012 1:09:00 PM more reviews by SweetKaceyJane

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I picked this up without having smelled it, and luckily, it was a bargain purchase. I am not a gardenia, delicate floral type of girl. Fortunately, my mother is, and she adores it. Therefore, my opinion: if you want something with an attitude, a statement or some mystery, look else wear. If you just need a pleasant scent, that your boyfriend's mom will like, pick it up, on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* takemyhusbandplz on 5/28/2012 6:56:00 PM more reviews by takemyhusbandplz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

For some reason, all of Michael Kor's perfumes smell vaguely similiar on my skin. They all start out with a very synthetic, aquatic smelling base.

After about 15 minutes of marinating on my skin, Very Hollywood turns into a cool, modern and very light gardenia with just a hint of raspberry. The other notes never really develop on my skin.

The sillage on my skin is non-existant. This scent also does not last on the skin very long at all.

I own Fairy Dust as well (it has many similiar notes), and on my skin Fairy Dust has much better sillage and lasts much longer. Though, I do think Very Hollywood is a more sophisicated gardenia.

Overall, I like this one, it's okay, nothing too spectacular on my skin. I wouldn't repurchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Michael Kors products

More Fragrances products