Bare Escentuals • bareMinerals SPF 15 Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.5(96 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 noelizgonzalez on 9/22/2014 12:42:00 AM more reviews by noelizgonzalez

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Just like every other foundation, you have to apply it the correct way. If you have a lot of scars, redness, hyper pigmentation, or even acne, you're definitely going to need to apply this with the concealer brush from bare escentuals. When I first started using this foundation which was about 3 years ago, I made the mistake of applying it with the flawless face brush. That gave me little coverage, and I had to end up using more then what I really needed. I started applying the foundation with the concealer brush and literally everything is covered, from acne, acne scars, and redness. Bottom line is use the concealer brush for full coverage! This foundation is perfect for me. It doesn't break me out and I have every sensitive skin, so a lot of other high-end brands break me out like crazy. It leaves a very natural look and ever since I've been using this, I get compliments on how beautiful my skin looks. It covers just about everything. I use the matte foundation because the original foundation emphasizes my oily skin and has me shining all day. I haven't experienced any horrible breakouts from using this product in the last 3 years, and mind you I breakout very easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 msbluestone13 on 9/15/2014 3:41:00 AM more reviews by msbluestone13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I went with my mom to get us both a starter kit of this makeup. I had to go back 3 times because no one could correcrly match my skin color. Anyway.. I did not like it. It didnt cover anything atall. It also felt..like there was too much powder on my face. It was also too dewy..the finish. I tried this foundation with bisque later on..still didnt work great... the matte version works lots better as far as not being dewy and I can find a color match as well. It works for some ppl..not for me :-(







    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emilyc123 on 9/14/2014 8:14:00 PM more reviews by emilyc123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like this mineral foundation. it makes my face look natural and it looks good with my liquid foundation. doesnt irritate my acne. it is pricey, and i cant wear it alone, but if you dont have bad acne and want a light foundation, i suggest this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/29/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried this several times with the same result. First I do not like how it looks on the skin and I do not find it natural looking at all on anyone, it always increasing my oil production on my skin, within and hour I am already getting shiny enough that I need to touch up. I always looks cakey as the day goes on and creases which I do not get with my other foundations. I have found that PF is much better than this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 huttoncg on 8/26/2014 8:33:00 PM more reviews by huttoncg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've got pretty severe acne. This product is nice and light and feels natural so I really want it to work out. Unfortunately I've got really oily skin and I feel this product slipping off my face about an hour after I apply it. I just need more long lasting coverage just more coverage in general.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yjanney on 8/7/2014 4:58:00 AM more reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used this for several years around 2000. It was definitely better for my skin than a lot of the liquid foundations out there that clogged my pores and made my face even greasier! This was back when mineral/powder foundation was a new idea, so it was very exciting.

Unfortunately, it never provided enough coverage for my broken-out skin, it didn't prevent my face from getting oily, and it would be almost gone in a matter of hours. To be fair, I don't think I knew about primers back then.

I found some lurking in a drawer the other day and decided to try it again, now that my oiliness is more under control and my skin has cleared up a lot. Still not thrilled with this product, though. I prefer IT Cosmetics Celebration Foundation - better coverage, more natural looking, less mess. I alternate between IT and Motives Liquid Powder foundations.

This was a completely new and different idea in makeup, and I appreciate it for forging a new path. But there are better options out there. Won't be buying again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 annaa7 on 8/5/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by annaa7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand what all the hype is about. This is a HORRIBLE product, it does NOT cover whatever kind of acne you have! This is a waste of money. I bought the kit with brushes, concealer and foundation. I did like it in the beginning, but turns out it is not good. However, the brushes are good. And I also liked the concealer. But the foundation? No.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cogitoergodebs on 7/29/2014 5:22:00 PM more reviews by cogitoergodebs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

easily the WORST purchase ive ever made. looked great in the shop but within hours had clogged every pore and was emphasising rather than hiding imperfections and I have clear skin. if you have even remote issues with spots or redness AVOID this product. zero coverage yet clogs pores. waste of money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gsalazar82 on 7/13/2014 1:45:00 AM more reviews by gsalazar82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation on its own offers little coverage. If you have imperfections on your skin that you want completely covered with JUST this than this is not the product for you. I use this to set my liquid foundation/BB Cream/ TM and it works really well for that. I don't like using a powder foundation to set because its too heavy but a translucent powder is not enough for me. I have dry skin and this powder gives me a nice natural finish; I notice that when I don't use this my skin looks a lot less hydrated.

This powder needs something to stick to in order for it to cover evenly and last throughout the day. It has a tendency to cling to dry patches and emphasize pores if used on its own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zee140 on 7/11/2014 4:51:00 PM more reviews by zee140

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So today I was at a makeup store and since my cousin is a makeup artist and works there.. She put the makeup for me and chose the right colors.. At first it looks fake and cakey BUT.. After 30-45 mins.. It sinks into the skin and looks so natural and it's just amazing..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Foundations products