Bare Escentuals • bareMinerals SPF 15 Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.5(93 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/29/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried this several times with the same result. First I do not like how it looks on the skin and I do not find it natural looking at all on anyone, it always increasing my oil production on my skin, within and hour I am already getting shiny enough that I need to touch up. I always looks cakey as the day goes on and creases which I do not get with my other foundations. I have found that PF is much better than this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 huttoncg on 8/26/2014 8:33:00 PM more reviews by huttoncg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've got pretty severe acne. This product is nice and light and feels natural so I really want it to work out. Unfortunately I've got really oily skin and I feel this product slipping off my face about an hour after I apply it. I just need more long lasting coverage just more coverage in general.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yjanney on 8/7/2014 4:58:00 AM more reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used this for several years around 2000. It was definitely better for my skin than a lot of the liquid foundations out there that clogged my pores and made my face even greasier! This was back when mineral/powder foundation was a new idea, so it was very exciting.

Unfortunately, it never provided enough coverage for my broken-out skin, it didn't prevent my face from getting oily, and it would be almost gone in a matter of hours. To be fair, I don't think I knew about primers back then.

I found some lurking in a drawer the other day and decided to try it again, now that my oiliness is more under control and my skin has cleared up a lot. Still not thrilled with this product, though. I prefer IT Cosmetics Celebration Foundation - better coverage, more natural looking, less mess. I alternate between IT and Motives Liquid Powder foundations.

This was a completely new and different idea in makeup, and I appreciate it for forging a new path. But there are better options out there. Won't be buying again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 annaa7 on 8/5/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by annaa7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand what all the hype is about. This is a HORRIBLE product, it does NOT cover whatever kind of acne you have! This is a waste of money. I bought the kit with brushes, concealer and foundation. I did like it in the beginning, but turns out it is not good. However, the brushes are good. And I also liked the concealer. But the foundation? No.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cogitoergodebs on 7/29/2014 5:22:00 PM more reviews by cogitoergodebs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

easily the WORST purchase ive ever made. looked great in the shop but within hours had clogged every pore and was emphasising rather than hiding imperfections and I have clear skin. if you have even remote issues with spots or redness AVOID this product. zero coverage yet clogs pores. waste of money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gsalazar82 on 7/13/2014 1:45:00 AM more reviews by gsalazar82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation on its own offers little coverage. If you have imperfections on your skin that you want completely covered with JUST this than this is not the product for you. I use this to set my liquid foundation/BB Cream/ TM and it works really well for that. I don't like using a powder foundation to set because its too heavy but a translucent powder is not enough for me. I have dry skin and this powder gives me a nice natural finish; I notice that when I don't use this my skin looks a lot less hydrated.

This powder needs something to stick to in order for it to cover evenly and last throughout the day. It has a tendency to cling to dry patches and emphasize pores if used on its own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zee140 on 7/11/2014 4:51:00 PM more reviews by zee140

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So today I was at a makeup store and since my cousin is a makeup artist and works there.. She put the makeup for me and chose the right colors.. At first it looks fake and cakey BUT.. After 30-45 mins.. It sinks into the skin and looks so natural and it's just amazing..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thejazzshak on 11/21/2013 7:46:00 AM more reviews by thejazzshak

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product is not for me. It doesn't cover my redness/acne, emphases my forehead and "smile" lines, dries my skin out even more even with moisturizer, makes my face look very powdery and lasts about 2 hrs. The only pro is it looks pretty natural (with a light land and zero coverage minus the settling) but I can get that from a $6 drugstore foundation with much better performance!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Hooverbunny on 10/1/2013 11:04:00 PM more reviews by Hooverbunny

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Loved this product 8 years ago until fine lines showed up. This product emphasizes fine lines. No primer works for this challenge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 YXXC on 9/4/2013 7:48:00 AM more reviews by YXXC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

If you get bumps, spots, itchiness, it's down to Bismuth Oxychloride. It's in a lot of eye products, eyeshadows and mineral makeup as it gives the skin that sought after glow. Ask the beauty counter girls if products contain it or read the packaging. Personally, I don't suffer with it and therefore rate Bare Minerals as it gives my skin a nice glow. Great for taking on short-haul flights as it's not a liquid so can carry on board. Using the primer that comes with the Get Started Kit means the powder doesn't cake on the skin. It's SPF 15, waterproof and the minerals found in it (other than Bismuth Oxychloride) helps to increase cell turnover.
For more honest reviews, 'like' me on Facebook Face Up To It, Twitter @YoCalliss, yocalliss.wordpress.com. Thanks :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Foundations products