Maybelline • Color Sensational - Are You Red-Dy • Lipstick

rated 4.2(19 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 ChiSuisho on 3/17/2014 6:17:00 PM more reviews by ChiSuisho

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a red with a hint of orange and found this. Texture is smooth when glided and the color is vibrant. I love this shade though I find it drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pickles945 on 1/4/2014 10:11:00 PM more reviews by pickles945

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fabulous red! In colour and pigmentation it matches that of Chanel's Rouge Coco in Rue Cambon, but at a much cheaper price (which is reflected in the cheap plastic packaging of this lipstick).

To wear this blue-based red lipstick, make sure your lips are exfoliated and moisturised - I prefer to wear a non-shine lip balm such as Nuxe's Reve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm - and then apply straight from the bullet. For casual everyday wear, I don't bother with lip liner. This creamy lipstick does not bleed, and the longevity is pretty great, lasting over 3 hours with a bit of drinking here and there. For food, don't have high hopes - it's obviously not going to last so have your meal and then pop to the restroom to re-apply.

I would definitely repurchase! A great red to have on hand to elevate any normal day outfit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chengyau on 12/14/2013 2:26:00 AM more reviews by chengyau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

It's a perfect red. I'm Chinese with medium skin tone. This colour compliment my Asian skin tone so well. It's cheaper than Mac ruby woo. It glides on so easily. If you have dry lips you can try scrubbing off the layer of dead skin on your lips first then apply mild amount of non shinning lip gloss or lip balm underneath this lipstick. Anyway I like to apply rich lip balm underneath first before my lipstick during the day because it gives this soft sexy red which makes my make up looks effortless. In another words you can achieve two different look with this make up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alexanna7 on 10/3/2013 9:39:00 AM more reviews by alexanna7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Are you red-dy is a creamy strawberry red lipstick. It goes well on the application,it last fairly long. Verry sexy red! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Yogal28 on 2/19/2013 5:22:00 AM more reviews by Yogal28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Was looking for a red lipstick that look good on asian and i really love this shade. It was recommended by a blog and the lady was an asian as me and it look really nice on her and since CNY is near and there are discount for this lipstick, i thought why not? To be honest, i only like this for the color and the long-lasting effect. It does stay on me for more than few hours with some light drinking and if i eat carefully, i don't have to reapply but i won't be finishing it anyway, lol. The lipstick formula is really drying, i had color sensational lipstick in natural shades and they weren't that drying, this one show my lip lines terribly, even though i apply lipbalm beforehand. Other cheaper brand lipstick and my Bourjois lipstick didn't show any lip lines with the lipbalm underneath so this is only the Maybelline lipstick problem. Did i mention that terrible scent? It is so strong, i thought it was a french line or something. I used to have french makeup and they all are scented heavily but Bourjois scent is a light berry one, i really don't like this strong scent, drying and filling into my lip line lipstick, even though the color really brighten my whole face. But there are cheaper brand with the moist factor and lesser scent and most importantly, they don't show my lip lines, it's really ugly. What a pity, i really dig the color but i won't be repurchasing it anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLerina on 12/23/2012 9:00:00 PM more reviews by MissLerina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Shade description: fire truck red

Pros

- pigmented
- long wearing

Cons

- drying

Comments: Nice bright red with a bit of orange to it. I see this looking best on those who are fair skinned, but I enjoy it myself and I'm an NC37.

Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ltgee on 2/27/2012 4:40:00 PM more reviews by ltgee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

looking for a red lipstick along the lines of chanel dragon and guerlain garconne. this pulled fuchsia on me (i have fuchsia lippies already) and the formula was a bit too dry but definitely great color payoff. returned. 2 stars because if i was looking for a fuchsia-red lipstick this would work great

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 12/5/2011 12:07:00 AM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It's a warmer red, but it's also creamy and on the sheer side. It sort of reminds me of a more red and less pink version of MAC Viva Glam Cyndi. The color is not opaque like someone mentioned. I guess you could make it more opaque if you use a lip liner under it, but I prefer the soft shine. It's not a harsh red, so I think anyone can wear it. Of all the red's, this was the one sold out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 citruskiss on 11/5/2011 9:56:00 PM more reviews by citruskiss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a fabulous color for fair-skinned blondes. I wear this with a bit of Burt's Bees lipbalm slicked on ahead of time, to soften the effect, which works out quite well.

I've searched high and low for a good "red" lipstick that wasn't too orange, too dark, too blue or whatever - and it turns out that Maybelline's Color Sensational Are You Red-Dy is the perfect color. I can't tell you how many mistakes I've made with red lipsticks - as a fair skinned blonde, it seems that most I've tried are just 'wrong' somehow - and this is NOT the case with this drug-store superstar.

I'm inclined to think that this color will work for most people - it's just the right shade of red, it's not drying or overly matte, and yet has decent pigment and stays on long enough.

Excellent buy, and best red lipstick I've come across.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lindseydarcy on 8/4/2011 6:34:00 PM more reviews by lindseydarcy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Love this lipstick! It's pretty long wearing, seeing as how I only wear it for special occasions/parties. The shade is a perfect, classic bright red. Good lipstick, without being expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lipstick products