Unlisted Brand • Mineral Hygienics • Foundations

rated 4.4(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 marrymeferris on 8/14/2014 9:26:00 PM more reviews by marrymeferris

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE MINERAL HYGIENICS FOUNDATION! I have very sensitive, acne-prone skin and have had a VERY difficult time trying to find a foundation that doesn't make me break out or make my face itch. I've tried everything from Pur Minerals, Lancome, Bobbi Brown, Estee Lauder, Bare Minerals, Neutrogena, MAC, Chanel and even make-up created for acne. This is the only foundation I've ever tried that actually feels good on my skin. It's light-weight, doesn't feel heavy. Coverage is decent and build-able, I do have a few scars the require a little extra coverage. It is long-lasting and waterproof! Does not break me out and most likely because it has minimal ingredients. After researching about the ingredients that are within most foundations, its no wonder why my face was freaking out every time I applied those foundations to my face. My only disappointment is that it does not control oil as much as I would like, but I will continue to re-purchase this foundation because of its lack of irritating ingredients and because my skin seems to love it. Yaaayy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oakley21 on 4/21/2014 4:24:00 PM more reviews by oakley21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE!!
After years of trying every drugstore brand of liquid, cream, and powder foundations, plus Bare Minerals, Cory, Canary, Rejuva Minerals, Sheer Cover, Iredale, Everyday Minerals, Glo, MUAC, etc., I finally found my HG!
Not cakey, not overloaded with mica, doesn't wear off in an hour, doesn't turn orange, doesn't contain bismuth or other harmful ingredients, doesn't itch, doesn't ball up over lotion or treatments, and on and on. I'm pretty pale lately with this horrible never-ending Winter on the east coast this year, so Fairly Light has covered my acne scars and rosacea very well. But now that I plan on getting a little sun, I just purchased Light Golden to try.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KourtneyBrooke on 11/6/2013 1:46:00 PM more reviews by KourtneyBrooke

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I originally bought a trial kit of fair and fairest. I have extremely pale skin so fairest matches best but I found myself ordering a large fair especially for in the summer (even tho i don't go in the sun) just so i could have a tiny bit of color and was able to quit adding bronzer. But this is my most favorite mineral makeup and I've tried MANY. Meow cosmetics, Bare Minerals, Alima, and others I can't even think of right now. But yea, this one has the best coverage for me and I get breakouts! I add concealer sometimes but I hardly need it. In the summer I did add some translucent powder over it sometimes mid day and use oil blotting sheets but mostly can't complain. Wish the price was better but I got it on sale the second time cuz of a promotional email.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rhinosaurus on 10/28/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by rhinosaurus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for about two years now, since ordering the mini (!) starter kit in fairly light/light. That's without repurchasing! I use light when I'm tan and fairly light the rest of the time. That's about a 90% match for me, I'd say. I used to wear Bare Minerals but didn't agree with the bismuth. All in all, I'm happy with this product. I can barely feel it on my skin, it's very comfortable. All foundations make me break out, but this is on a very small level so I can easily live with that. Best I've ever tried in that respect! However, the coverage is not what I want it to be. There's no chance of disguising acne/red acne scars using this alone, and on me it also looks "made up" and not natural. If I go about with a naked face my acne will be more visible, but the skin itself looks much better - you know, fresh and glowy. I use the Bare Minerals Full Coverage Kabuki, tap a small amount onto the brush and swirl it around the lid for about 5-7 seconds (how I was taught) before buffing it into the skin. Maybe this is the wrong way of doing it, I'll try another way and see. It then melts into the skin after a while, and come evening I still have a fairly even skintone but all the imperfections show through completely. So all in all, not for my skin the way it is!

I'll edit this review if I find it works better another way. Might try the setting powder as well, I normally use Mac Select Sheer Pressed which tends to look cakey in the t-zone with this foundation. Otherwise, this makeup FEELS very good on the skin and does not cause much acne, redness or irritation.

(I'm about to try a cream or liquid foundation for two reasons though: first, to see if the gentler application (no buffing) will work better and second, because I'd rather use a mineral product made in Europe due to stricter regulations of heavy metals in pigments.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TWebber on 8/12/2012 12:52:00 AM more reviews by TWebber

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this make up on and off for about three months. It's okay. I don't love it but I don't hate it either. I guess if your skin is already pretty flawless and you just want to cover up some slight discoloration then this make up would be great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IGotThemBunz on 7/25/2012 5:30:00 PM more reviews by IGotThemBunz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I'd like to say:
I BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT WITH MY OWN MONEY!†
The company did not send me anything for free & I'm not getting paid to advertise their stuff.†
This is my HONEST review about this product, so here it goes.
So I've been wanting to switch over to mineral foundation for a long time now, but for some reason mineral foundations never look good on my skin. I have combination skin (oily on the T-Zone & dry on the cheeks) I only get breakouts on my cheeks I don't know why.. But anyways, mineral makeup always seems to blotch up with the oils on my skin & it just starts to look really nasty after a while. So one day I googled "best mineral foundation for combination skin" & this brand called Mineral Higenics popped up & I was like oh let's check this makeup out. So I did my research & I noticed that all the blogs & YouTube gurus that would talk about this foundation all started off with "the company was sweet enough to send me some free samples" or "they contacted me & asked me to try their products out" & they all would say really good things about this foundation but I was really skeptical about it since there was no real honest opinions that I knew of. But one day I decided to just give it a try. It costed me $30, I know expensive/crazy. & I was unsure about which color to get. Thankfully the color I chose (medium tan) was a perfect match. The day I got it in the mail, i tried it on right away. It goes on really smoothly and nice, no harsh buffing is required. It really blends in right away. The coverage looks really natural, bit I find that the best way to apply this foundation is with a damp†beauty blender sponge. It really does stay on all day. I'm honestly really impressed with this foundation. I've been wearing this foundation for 2 weeks now & I have noticed my skin improving. I really recommend this foundation, yes the price is high, but it does do what it claims to do. I think this might be my HG! :D <3†

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dancexnxthexrain on 5/31/2012 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Dancexnxthexrain

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

For starters I am bummed not many know about this foundation like the know about youngblood, bare minerals, and laura mercier. I want to begin by saying that I have no affiliation with the brand nor am I one of those youtube gurus who get sent free product and say there are "un-biased."

Pros:
Does not cause break outs, especially if brushes are kept clean
Fantastic coverage that lasts all day, do need a mattifying powder for oily skin types.
Finely milled which means less is more, also it glides on the skin more efficiently.
Great color ranges (Mini starter kits are only $30 and include two foundation colors and one kabuki).
Has 4 ingredients, and the fourth is mica which is minimal.
Cute packaging.

Cons:
Is only online

I have been on the mad hunt for a really great foundation for years. I first used Bare minerals, which was good until I realized the color was just not good and it could have been causing break outs. I then tried Everyday minerals which I found to break me out, and then I tried Alima. I loved Alima and still like the companies concept but I think there minerals need to be milled better. The powder is rather chunky, looks cakey, and you need a whole lot to get good coverage. Mineral Hygienics has stunned me because when I see all 5 star ratings for something I become skeptical; like are they paying people to write this stuff? Overall, they hold up to what they say and all one can do is try them out. If you decide you don't like it then they will allow you to return the starter kits for a full refund, and if it is a product then that's for an exchange. (Shipping can be free with online coupon codes).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Callisto83 on 5/6/2012 9:04:00 AM more reviews by Callisto83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Mineral Hygienics would be perfect for me IF I had more oily to normal skin, and maybe not so many fine lines on my face. It's a great product, it covers well and at least on my skin it does not itch or cause any discomfort / breakouts. I also think their foundations colours matched perfectly. But as much as I really do want to be using this everyday, it tends to dry my skin out after a while, even if I put a layer of moisturaising cream underneath before application. But if you're not so dry skinned, and looking for a great mineral makeup brand (without Bismuth), that stays on your face all day, then go for it! I would highly recommned it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sanamakeupoholics on 3/27/2012 9:55:00 AM more reviews by sanamakeupoholics

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

After reading so many reviews about Mineral Hygienics i was so excited to give them a try . And i must say , I AM MRE THEN SATISFIED !


The shades that matches my skin tone perfectly are Mineral Hygienics sheer mineral foundation in Light and Mineral Hygienics sheer mineral foundation in Medium.

I got the quite good amount of all the products in a beautiful jars specially designed for loose mineral products having sealed small holes in the protecting shield. ( i hope i am saying it right ) But I love this feature.

After opening the cap you donít get straight to the product .You need to open the holes in the protecting plastic shield with a pin to get access to the product. which makes it very easy to use and saves you from wasting any product which is truly a huge advantage.


But i must say , after using a Mineral Hygienics mineral foundation i can clearly see the difference. It will give you that natural flawless glow and even skin tone without making you feel any thing at all on your skin. This feels so light on my skin and i simply loved it for that. The pigmentation is very good as well. Believe me you need a very small amount for the compl,ete coverage. Just build it up slowly so that you donít end up looking cakey . Another thing is that , blending is the key not only for this but for all foundations. But you need to move your Mineral Hygienics Kabuki brush in round circular motions to get the flawless finish.

I mix both shades (Mineral Hygienics sheer mineral foundation in Light and Mineral Hygienics sheer mineral foundation in Medium), to get that perfect looking flawless skin. And it worked for me very well . I am getting lots of compliments when i am having it on my face. And the best part is , it didnt break me out at all.

There Claims And my Satisfaction level :

Sweat Proof : Tried and tested Totally Satisfied. ( I wear it during a hot sunny day while going for a shopping and my face wasnít sweating , which it used to during warm weather )

Longest Lasting : I wear it for more then 8 hrs and I was as flawless as I was 8 hrs before . After that I need to wash my face and go to sleep J
Better Coverage : Totally agree . It gives you better coverage without leaving you feel cakey.

Even skin tone : I successfully achieved that.

And I totally agree to the remaining claims that it gives you that healthier look and it perfectly suites my sensitive skin.


Mineral Hygienics offers truly amazing products. All their claim are 101% true thatís why they are offering that money back guarantee.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Euphoria93 on 2/28/2012 6:31:00 AM more reviews by Euphoria93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Update: I just feel like I should... Idk, put something out there. When I received this foundation and tried it, I wasn't aware of the fact that it had been "pushed" by youtube gurus and blogs. Even if it's their honest opinion it still looks fishy when so many known names out there recommend it... I read about this in a well know Norwegian skincare blog, and ordered it since I trust her and the fact that she's not "bought and sold out" like many others are. And second of all - I have always read the ingredient list before I bought something that's supposed to be on the skin for hours, so I would never buy this if the ingredients scared me no matter who recommended the product to me. MH is a mineral makeup brand that seems "safe" concerning the ingredients. And sadly, Mineral Hygienics sent it out to a bunch of youtube gurus and bloggers, and I can understand how people are skeptical about this brand seeing as it is being recommended by so many young, and "ditzy" youtube bloggers who are practically living, breathing ads. But believe me, my opinion on this product is completely sincere, even if I seem a bit too enthusiastic in my final review. I have nothing to gain by bragging about the quality of Mineral Hygienics, because I have practically zero influence in the beauty world here on the internet. I just write about what I love and hate, here on makeupalley. I guess I was just so excited and jazzed by the fact that I finally found a foundation that didn't cause acne. I still use it almost everyday, and my sigma brush is still the best match for this. I think it's sad mineral makeup has gotten such a bad rep because of the bad brands with fillers out there (bare minerals or the one from Maybelline as an example - yuck). But take it from someone who is an makeup and skincare ingredients geek - it's probably one of the best mineral makeups out there, both in texture and ingredients. I just want people to try it out, especially those who battle acne and need something that covers it up without causing more breakouts. It just frustrates me that people wont try it because they think it's just a hype - because in my opinion, it's not.


Now on to the review:

I love this product!
I have very, VERY acne prone skin, and other foundations have 90% of the time given me breakout and made my skin look caky/dry or given me the wrong colour. But this is just... perfect.

I must say I had my doubts when I read about this foundation, seeing as ID (Bare Minerals) had made my skin itch like you wouldn't believe, and was therefore scared of purchasing another brand of mineral foundation. But I had read online that the itchiness that comes with mineral foundation is most of the time caused by the ingredient bismuth. MH does not contain it, so I took a chance and ordered this along with a buffing brush from Sigma.

And my reaction? Love at first application! The foundation has the perfect colour (I use fairly light), and the powder is very fine, which makes it melt into your skin, giving you a natural look. Everytime I wear this people always comment on how nice my skin looks (Omg, you look so glowy, are you pregnant?). When I just tell them I use a mineral foundation they just say "No way? your skin looks so natural!"
I can't fully explain what it looks like, but it fills up my pores in a weird way and give me this nice inner glow look. Not shimmery, but just math enough to look natural... like a walking, living breathing china doll.

My skin has never been so pleased with a foundation before. It breathes, it does not feel like I wear a mask, and it's very cheap compared to how well it works.

OBS: Don't buff a huge amount of it into the skin. A little goes a very long way, and looks the best if you work with a small amount on a moisturized and cleansed face. This may be a bit dry for dry and flaky skin, so if you purchase this, make sure to exfoliate you skin once a week combined with a moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Foundations products