Maybelline • Plum Smokes Quad • Eye Shadow

rated 3.7(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 sweetiesweetie on 1/3/2014 9:55:00 AM more reviews by sweetiesweetie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Did I get a dud? The colors are too sheer and chalky, and they barely show up with a primer. The dark brown is the only one that looks slightly pigmented. The highlight color is a shimmer with glitter which looks really tacky in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 5/23/2013 5:22:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Very pretty shades but they are all way too glittery apart from the dark brown shade. Otherwise nice texture and looks good on green eyes. Just too sparkly for my liking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaleBrunette on 4/23/2013 12:15:00 PM more reviews by PaleBrunette

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Great quad fot a daytime smoky eye. I honestly think this quad will flatter every eye color. Plays up the warm tones in my blue/grey/green eyes. Would be fantastic on green eyes and brown eyes too. That's just about everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monicaandree on 7/1/2012 12:49:00 AM more reviews by monicaandree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like Maybelline eye shadows, and this did not fail to disappoint. I have green eyes so plums look great on me. I picked this up for 50% off at CVS, which means it is probably being discontinued, which I could care less about because while this is a beautiful palette, it is not unique. I could find very similar plum colors elsewhere. That said, this is not really all that smokey. It's reasonably pigmented, and you could probably layer this to get a true smokey look, but I just use it for day at the office. Nice texture like all Maybelline shadows. Overall, if you see this on sale, scoop it up. It's worth the tiny amount you will spend on it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glowing500 on 6/27/2012 1:08:00 PM more reviews by glowing500

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this 50% off at CVS the other day. Maybelline shadows can be hit or miss, but this quad is a winner!


It's called Plum Smokes but it's not really dark and smokey which is why I I like it. I don't really like a heavy, dark eye. These colors really enhance my green eyes; they are well pigmented and blend out very well. I was able to achieve a pretty, work appropriate look with this quad without a ton of shimmer and glitter.


I really, really love this quad and if I see it again I will grab another one. The fact that it's on sale at CVS means it's probably going to be discontinued.


Green eyed ladies need to grab this quad!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deehippolyte on 10/4/2011 6:34:00 PM more reviews by deehippolyte

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great Quad from Maybelline This came really cheap so I am very happy about this eyeshadow quad. The colours are highly pigmented and they take out the guesswork from my eyeshadow application. I LOVE the colours separately as well!

There isn't much fallout at all but it is soft in the pan so i have found finger application works best. Has pretty ok staying power.

Would repurchase for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 carlaaaay on 9/10/2011 8:31:00 PM more reviews by carlaaaay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have brown/hazel-ish eyes and purple really makes them look amazing, much better than brown shadows. I bought this on sale at ulta on a whim. I really love this palette. The shades are gorgeous and they do make an amazingly pretty smokey eye. Lasting power isn't the greatest but with a good primer, it lasts about 6-8 hours before it starts to fade. I would totally buy this again. If you're thinking about buying it, just give it a try. Its cheap and I use it almost daily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* denns on 7/19/2011 2:20:00 PM more reviews by denns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this quad!! This makes my hazel eyes pop like no other...I'm usually a neutral girl, but I do like using some color - especially if it comes in a quad like this, because it takes all the guesswork out of picking out shades that will match and complement each other. These shadows aren't as pigmented as say, WnW or MAC/NARS/other HE brands, but the colors are very pretty, and if you use a primer, you should be set. Not very much fallout at all, practically none, so that's good.

I took one lippie off because my eyes are sometimes a little sensitive to shadow, and for the first few hours I wore this, my eyes were definitely a little itchy....but honestly, I don't even care. The colors look GORGEOUS on my eyes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slippingbeauty on 2/26/2011 4:10:00 PM more reviews by slippingbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Plum Smokes isn't as smokey as the other Stylish Smokes quads, but it's still a nice palette. I really like the two shades on the left--the pale shimmery peach (similar to MAC Jest) and the golden plummy color. I think these shadows have a really great quality for drugstore products, and I would definitely recommend any of the Stylish Smokes quads.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 In2th3night on 2/9/2011 3:00:00 AM more reviews by In2th3night

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I almost bought the lavender smokes , but got this one instead...glad I did , very complementary colors for green eyes. I love the lid color , too ,by itself .I did not like the crease color much, it's O.K... I have not done the full-on smokey eye yet....I have done a somewhat toned down version for daytime. I love the liner color, too...reminds me of MAC 's 'beauty marked' eye shadow. I think this is how 'beauty marked' should appear on your lid ( I never got the look I expected with MAC's beauty marked)...this has noticeable sparkle in it , when applied wet or dry...but it's not overwhelming sparkle , not glittery....it's just right...The base color is the prettiest slightly shimmery pink....could be used like an all-over highlighter! I used a l'oreal primer on my lids when using this palette, too ....lasted all day. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products