Illamasqua • Cream foundation • Crème

rated 2.9(22 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.36%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 nukacola on 2/21/2014 4:43:00 PM more reviews by nukacola

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First of all, I got this foundation in the Illamasqua January sale for £4.50 so I can't complain too much! I certainly wouldn't have paid the full price of £23, especially as I totally winged it on the shade I purchased. You get 8g of product, which I personally feel is quite overpriced even though you don't need to use too much of it as it's a very high coverage foundation.

I purchased the shade 133 (since discontinued) which is described for light skin with neutral undertones, but I found it did run quite yellow but I don't mind much as it did match my skin really well, probably one of the best colour matches I've had for my awkward pale skin. For reference, my normal foundation is Lancome's Teint Idole Ultra 24H in the shade 005 and I'm around as light as NC15 but not as yellow.

I must say I have a bit of a gripe with Illamasqua's packaging... Only a few of their products have view windows and several products are in the same size packaging (for example, this is the same size as the lipstick palette), making it so you have to look on the bottom of the compact to see what product you're picking up. Not good if you're in a rush... I also find the shade names have a tendency to rub off which is obviously not helpful at all. One upside is that it comes with a mirror on the inside which is useful for on-the-go touchups.

As mentioned, this is a heavy coverage foundation. It does have a tendency to look mask like if you aren't careful. It reminds me of stage makeup actually. I find it sets quite quickly so you need to work quickly to both blend and set, as if you let it dry and set down without setting it with powder it will just settle into any lines you have and be very difficult to blend out again. As with other Illamasqua foundations (*ahem Rich Liquid*) it does cling to dry patches and you must moisturise really well and it's probably best to use a primer too. I've never tried applying it with a brush, and I got the best results using a damp Beauty Blender type sponge, though it still manages to look a bit cakey around my forehead... I think that's true of a lot of cream products though. I also find it 'grabs' the colour pigment of powder... Benefit's Agent Zero Shine is meant to be pretty much colourless when blended, but this foundation seemed to pick up all the pigment and then I just couldn't get it to blend out...

Provided you set it with a good powder (I also use a setting spray), it does last me all day, with maybe some touchups on my nose which does get a little oily. To me this would only be a Winter foundation as it's way too heavy for Summer use.

While it's a nice foundation, I don't think I would repurchase even if this shade was still available because for what it is and the amount of product you get it is expensive, and the formula does leave a bit to be desired. Maybe worth a try if you can pick it up on sale like me though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 selenium89 on 11/3/2013 5:19:00 AM more reviews by selenium89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've never used Illamasqua products before, however, I was on the hunt for a white foundation to use for a Halloween look. It couldn't find one anywhere when finally a friend recommended me Illamasqua.

I didn't want to spend too much money for a foundation that I would only use once so I was doubtful that the price range would be suitable for my needs, but I was pleasantly surprised when I saw that the CF100 (white) cream foundation was on clearance from $35 AUD to $12 AUD. I immediately purchased it.

I'd never used a cream foundation before so I didn't know what to expect but the texture of this foundation seems so DRY and THICK. I have very dry skin so I decided to try a damp sponge but that didn't work so then I tried a damp foundation brush. I found application to be very difficult despite adequate moisturiser and primer use beforehand. It felt so thick and it was such a chore to spread it over my face. The brush marks were very visible on my skin and although I bought this foundation purely for theatrical purposes and it wasn't supposed to look natural on me, I definitely wouldn't consider using this range of foundation for anything other than theatrical purposes.

If you are looking for a white foundation I hear they also have a liquid version in the shade 'pure white' perhaps application would be easier with that formulation.

In conclusion, I can't complain because I got this white foundation for such a cheap price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 saskiaxo on 8/14/2013 8:17:00 PM more reviews by saskiaxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Illamasqua is a good brand, yet this foundation is possibly one of the worst products, let alone foundations, I've ever tried. I tried this about a year ago, and it still sits in my collection, untouched after my dreaded experience with it!
At the time, my skin was prominently dry and I had the odd oily patch on my chin and sides of my nose but nothing bad enough to need to powder or blot. This was why I loved to use luxurious, creamy foundation.
This foundation wasn't the most flattering on blemishes or dry patches, highlighting some flaky parts of my face. It was okay in regards to blending in, nothing too difficult but not exactly a joy to work with. The coverage is medium, but the finish is just strange, it looks tacky.
I was horrified to see within 1 hour my skin was so shiny and oily, it was disgusting! I couldn't quite believe how terribly oily and greasy my skin was and looked. It was so bad that, when I was doing a primary school workshop, a child commented how hot and warm i looked... How embarrassing? i was so consious of how bad my skin looked And it didn't last very long. It was truly gross and vile.
Some pros would be that the packaging is nice with a big mirror, but slightly chunky and the price isn't horrific. Also, they have an amazing range of shades!

Overall, this was a dreadful foundation and I would be very surprised if it worked for anyone. I doubt it would compliment any skin type.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chantililly on 7/3/2013 3:48:00 PM more reviews by chantililly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Oh, Illamasqua, sometimes I think you do this to me on purpose. I just can't think of any other reason why a brand's foundations can be so good in so many ways-- great colour range, nice finish, long wear, fantastic coverage-- and yet be so utterly, infamously bad in two ways, difficult application and being incredibly unforgiving on imperfect skin.

I've been using Bare Minerals for a while, having finished my bottle of RF115, but I was missing having a foundation that matched my skin rather than fake-tanned it. So when I saw that Illamasqua were having a big sale on lots of their products I swooped in and picked up a compact of CF115 right away.

Firstly, I think Illamasqua designs their foundations as heat-seekers for flakes. If you have any dry skin on your face at all-- if you have just exfoliated and moisturised like you're being paid for it-- it will cling to dry skin you didn't even know you had. There should be a name for this. ("Did you see those gigantic flakes? D'you think she even looked in a mirror this morning?" "Yeh, poor woman, worst case of 'Illamasqua nose' I've seen in a long time.")

Secondly, applying Illamasqua foundation is always a bit like running a race with your own makeup routine. Ready, set, go! Can you blend your whole face in before it sets like concrete? No?! Too bad, time's up!

I loved the coverage and creaminess when I first tried it on, until it set like rock and I couldn't blend it properly. All the same the finish was nice; semi-matte satin, not the most fashionable finish for the season, but one I like as a nice compromise between dead matte and dewy. It's a little like the finish of bone china and to be honest I like it a lot better than the vampire-matte look of the rich foundation or the you-tried-for-a-BB-cream-look-but-didn't-quite-get-there finish of the light foundation. It's a fresh, natural-skin look.

When I mixed this foundation on my brush with my primer (Bare Minerals Prime Time), it had a much more pleasing consistency and was much easier to apply. It also didn't cling to my dry skin that way, as I was using far less of the product to cover my whole face. I used a Real Techniques pointed foundation brush to apply and blended with the RT buffing brush. I then applied a very light layer of my Bare Minerals foundation just to set it all in place (as it's so sheer in one coat that it doesn't discolour the lighter CF115, and I love BM for being so forgiving to imperfections). It looks very nice that way and I think I've found my ideal application.

It doesn't work so well with the creases around my nose or fine lines under my eyes, but once applied mixed in with the primer it becomes very easy to buff over the day to smooth things out.

I'm torn over the scent. Illamasqua's vanilla-cupcakes smell is a bit love-it-or-hate-it and personally I really like it, but I don't remember the RF's scent lasting this long. Four hours later I still keep catching a whiff of my foundation. I suppose it's nice as it's not inharmonious with my usual honey- and rose-scented body products, but if I'm ever gothing it up (and Illamasqua products are sublimely suited to that purpose, pasty pale foundation shades like this included), I'm not sure it'd go so well with my gothy perfumes (mm, leather, amber, and cupcakes). If I can smell my compact from a distance and I can also smell the product on my face, I'm pretty sure others are going to be able to smell it too if they're any closer than talking distance and if I wanted to wear perfume, I'd wear perfume.

Sadly it's been discontinued, which is how I bought it for £10 on the Illamasqua site in the sales. However, if they ever come out with a clone of it then I wouldn't mind another one. Illamasqua has its pros and cons but I've never found another foundation shade that matches and compliments my skin tone as perfectly as 115-- a gorgeous true porcelain and an absolute, perfect neutral that tones down my pinkness without ever veering into yellow or grey. That's why I'll always keep coming back to Illamasqua. I've yet to find my HG foundation but if Illamasqua could ever just fix their dry skin problem, it'd be one of theirs.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Labloah on 1/14/2013 10:52:00 AM more reviews by Labloah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first Illamasqua foundation, and unfortunately I wasn't overly impressed with it. I have since tried other foundations from this brand, and have had better results with those.

EDIT: I'd like to preface the following by saying this has performed slightly better in the colder months. The product itself feels a little stiffer and thicker in the pan, I find I don't need to use quite as much to get coverage, and it applies somewhat more evenly and adheres to the skin a bit better. It still has some issues with not blending into itself quite as well as it could, and it comes away in some spots if it's not carefully applied, but not nearly as much as in warmer weather. I find it wears a little longer on the skin too. I'd guess that as it was formulated in the UK it was developed in a cooler climate, and as such, the product may perform differently in other climates.

First off, it's tricky to work with. Actually, I take that back, it's not tricky, it's a nightmare to work with. It's a very thick cream formula, and it does feel just as thick when applied to the face. It's difficult to blend into itself and cover areas uniformly. I've played around a little with application (and have wasted heaps of product in the process) and have found I can achieve the best results for my skin by priming, leaving that to set for a few minutes, then applying the foundation with a slightly damp stipple brush, working in sections to stipple it onto the skin and very slightly blending out that section (but with more of a stipple motion than a blending one if you know what I mean), until the whole face is covered, and dampening the brush some more when it starts to get dry. I have also tried applying with the included sponge, but that didn't give a very nice finish at all and almost wiped or blotted away areas where I'd applied if I went back over to build it up. It really needed to be applied in a patting and rolling motion, not a sweeping one. A dry foundation brush didn't fair much better, and a flat top buffer I usually use for cream foundations didn't do the job, but a beauty blender type sponge gave a bit more in the way of even coverage if I rolled and pressed onto my skin as with the sponge. I did find if I had areas that were a bit bare or had worn away, I could pat some extra product on with my fingers, rather than trying to blend more in and upset the finish. The key I've found for my face is that it needs to be patted and rolled onto the skin and not swept on or blended otherwise it will move. I can achieve a build up of product to vary the coverage if I use the patting and rolling method. But, even then I still have to take care, because if I pat and roll too firmly it also takes off product. Ughhh.

Being a thick product, it does offer medium to full coverage if you can get the application to work for you, but will only offer light coverage and may be patchy if you aren't super careful in application. That loses big points in my book, as I want products that work well, but aren't a hassle to apply. Having said that, once I got the application to work reasonably ok for me, I really did like the finish, it covered nicely and didn't look too bad on my skin, it gave a sort of slightly dewy semi matte satin finish. Finishing it with translucent powder also improved the finish and took away the look of product settling around pores. Though if I applied too much product, it settled around pores and looked awful.

I found it needed to be set with a translucent powder if I wanted slightly longer wear, as I find it starts to wear away after only a few hours without it. As with applying the foundation itself, I need to pat on the powder and not sweep it on as it will move the product (a good rule of thumb to make the most of all foundations, but this one is especially susceptible to movement). With powder it lasts around five hours or so, so I only use when I'm not going to be wearing makeup for a long time. It definitely doesn't agree with an Australian summer and melts away rather quickly in the heat, so I may save this for winter months and see how it goes, but I'm not holding my breath. I also found if it gets anywhere near my waterproof mascara, it will smudge the mascara, and I've never had that happen before.

Colour wise, I purchased 210, which is medium with neutral undertones, which leans ever so slightly gold. For a medium shade it is on the lighter side, and the undertones aren't as neutral as I thought they'd be, they're more of a balanced peachy colour, which I quite like as I have gold and rose undertones and often find some neutrals too washed out and ashy. I hesitate to give any colour comparisons to other brands as I'm currently in the process of trying out a few different foundation colours as I've been getting a lot less sun than usual and my regular foundation colours are a smidge too dark for me at the moment.

Packaging, as others have mentioned, isn't the most function friendly. Its design doesn't leave a space for the included sponge, so you will either need to rest it on top of the product and have it squished in, or leave it out entirely. It's also hard to open, I find it's easiest if you open form the corners by pulling apart with both hands, rather than opening from the middle. It is a pretty packaging design visually, but not practical. The package appearance is probably the only thing it's got going for it and is the only reason I'm giving this a one star rating instead of a zero (that, and the fact it's not washed out for a neutral shade).

I purchased this at their recent winter sale, and it looks like it's being discontinued, which is not at all surprising. I think if I had paid full price, I would have been kicking myself for not choosing another foundation instead of this one. If you can get application down, it may come out as passable, it's just the multitude of flaws from application to packaging to wear length that lets this down immen

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mulletoftruth on 1/6/2013 7:34:00 PM more reviews by mulletoftruth

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This goes on - and looks - like pancake makeup. The first time I put it on (using the included sponge) I felt like I was backstage getting ready for a broadway show. It's thick and heavy and doesn't spread or blend easily so it's difficult to get even coverage. It's the kind of product you can really feel on your face, which is quite unpleasant.


I experimented with this a bit, using different application methods, but it was just too greasy and thick and the color match was awful so I finally gave up. I ordered it in CF 133 "for light skin with neutral undertones." It's not neutral at all. It's really yellow (not like yellow undertone, but full-on yellow) and made me look sallow. For reference I'm a Dior 20 (light beige) LM #2/Blush.


My other gripes: they include a sponge but the sponge does not fit into the compact. Most other brands' cream compact foundations include a space for their application tool, which makes them portable and user-friendly. The fact that this compact is huge but lacking a spot to hold a sponge drops it way down on the practicality scale. You also have to jam your fingernail into the clasp to get it open, which is another real annoyance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ninetalesx on 10/23/2012 11:21:00 AM more reviews by Ninetalesx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I can't for the life of me understand why people love this so much, perhaps it's my skin, or perhaps I'm wrong somehow... But in my opinion -
Pros ++
*amazing colour selection
*nice packaging
*pleasent light scent
*doesnt seem all, "chemical" feeling, I get red eyes and have many reactions with foundation but this seems quite gentle to the skin and face.
*very sheer (it's not a pro to me but some people enjoy that fact)

Cons --
*cheap sponge is rendered useless, (at least it's pretty to look at)
*for a cream, you are expecting a little substance, it just feels like greasy clay, but with next to no coverage
*trying to build coverage was almost impossible
*the WORST was that it felt chalky and sheer at the same time, so there is next to no coverage, colour payoff or blend ability!
*accentuated lines on. Young face! I don't even have lines and it made me look 10 years older! Creeped into all the little lines under my eyes and mouth.
*attatched to dry spots
*showed up my near non existent pores, I didn't know I even had that many!
* slips, little adhesion.
I tried to buff blend and prep and prime with about 5 different products and brushes, all results were the same, although extra primer seemed to help slightly.
Please keep in mind in LOVE illamasqua, and will continue to purchase their products even though this reaaaaally let me down. Hands down worst foundation I have ever tried, stick to your regular, or try something else if you have even the slightest dry spots, lines, or greasy t-zone. Perhaps this would work if you have the **perfect** skin type, but again, so so so disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mskittynoir on 8/6/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by mskittynoir

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Tis goes on very pale, then darkens up a little. I do love the scent, lasts maybe real good at 5 hours, need for touch up after this time, can separate a little kinda how a powder foundation or mineral can do. I do like this product, just not everyday. The compact is wonderful, cute square shape. Love love this company!!! I purchased the 110 which is a step up from white, it's a perfect light ivory without pink undertones... More yellow based. Not my favorite but I will buy again. I use mineral from Meow Cosmetics in Angora 0 & 1, illamasqua powder foundation, Illamasqua rich foundation, Dainty Doll in light and extra light. I rotate these foundations and my skin is the best it's ever been!! Rotate your makeup with a few different kinds..... Liquid for a few days then to mineral then to powder.... Ect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bertuzzi44 on 8/5/2012 9:34:00 PM more reviews by Bertuzzi44

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this product in the sale for £10, if I had paid full price I would have been even more disappointed. ! The colour was a good match for my skin but I just couldn't get it to apply properly. It highlighted every pore in my nose and made my skin seem much drier than it is. There was no area on my face where I could get a decent coverage, it either blended away (but still managed to sink into my pores) or looked cakey.

I can't comment on wear time because I took it right off. I have normal to dry skin and don't suffer with enlarged pores or flaking areas, but this foundation made it look like I have.

Very disappointed as I am an illamasqua fan. It makes me wonder why if that's why it's reduced so much in the sale.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jenzie92 on 5/8/2012 7:36:00 PM more reviews by jenzie92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I very rarely write reviews for makeup products, but on the occasion, I feel I need to share with you guys my opinion on this foundation. I first bought it after reading rave reviews and I was wanting to try a different type of foundation, since I normally use liquids (typically estee lauder double wear.) So because I love Illamasqua's products, I thought I'd give this a go. I purchased this foundation is shade 130 which is a perfect match for my NC25 skin, pale with very strong yellow undertones and I applied it with a Sigma flat top Kabuki brush. I used a moisturiser and a primer so my skin was prepped, but trying to blend this foundation into my skin was a nightmare, it just didnt blend! I tried warming it up and using a different brush/fingers but it looked awful, like it was just sitting on my skin. I really wanted to take it off again but unfortunatly I was due at work so I didnt have time to redo all my makeup again. I had an 8 hour shift, and the whole time I just wanted to go home and take off my makeup because I just felt so disgusting. I looked like an oily mess, it had clogged horribly in the corner of my nose and round the sides of my mouth and I dont even have oily skin or large pores! Needless to say, I was glad to finish that shift at work! I took it off and soon as I got home and threw this product away. What a waste of money! Overall, this is by far the worst foundation I have ever used, and that is saying a lot as I have tried a lot of foundations in my time! I do love illamasqua but I find thier face products are vile. The rich liquid foundation I also find to look very heavy and cloggy. I do love thier concealers though. The only good thing I have to say about this foundation is that the packaging is nice and the product itself smells lovely, but this is not enough to improve my opinion on this foundation. Dont waste your money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Illamasqua products

More Crème products