Clarisonic • Mia • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.3(1016 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Caracara87 on 1/21/2015 12:10:00 AM more reviews by Caracara87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am completely obsessed with my Mia. In my opinion, you do not need to buy the more expensive machines, this one has one speed and it does the trick! I highly recommend this for anyone with skin, it just works! Your face will feel smoother, makeup will look better, products will absorb better into your skin and you will feel like your are pampering yourself everyday! My only con would be that the brush heads are stupidly expensive. Also, don't bother with trying to buy knockoff brush heads online, they wont work. (I tried!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmlig on 1/4/2015 8:51:00 PM more reviews by emmlig

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using my mia 2 for at least 6 months now and after some trial and error have come to love it. When I first started using it, I did it twice a day every day, which was a big mistake. There was a purging period which is understandable, but I think my overuse of the device made it worse and last longer. I had a ton of breakouts on my chin which has never been an area of concern for me, and it seemed like I was never blemish-free. Now, I only use it when I'm taking off makeup or just finished a workout, so around 2/3 times a week. My skin is the clearest it has been in years, and I rarely get breakouts. Exfoliation is key to a clear and glowing complexion, and the Clarisonic gives you that without damaging the skin. I highly recommend this, but you have to be willing to give it time and experiment with it. And remember to not overdo it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mayelyhood on 1/1/2015 7:00:00 PM more reviews by mayelyhood

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Before I started to use the Clarisonic, my face wasn't accepting my skin care products well. The clarisonic exfoliates your skin and deep cleans so that your face can soak up whatever you apply to it after. Now when I apply my toner & moisterizer afterwards, my skin feels smoother than a baby's bottom. Definitely recommend this. YOU SHOULD ONLY USE THIS EVERY NIGHT due to the fact that it might be a bit a bit to harsh of you use it twice a day. But during the summer time I use it twice just because I tend to get more oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vaclevel on 1/1/2015 3:05:00 PM more reviews by vaclevel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The Mia works well to deep clean your face once or twice a week (any more would have been way too harsh on my skin), but I could never recommend this product due to its short lifespan and the terrible customer service I received from Clarisonic.

I took excellent care of my Mia, but shortly after my warranty expired, it died. It wouldn't hold a charge and kept pulsing while on the charger. I tried changing outlets, charging an additional 48 hours, and even borrowed a friends charger to see if that was the problem... nothing worked.

When I contacted customer service, all they did was offer a 25% off coupon if I wanted to buy a new one. A Customer Service Supervisor did say that if I had my receipt, he may be able to extend the warranty. The only problem was that my Grandmother had given me this as a gift, and then was diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma a few months later, then past away a few months after that. So, obviously, I did not have the receipt. My Clarisonic receipt was the last thing I was thinking about during that time, honestly.

I don't have much respect for companies that sell products they don't stand behind. Especially after the CSR told me that my Mia might have been malfunctioning because it "may have got a little water in it." Really? The Clarisonic is supposed to be used with water!

Anyway, I saw online where someone had taken one apart, and it only uses two AA rechargeable batteries (along with a few other cheapo parts). Then they seal it up so you wont be able to repair on your own, and are forced to purchase a new one. Clarisonic says the sealing is to make it waterproof, but I work with engineers who say there are other (way more practical and economical) ways to waterproof a battery powered product.

I feel sad that I'll no longer have this once loved device, but I would never purchase again due to the low quality and poor customer service.

Value Breakdown:
$150 for the Mia
$27 x4 for replacement brush heads
Frequency of use before product died: once weekly for 52 weeks

The Mia ended up costing $4.96 per use. Extremely poor value if you ask me.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Binney on 12/30/2014 4:51:00 PM more reviews by Binney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using the clarisonic for about three years now. The clarisonic will do the following things for you: clear up acne, get rid of acne scars, minimize pores, make your skin less oily, make your skin more radiant looking, make your skin healthy and healthy looking, soften your skin, allow you to wear little to no foundation, exfoliate your skin with each use. Completely worth the money. Your skin will look better in one day's time, and be clear in a few weeks time, with no acne scars in a month's time. With regular use, you will have movie star skin. It is absolutely the best investment for your skin. Also, it makes any cleanser or wash work to its full potential. Any cream or treatment you apply after using the clarisonic will work better than had you not use the clarisonic. An amazing invention. A must for people who want good skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 violetclouds on 12/28/2014 12:03:00 PM more reviews by violetclouds

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have extremly sensitive, acne-prone skin. This gets all the dead skin cells off so any products you apply after (moisturizer, medicated cream) will sink in and ACTUALLY WORK! It unclogs your pores and clears up your skin. I love it, just make sure to clean the brush head well after each use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 megxoxo91 on 12/19/2014 12:54:00 AM more reviews by megxoxo91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I gave this just under a month to see some results in unclogging my pores and maybe helping my acne, but it was a flop. :( I caved to ordering this after seeing one of their many QVC specials where the paid peer pressuring host definitively stated that anyone who uses this has better skin than those who do not. My fault, I know, but it seemed a compelling suggestion and I had been curious about trying it in the past. Mistake to go for it! I have very acne-prone skin, sensitive and likely to break out from most products and changes in my routine. I tried to use this properly as instructed, and tried not to overdo it with any harsh pressure, avoiding areas already affected with acne and only used it once a day or every other day. Initially my skin felt clean and smooth, but rapidly developed far more blackheads than I've ever had before and began to break out very badly on my entire face and it looked terrible. Painful, severe pimples that have long waiting time to treat and are very difficult to cover up. It was just too abrasive and I think just spread bacteria around, even though I tried to remove my makeup well beforehand. So the two reasons I hoped for this to fix were made much worse. Very clogged and annoyed skin and double the acne. Since I stopped using it my skin is returning to a normal-for-me state. I'm lucky it has bounced back so quickly but maybe that is telling of just how really destructive the Clarisonic was to my type of problematic skin. Your hands are good enough, maybe a very soft, gentle washcloth if you need something extra to cleanse your skin. I find I had no need to spend $100 on something else when the free option is safer and more effective. I look forward to getting that money back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 12/18/2014 8:53:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

OK, I'll have to start off by saying that this was absolutely not something I expected to like. I had a coupon and they were running a special on it, so I bought it on a whim and I have to say I'm pleasantly surprised.

I've been really bummed out with chemical exfoliants -- my skin is really dry and sensitive and physical exfoliation always was either too harsh to maintain or too gentle to do anything. So I switched to exclusively chemical, since I have eczema and there really needs to be some exfoliation in there somewhere. My skin is relatively clear, knock on wood, except for clogged pores on my chin and a few on my forehead/tops of my cheeks. They're totally invisible to everyone except me, but still...bothersome, along with the general dullness caused by dry skin. I've tried every chemical exfoliant combo on the planet. Most of the time, nothing would touch the clogs but the skin around them would peel off in sheets. Mandelic acid sort of worked but also gave me dermatitis so that was out of the question. I finally tried a konjac sponge and it actually made my face smooth and soft and removed flakes. So began my slow descent back into the world of manual exfoliation.

So enough about me -- the bottom line is that the Clarisonic isn't as harsh as I thought it was. In fact, while I found the "Sensitive" brush head uncomfortable because of its stiffness, my face didn't hate it at all and didn't even turn red. The "radiance" brush is perfect. It makes my face so darn soft. The only chemical thing that ever came close was Murad's AHA/BHA Exfoliating Cleanser (used as a mask). It gets rid of any flaky patches and makes foundation SO easy to apply. Finally I understand how nice it is to have perfect base without gross dry patches.

The caveat is that it didn't totally remove my clogs. However, it did shrink them. When I didn't mind being a peely-face one day, I tried it before applying a BHA serum, and actually saw results. I guess it does in fact help product penetration. I use it twice a week, usually before some kind of treatment. If I use it before a hyaluronic acid mask, my face plumps like whoa.

Used every day, it would probably sand my face off, but I have had no issues or irritation with twice a week and it seems to degunk my face fairly well on that schedule. My next plan is to try it in conjunction with the OCM, which never did much for me, to try and banish the rest of my clogs.

Would I buy it again? Not unless I got the same awesome deal, because come on, $200 to get rid of clogs only I can see is too ridiculous (even though I've spent probably twice that on other products that didn't work, but I digress. I only spent about forty bucks on the Mia). I will, however, replace the brush heads when they wear out, especially since now I don't have to use an entire super jumbo tube of Murad AHA/BHA cleanser every month.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lalalovee on 12/18/2014 3:52:00 AM more reviews by lalalovee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Too expensive and i wouldnt mind not having it i did not notice any skimn improvement i alwAys cleaned my skin very well so i dont need it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hannahwolfe on 12/17/2014 9:46:00 AM more reviews by hannahwolfe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I do feel that it cleans my skin super well and gets my face makeup off. I've been using it a little over a year and when I forget to charge it or to bring it on a trip and wash my face with just my hands, it feels like doing nothing compared to with this brush! I think it's supposed to exfoliate your skin, and I find that it doesn't do that at all. In fact, I notice more dead skin buildup. It's nothing exfoliating a few times a week can't solve, though. Also nice that you can take it in the shower! Loses a point because it's definitely wayyyy overpriced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarisonic products

More Misc Beauty Tools products