E.L.F. • Liquid Eyeliner - Black • Eyeliner

rated 3.3(283 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ilyjen on 9/18/2014 6:17:00 PM more reviews by ilyjen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeliner does a good job for how much you pay. I really like the applicator and the viscosity (fluidity?) of the formula. The fine tip and smooth liquid make it easy to draw a cat eye. It is a very deep dramatic shade of black. HOWEVER, this product can be streaky so you need to have some patience when applying it. I typically have to do a second coat after the first one is dry to make it a consistent black line. Shaking the bottle does help but beware, if you happen to fling any of it on your white tank top it will never come out, even with bleach. RIP. It is not waterproof so it will come off of your skin if you rub it, but I have oily eyelids and it stays in place all day if i prime them or use a powder first. Overall, if you're on a budget, this can be beautiful if you take the time to apply it evenly but this by no means is a replacement for some of the higher end brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emily988 on 9/17/2014 1:22:00 AM more reviews by Emily988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm in love with this liquid eyeliner! It goes on nicely, and the thin brush is amazzzinnggg!! It's such a deep shade of black and looks beautiful on! I don't think I'll ever be buying a different kind of liquid eyeliner! I'm super impressed. Plus it's in a super cute bottle!:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashleyford on 9/8/2014 9:12:00 PM more reviews by ashleyford

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

PROS:
1. Only a buck so if you're on a ramen noodle budget like me, score! I get it for $1 from Target, although once in a blue moon I find it at Big Lots or Dollar Tree.
2. It has pretty good staying power as long as you don't accidentally rub it.
3. It comes in multiple colors and the black is a good, pigmented black. Not one of those eyeliners that comes out a weird off black.

CONs:
1. I've only found a few eyeliners not like this, but they do exist, so I'll list that if you rub your eyes later on accident, it will come off. Although for some reason this one gets more "dry" so when it comes off, it comes off in flecks, which I guess is better than streaking really easily. So, in reality, especially for a dollar it can get worse. However the times I find this difficult is doing winged eyeliner. It's so easy to forget you did winged eyeliner and if you rub by your eye it comes right off.
2. The shape of the brush is good for cat eyes for me, but depending on how you'd like your eyeliner to look, it can be wonky. I find it better for thick eyeliner than thin, but that's my personal opinion.

For a freakin' dollar, I cannot complain with this. It's my go-to eyeliner when I'm trying to save money, like now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jakkieee on 9/1/2014 9:53:00 PM more reviews by Jakkieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sensitive eyes and had no problem with this. Incredibly thin bristle brush which is great. It's much better then foam tip liners which are difficult to get a thin line and create a wing.

I have some beef with it. It contains parabens. The brush rubs off some of the line off when applying it over the same spot. Curling my lashes transfers the liner to the curler.

Oily lids won't do well with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 makeupri on 8/14/2014 9:21:00 PM more reviews by makeupri

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love elf but this product barely worked for me :( really upsetting, wanted to love this for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cacti on 8/13/2014 7:59:00 PM more reviews by cacti

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my favorite eyeliner and it's only $1 at Target! The brush is so much better than any other I've ever tried. The actual formulation isn't amazing per se, but it's definitely great for only $1. It doesn't always look super smooth like some more expensive liners. But what I love is that if you mess up or get it on your cheek or something, just wait a few seconds and you can rub it right off. But somehow if I rub my eyes during the day, it doesn't budge! I definitely recommend this for everyday use, just maybe not for special occasions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mwjo09 on 8/8/2014 8:00:00 PM more reviews by mwjo09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This didn't work for me at all. I found it difficult to get enough of the product on. Maybe I was unlucky and got a liner where the lid wasn't put on properly or something, cause it felt a little dry. I would rather spend more money on a higher quality liner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marysmakeup on 8/8/2014 6:55:00 PM more reviews by marysmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It's a pretty good eyeliner for $1! It works better than my maybelline one I got for 10 times that price. It takes a bit of time to dry though, and it goes on a bit watery. But you get what you pay for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sharonl501 on 8/2/2014 9:13:00 PM more reviews by sharonl501

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this product. It has a very good brush that applies easily and the formula isn't too runny. The only downside it has is that it does not last very long, but other than that, it is amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 akPhilly on 7/30/2014 12:03:00 PM more reviews by akPhilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

At first when I got this, I really hated it, but after working with it, it's now one of my favorites. Sometimes I have days where I'm short on time, & on days like that, I'll just do a simple winged liner, some mascara, & I'm out the door. The thing is, you can't do that with this liner, it doesn't work on bare skin. On bare skin, it doesn't seem to adhere properly, is watery, streaky, & not pigmented at all, & looks shiny and is that weird, peely formula. And when you try to go over it to either darken it or if you're like me & do your liner in several small strokes rather than one large one, it'll basically take off the previous layer & almost pull at your skin. But, then I discovered that so long as you don't use it on bare skin it's great-overtop of eyeshadow it's fantastic. It goes on smooth, is dark & pigmented, & doesn't do that thing where it takes off the previous layer if you go over it. Lasts all day & doesn't 'crack' like some liquid liners can. I wouldn't go as far as to say it's waterproof, but it's somewhat water resistant, which is perfect for the summertime when you sweat. I also love that the applicator is a brush & not a felt tip, you just get more control & ease of application. I just keep a different liner for days I don't wear eyeshadow, but since most days I do, I use this liner nearly every day. If you've previously tried this & disliked it for any reasons similar to the ones I described above, & it was applied on bare skin, I suggest definitely giving it another try over eyeshadow & seeing what you think-for the price, why not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eyeliner products