Lancome Hypnose Drama

3.3

485 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water/Eau, Paraffin, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Cera Alba/Beeswax/Cire Dabeille, Cera Carnauba/Carnauba Wax/Cire De Carnauba, Acacia Senegal/Acacia Senegal Gum, Cetyl Alcohol, Glycerin, PEG/PPG-17/18 Dimethicone, Steareth-20, Simethicone, Sodium Polymethacrylate, Phenethyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Panthenol, Polyquaternium-10, Phenoxyethanol . May Contain/Peut Contenir : CI 77266/Black 2, CI 77499/Iron Oxides.


on 7/5/2015 6:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was givenna sample of this mascara and I was thrilled to try it out. I have to say that on me every mascara smudges underneath my eyes after 4-5 hours. So I was more than happy when I saw that this one does not smudge at all! I was wearing it one day through classes then afternoon classes and then a concert and when I came home it still looked decent! That for me is amazing! It is quite volumizing not so lengthening so sometimes I use with some other mascara. It has a scent but you cant smell it when its dry. It can be a little clumby because of the wand but nothing major that cant be fixed. I would go far enough to say that its the best mascara I ve ever tried but in my country it is very expensive! It costs 30Ä or more which is double than a good drugstore mascara... If I had the money I would not think it twice and buy it but for now I ll settle with some drugstore alternatives.



on 6/30/2015 9:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Other

This was a clumpy mess on me. It smears so easily, I have watery eyes so I know that doesn't help. It didn't give me much length but did give some volume. But the volume it gave was so unnatural looking. Wasn't a fan of the brush either. Would not repurchase.


on 6/9/2015 6:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Lancome makes my favorite mascaras and I was not disappointed when I tried this one. Lashes were full, they "popped" and this was not clumpy and it lasted all day without flaking. Winner!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Wow! I had to go back and double-check to make sure that this is the same mascara that I got as a 100-point deluxe sample at Sephora. Yup, says LancŰme Hypnose Drama on the tube. Anyway, seems like this stuff gets VERY mixed reviews over here.

Iím not super into mascara, but am pretty picky about what I do like, when I can be bothered to wear the stuff. Iíve binned or returned just about everything Iíve tried for one reason or another. The only mascara thatís ever worked well enough for me to repurchase multiple times is the Marc Jacobs O!Mega Volumizing mascara, which I also originally came across as a deluxe sample.

I tried this one with basically zero expectations (other than low ones based on my prior experiences with most mascaras in general) and no ideas about what it promised to do. I had a choice of two different mascaras for the reward and I picked this one because the brush looked intriguing and I couldnít recall having tried a LancŰme mascara before. Thatís it. I was making a quick choice at the counter so didnít check out the reviews before making my choice (had I done so, I probably would have passed this one over!).

I was a bit nervous when trying Hypnose Drama for the first time. The formula was wetter than what I normally like, and reminded me a little bit too much of LíOreal Voluminous, a drugstore mascara I recently tried and ended up returning because it resulted in clumpy, spidery, messy-looking lashes. Historically-speaking, me and wetter mascara formulas donít really work together (probably because my hands arenít the steadiest and I donít have the patience to make them work right).

Much to my surprise and in spite of my meager skills in the mascara department, the Hypnose Drama applied beautifully. It lengthened and delicately fanned out my lashes, keeping them perfectly separated. No clumping, no weird messiness, no spidering, just *great* looking lashes that opened up my deep-set eyes considerably and with minimal skill or effort (I never use lash curlers or combs, although I sometimes use the top crook of my pointer fingers to nudge up a minimal level of curl).

I think the main difference between this formula and that of the L'Oreal Voluminous mascara (which is apparently considered to be a drugstore not-quite-dupe and yup, same parent company for both) and other wet-styles I've tried is that Hypnose seems to dry significantly faster. If so, I think that could explain why I was able to get a much more pleasing result. Well, that, and the brush itself is pretty unusual. I don't quite understand how the brush works but it does.

In any case, I used just one coat (Iím a one-coat kinda girl, BTW), and a fairly light one at that, although I probably could have achieved a much more dramatic effect had I applied more product. I just *really* loved the look I was able to achieve with one fairly light coató pretty, delicate (feathery and light) and semi-natural, but without being boring (no small feat, actually). Had I tried this with the goal of obtaining a much more dramatic effect, I can imagine being disappointed, but remember, I really had zero expectations and ended up being delighted with the outcome.

It does have a slightly off-putting scent that is noticeable while applying, but it goes away after things set. I'm not sensitive to smell or anything, just didn't like it very much. Still a five-lippie mascara for me, and will definitely be getting the full size. It's not quite the all around workhorse of my current favorite (the Marc Jacobs volumizing one), but I think there's a good chance that it could end up being my favorite of the two.

[UPDATE 6.09.2015: Dinging this a lippie. I still *love* the way it looks, but it does flake mildly by the end of the day. New issue after only three-four days of daily use and am concerned about overall longevity of formula in the tube (is it drying out already?!). Will update again if things change again. #firstWorldProblems]

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2015 12:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This mascara is my go-to mascara when I want a dramatic look and really want my lashes to steal the show. Although this mascara is pricey, I think it is worth the money. This mascara has a really strong chemical smell before you apply it to your lashes, the smell is not at all noticeable once it has been applied, I have highly sensitive eyes so did find this product sometimes felt like it was burning on days my eyes were extra sensitive. This mascara holds the curl of the lashes all day after it has set, and is not overly flakey (I sometimes find it flakey but only when I touch my eyes a lot). I love this mascara and think that I will be using it for years to come

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/9/2015 10:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

It's an alright mascara. It didn't give me a dramatic look like it claims.
It gives very nice length but no matter how hard I tried to make it look intense, it just wouldn't build any volume at the base of the lashes. I'll wear it to work but this mascara is not worth $32 at all. I have tried cheaper mascaras that were better. You are basically paying for the name and I expected a lot from this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I find this mascara to be more of a 3.5 then 3 or 4 score lippie mascara. I got it as a sample in sephora's latest lash stash and I have to admit that it was one of the best ones in the bunch. While I am not very partial to traditional mascara brushes the curvature of the brush did intrigue me. At first I didn't really like how it applied (especially because it can be quite a smudger )but the more and more times that I worked with it the more I kind of started liking the results that I got. I find that it's a very customizable mascara. It can give nice definition with a coat or two but you can definitely build it up. I added a few coats and definitely saw some lash drama. It almost looked like I was wearing falsies! the rose scent was nice to. Now for the cons: As I said earlier its a very wet formula when first applying so it smudges easily. Also it tends to get clumpy if you don't meticulously work with it while building it up. It also tends to flake by the end of the day and can dry your lashes out. Not to mention the price for the full size tube is pretty high. Overall it's a pretty good mascara but I wouldn't necesarily call it an HG due to it's shortcomings.. I would probably only wear this for special occasions but not daily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2015 7:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

You really can not go wrong with Lancome mascaras. I love using this when I want extra drama for my eye look. The formula is a little wet, but the bristles are very flexible to help combat clumping. If I use it by itself it usually lasts about 5 hours before looking a little tired, but when I use it with the Cils Booster it last all day looking amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2015 6:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Never buying this again. I expected so much better from Lancome. It is horribly clumpy and makes all the lashes stick together so much so you can see the clumps in your normal vision when looking at things. It smells odd, the brush is terrible and the actual stuff is so thick and useless. I hate it and i don't recommend this to anyone. Unfortunately I bought a 2 pack so I must finish this bottle and then the next. so annoyed.


on 4/30/2015 10:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought based on the excellent reviews and photos. This mascara had potential to be HG for me, but I seem to be super sensitive to scented mascaras. I didn't think the scent was bad, however it caused headaches. I will not repurchase.




Back to Top