Lancome • Hypnose Drama • Mascara

rated 3.3(469 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 klmaci on 2/16/2015 9:29:00 AM more reviews by klmaci

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've always used this for years but then I realized why am I using a mascara that drys out so fast! It's expensive and within 3 weeks it's completely dried out. Also after the first 10 times you use it it gets noticeably drier and clumpy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cath12 on 2/11/2015 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Cath12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

One of THE worst mascaras I've ever bought. Extremely gluggy and went on way too thick and gooey. Couldn't even wipe the excess away against the bottle as the opening was too wide for the wand. What a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raluko on 1/14/2015 8:33:00 AM more reviews by raluko

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Lancome makes the best mascaras. Period. And this is one of the best Lancome mascaras I have tried so far. It instantly gave me voluminous lashes that lasted all day. My lashes looked so dramatic that my girlfriends kept asking me which product I was using. I didn`t get clumps or smudges when applying this, I felt it was super easy to apply and I didn`t need to comb through. One thing I will say though is that the Waterproof version of this mascara is not as good as the regular Hypnose Drama. Actually I`ve had the same experience with most of the waterproof mascaras from this brand: while they work nicely they don`t result in lashes that are as dramatic as their regular namesakes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ravenus on 12/20/2014 2:37:00 AM more reviews by Ravenus

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

So I bought this as part of a Christmas season holiday gift pack promotion which came with a mini eye makeup remover , eye kohl and hypnose mascara. I tried the hypnose drama and actually bought it on suggestion from the saleswoman . I actually hated this mascara for the brush being so awkwardly shaped and cumbersome and for getting mascara all over my lids . It gave volume but left my lashes looking spidery and any attempt to apply a second coat made them clump and pieces of lash fiber would break off !!! I forgot about this and bought Mac Haute and Naughty which I loved ! But don't get that in your eyes it burns like hell and also dissolves with watery eyes !!

I returned to my hypnose drama , and what a surprise !!! This time I was able to apply it better and it does give me uber volume for my fine medium length lashes. You have to use the spoon shaped brush first. Then turn it around to brush lashes upwards carefully . However I keep a cottonbud handy for lash smudges ...

Pros :
-Builds volume on wimpy lashes in one stroke to look fake (trust me on this one. I've used low to high end)
-doesn't run or smudge even with watery eyes
-doesn't burn or sting
-no discernable lash loss when removing ... I like to rinse it off with water before using eyemakeup remover to reduce lash fall
-unsure if it's this mascara or the lipocils treatment I'm using when I remember to. But my bottom lashes are much longer than I remember them to be
-good pure black
-no fragrance when wearing it , initially on application it has a weird nose drops scent

Cons:
-if u get it on your upper inner lashline it can transfer to your bottom lashline in the day ... Cottonbud in the morning can prevent this
-can flake but very mildly , talking one or two specs

I just repurchased it a year later , so hopefully
it will work as well !

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kathy123 on 12/17/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by Kathy123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Honestly, it is way over priced compared to L'Oreal mascaras. If you tried a bunch of Voluminous and Butterfly mascaras from L'Oreal, this is nothing to write home about. I gave it 4 out of 5 because I was in a good mood today. I have seen this on other people and their lashes look fantastic. I think these people use this mascara with a lash curler. On me, it is average looking. My lashes are long but very fine. Just watch out for removing this mascara. It is really hard to remove. Use the strongest waterproof eye mu remover that you can get your hands on. One thing for sure, this is a great mascara for people with sensitive eyes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TishLiu on 12/12/2014 12:42:00 AM more reviews by TishLiu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sampler of this in a Sephora gift, and I loved the brush and felt that it coated all my lashes very generously.

I compared this with my current HG mascara, a 6-month-old Giorgio Armani Eyes to Kill, one on each eye, and curling and priming with Shiseido mascara base beforehand. Perhaps this is an unfair test, given that my ETK is past expiration, but I really liked how the Lancome Hypnose Drama performed. Armani ETK held up really well, giving slightly more volume, but it also clumped more whereas Lancome Hypnose looked fresher and simply beautiful, not weighing my lashes down as much. Since my ETK tube is overdue for a replacement, and this retails at Nordstrom for $22 now (they're doing a price match for the holiday season), I decided to purchase a full-size tube and try it out. I'd be really happy if this can replace my $32 Eyes to Kill mascara.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lylaura on 12/10/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by lylaura

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my Go to for those special events when I want to look my best! ! I

-It makes my lashes very Black, Long and Voluminous
-No clumps at all; I apply several coats.
-It feels moist going on
-Holds Curl, a must for me
-Can be touched up w/o issues
-No flaking
-Stays looking Black even after drying
-No smearing after a night out
-No irritation or tears when I remove at night :)

I have been using Lancolm's Hypnose line for many years on and off because it is pricey for every day, but this time I got it free!!! Sooo happy :)

Luckily it was in included in Sephora's Lash Stash -5 mascaras for $25 and a voucher for 1 free full size of your choice: This Beat out:
1. Too-faced: Better Than Sex (3rd PL
2. Tarte: Lights Camera Lashes (4th PL)
3. BE Minerals: Buxom (Farr 2nd PL)
4. Blink Water Proof (Worst)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vangalio on 12/8/2014 8:42:00 PM more reviews by vangalio

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mascara after I tried it at my friends and it's honestly one of my favourites! I use it every day and it gives me a very bold lash line, however it will occasionally give my an uneven lash line (each lash is a different length) it is quite easy to apply. I have not tried every mascara out there but I have tried a large amount and this and the Dior mascara are by far my go-to ones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 12/7/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received this mascara as part of a gwp. It's thick and clumpy. It doesn't provide much length or volume. I'll use it up, but there's no reason to purchase this mascara when there better ones available.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lenamass on 12/6/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by lenamass

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My go to mascara! Doesn't irritate my sensitive eyes (I wear contacts) and has a bold black colour that makes your eyes pop! You don't even need an eyelash curler!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products