NARS • Larger Than Life Volumizing Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.3(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 mamma30 on 2/9/2014 5:27:00 AM more reviews by mamma30

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I did not rate this mascara at all , I didn't find it volumized my lashes at all . I am a big fan of nars but not a fan of their mascaras sorry

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 punkface on 1/20/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by punkface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like the texture of NARS packaging, wen though it is good quality. I like this mascara well enough, but I did myself staying away from it because to me the texture is very matte and hard to remove. It's good mascara, I'm just not interested in wearing it a lot of the time because of how hard it is to get off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 1/27/2013 11:15:00 PM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Almost perfect mascara on my straight, spare, short Asian lashes. Fabulous volume, length, and curl. So WHY the smudging? And yet, so hard to remove! The irony! I have yet to find anything else that enhances my skimpy lashes so well. It volumizes without weighing down, holds a curl all day in the blackest black color, and just really opens my eyes. My solution to the smudging is to add one quick layer of the Clinique lash power on top of the Nars and it seals it all in. As for removal, an oil based remover on a cotton pad pressed for 30 secs does the trick. A lotta work but I have yet to find anything else this good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EmanueIa on 1/21/2013 4:13:00 PM more reviews by EmanueIa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful everyday mascara which gives full lashes and is very comfortable to wear, as it leaves my lashes soft to the touch. It gives more of a natural effect with one coat and slightly more voluminous with 2. Definitely a good mascara if you need to define your lashes without weighing them down.
The brush is big just like the majority of volumising mascaras out there and it's quite easy to get the hang on. I will definitely repurchase when I run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lovemyangel1 on 1/14/2013 10:53:00 AM more reviews by lovemyangel1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

this really helps the curl stay up all day they never fall, but, this is hard to get off even with high end waterproof make up remover. I was upset that it don't state it is waterproof when you purchase it. I don't care for waterproof mascara as it is hard to get off and breaks lashes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sophiegreen on 5/25/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by sophiegreen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have very sparse lashes and this mascara thickens as well as holds the curl. This is the only mascara that works for me. I'm an esthetician and am getting "steamed" all day long. Larger than Life mascara never smudges! I'm impressed by the fan-like lashes it creates and stays that way till I take it off!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 remeddee on 2/26/2012 2:08:00 PM more reviews by remeddee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely bloody rubbish! The worst mascara on the entire planet. Spent the longest time ever trying to build up product. It was as if the product refused to adhere to my lashes. I exchanged it for Laura Mercier's Long lash which is superb! Nars should be ashamed of themselves for selling substandard garbage such as this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andee on 1/29/2012 9:20:00 AM more reviews by Andee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was a die-hard Shu Uemera Basic lover. When they discontinued it, I was broken hearted because I could never find anything else that didn't straighten my lashes even after curling them with the Shu curler. The new Shu mascara, while decent was underwhelming.

I read about this and decided to give it a try at Sephora, knowing they would take it back if I didn't like it. When it's new, you really need to wipe off the excess before applying or you will get clumps and worse, tons of gunk on your lids. But, once you wipe off the wand, there is just the right amount left to get a very nice clump free application. It not only keeps the curl for me, it makes my lashes appear curlier. And, it is totally buildable. Three coats, with time to dry between, and no clumps. Although it's not a lengthening mascara, it does add a bit of length as well as volume. I get a bit of smudge with all mascaras, so this one is no worse than any from Shu.

The only inconvenient part is the brush is too thick for bottom lashes. I have some Shu left which has a thinner brush, so I am using that for now on the bottom, but when that is finished, I will experiment with d/s mascaras with thin brushes until I find one that doesn't smudge for my bottom lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Rocky22 on 1/9/2012 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Rocky22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

This was a bad idea. It did nothing for me! The brush was too big and it was really messy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yoshi3329 on 12/11/2011 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Yoshi3329

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first department brand mascara and I've used it daily for a FULL YEAR. and it's designed as a volumizing mascara that will give the illusion of a fuller fringe of lashes.


When I first received that product, it flaked and wiggled it's self under my contacts causing irritation. After a couple days, it stopped flaking and I've never experienced it since. This is a very build-able mascara and it never clumped except for the first few days I applied it. It gives black and soft lashes. I can wear this for twelve hours, It did everything it said it would do, however, there are still cons.


One con is it smudges like whoa! I have contacts and sometimes I would have the instinct to itch. When I did, even for a second, I would literally look like a raccoon! It isn't very good for my just-about-non-existent-lower-lashes. The wand is way too large, would smear, and cause raccoon eyes. I would actually like to itch my eyes with this mascara, but it's just not possible. A good note is that it starts to loose it's effect after a full year of use. I would say this mascara is on the medium side of natural lashes.


Other than that, it does as advertised and I would purchase it again if I couldn't find any other mascara. It could be a bit more voluminous (in two coats) and seems like an overall good mascara. However, I want to try a few more mascaras before I comeback and call this my holy grail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Mascara products