Neutrogena • Oil-Free Redness Soothing Facial Wash gel • Cleansers

rated 3.3(70 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 OliveGreenSpring on 2/23/2014 11:09:00 AM more reviews by OliveGreenSpring

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product literally made my face hurt. I developed a rash after one use. I bought it because I usually have very good results from neutrogena products, but this redness reducing facewash made my face wash more red than it's ever been.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Calliopi on 11/26/2013 9:17:00 PM more reviews by Calliopi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product removes makeup SO easily. It contains the cleansing agent Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate which is VERY drying and potentially irritating for most skin types. I happen to love it though, it's very deep cleansing and keeps my pores clearer than any other face wash I've tried. I have oily-acne prone skin BTW.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 riaorion on 10/22/2013 1:52:00 PM more reviews by riaorion

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

What drew me to this product: the fact that it says redness relief, and is oil-free. I have light/very fair skin, that is sensitive, moreso dry but I do have an oily-ish T-zone.

The use:
This may not be very important, but I've never had a problem operating the turn-pump action (I have a couple times with other products) and I do appreciate that. The gel is a light, translucent green, and smells nice. It appears just like an aloe vera gel, and smells very muchso like one. It foams quite easily and cleans my face very well. I have no problem using just this to remove any BB creams or makeup on my face. My face, after using, is very refreshed, with a cooling sensation. The best part is that I don't feel dried out, or irritated. This foaming cleanser not only has a little acne-fighting power, but redness relief, that leaves my face fresh and clean. It's that type of clean that's not ... soap squeaky clean; it's that rare cooled-off and soft clean.

The pros:
It has some salcylic acid (<3%)in it to aid acne.
The aloe vera relieves redness and irritation quite well for me.
Oil-free, which means I know I'm not clogging my face.
My face feels soft and cooled after using.

The cons:
None that I can think of.

Overall: I use this product daily, and I really like it. I would be VERY sad if they stopped making it, but hopefully not. I put all my trust in a cleanser in this product for my sensitive face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Imablondemoment on 5/14/2013 7:43:00 PM more reviews by Imablondemoment

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this since i am now a freshman in high school wanting to get rid of my moderate acne with a break out here and there. I really like this face wash it gets rid of my redness and most of my acne. It doesn't break me out like most face washes, however i was scared to try this because the original one (orange one) cleared my skin for a week then broke me out. So i tried this one it keeps my skin clear, but i will get a pimple here and there, but since I'm a teen i figure its do to the hormones. Overall this product is very good, but your face feels a little tight after wards. I love the smell of this. I've tried many different things and i ALWAYS come back to this, because it does the job so I can't complain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alypagz on 3/28/2013 1:58:00 PM more reviews by alypagz

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff! I have been getting some large breakouts on my chin lately and I have tried several different prescription creams from my skin doctor with no luck, they would a long time to go away. The creams would leave my skin chin dry and red. I bought the redness soothing facial wash and my few large pimples started healing quickly, swelling gone down and skin color came right back to normal. I have now incorporated this wash into my nightime routine and I have seen some positive results, no breakouts and my skin is not dry or red. The only thing I suggest is remove makeup with some other cleanser first, because I feel this is more of a treatment. I don't even need a toner with it. I will continue to use and update this comment if anything changes. Great product and Great price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 karaduquette on 2/28/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by karaduquette

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Basically anything with salycylic is just a no, at least for me and everyone I know. As soon as me and my family/friends started washing our faces we resorted to salicylic acid and our breakouts just got so, so much worse. so i stopped using it, as soon as i stopped the breakouts started to fade away it was crazy so just use a regular cleanser with no acne treatments and its much more healthy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mayvalentine100 on 12/8/2012 11:28:00 PM more reviews by mayvalentine100

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Product works fine, does what it says it does for me. Keeps my acne under control but doesn't do anything special like soften skin, etc. And when I use it, it really does keep my skin from turning red which is cool when I need to leave the house really fast and don't have time to scrub. I would buy it again, only because I know I can trust it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arw155 on 10/14/2012 4:29:00 PM more reviews by arw155

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for about two weeks now. So far I've not had any break outs and really feel this product helped stop that. Whenever school started back in august I was having terrible breakouts! They stopped showing up on my forehead after a while but I still had some on my cheeks and sometimes on my neck. Luckily when I bought this product it helped control them. My skin gets very red and irritated but again I feel the chamomile and aloe are the obvious reasons why this is no longer a problem. This product is also great for oily skin because it doesn't over dry your skin but also doesn't make it feel like someone poured oil on you face. I will be repurchasing again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ariraven on 9/2/2012 10:59:00 PM more reviews by ariraven

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Worst face wash I have ever used broke me out like crazy. It also containd menthol, which if i had read the ingredients better I would have known. Menthol tears my skin up every time.

Active Ingredients:
Salicylic Acid 2%

Inactive Ingredients:
Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Propylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol, Decyl Glucoside, PPG-5-Ceteth-20, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Aloe Barbadensis Flower Extract, Tetrahydroxypropyl Ethylenediamine, C12-15 Alkyl Lactate, Sodium Lactate, Menthyl Lactate, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Benzotriazolyl Butylphenol Sulfonate, Betaine, Dehydroxanthan Gum, Benzalkonium Chloride, DMDM Hydantoin, Yellow 5, Blue 1,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mommy2boys3 on 8/12/2012 7:07:00 PM more reviews by Mommy2boys3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I decided to give this wash a try when my long time favorite was out of stock and I saw that this one made the same claims. Now, four days after I stopped using it, I am regretting ever picking this product up.
When I used if for the second time i noticed my face felt gritty and raw. The next morning I when I woke my face (even around my eyes and down my neck) was swollen, red, dry, burning and felt like sandpaper. I was told by my doctor to use Cetaphil and take benedryl. It continued to get worse as I broke out in blisters on my neck and chin. Needless to say I DO NOT recommend this product!!

I have never had anything like this happen and do not have any known allergies.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products