E.L.F. Studio Cool Bronzer


65 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $


Mica, Talk, Magnesium Myristate, Zinc Stearate, Titanium Dioxide, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Boron Nitride. MAY CONTAIN: Iron Oxides (CI 77491 CI 77492 CI 77499), D&C Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), FD&C Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Red No.40 Lake (CI 16035).

on 10/1/2015 12:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have a dark tan complexion (think Freida Pinto or Priyanka Chopra) and I haven't had an easy time finding a good bronzer. I tried the warm bronzer previously but it was too shimmery and not dark enough so I exchanged it for this one and it exceeded all of my expectations.
First the packaging: sturdy with a large mirror and a generous amount of product. All the colors swirled together gives a natural sun kissed glow to my face, but I could see the individual colors work for other parts of my face: the pinkish brown makes a great natural blush, while the top right hand color is great for subtle contouring. They also make good eyeshadows; in particular the bottom left brown works well as a crease color for the eyes. I haven't figured out a use for the white color but i guess I could find something My only qualm with it is the chalky texture, but it's not so bad that it's hard to work with. Truly a workhorse product and easily the best $3 I've spent on makeup.

on 8/18/2015 8:46:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

Superb! Four matte shades: white, rosy brown, and two shades of brown. The powder isn't creamy soft but it blends well, is pigmented and it's not orange. The staying power is good too.

This quad is truly multi functional as a bronzer, blush, contour and eye shadow all for $3.00. The packaging is travel friendly too. I purchased the palette on the elf website, I haven't seen it in stores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 3/28/2015 10:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a must-have basic for anyone's makeup bag. I am warm-toned, so I thought this might not work on me, but it looks beautiful! The two brown shades are pretty close to the BareMinerals California Bronze browns. I use a mix of the browns to contour my cheeks, or sometimes I will add the peach and use that as a contouring blush. These shades could work well as eyeshadows, too. What I LOVE about this product is that all the shades are completely matte! I don't care for the white highlight much because I'd never want to put white on my dark skin, but it is still a good product for someone with lighter skin. It's only $3, so go buy this now.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is awesome! You can't beat the price - 3$ for a large amount of product and a great compact/mirror to boot!

I was skeptical of buying this because ELF sure does LOVE shimmer...however, this particular bronzer palette is totally MATTE! The other two versions they have of this are super sparkly, as usual, which is not what I enjoy for bronzing purposes.

The only color that is "meh" is the cream-tone on the top left...does not come out of the palette (it just...clumps up in the pan and gets a hard coating on it...hard to explain). But, hey, I still get 3 bronzing shades.

I am still so astounded that I found a decent contouring palette for 3 bucks! It's not the greatest texture, but the pigmentation is very good and I can contour my cheeks in 10 seconds! What a steal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 7/11/2014 6:06:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have only tried a few other bronzers so far, but I can say this bronzer works! I have very fair skin with freckles (and red hair, so you get the picture) and I definitely have a cool undertone. I find that other bronzers are almost always too orange or too warm-toned, but this only sometimes look slightly too warm. You get four shades to blend, so you really can control how you want it to appear.
The packaging isn't the best, I mean it is pretty standard but boring and I always struggle with finding which side is the front or the back (where I open it). You get a mirror tho, that's nice. The smell is okay, I haven't noticed anything in particular.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have warm undertone and I stupidly buy this bronzer when I was still a makeup novice and didn't even know what undertone was. But surprisingly, this thing works just fine.
I usually blend all the color and use it for contouring, it works great. My skin is dark-ish tan so it doesn't look muddy at all as long as I blend it well.
Pigmentation is nice, staying power is 3-4 hr, price is cheap for quite a lot of product.
Will definitely buy the warm/golden variant next time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 5/4/2014 1:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I placed an online ELF order for this one item & Im so glad I did! My target only stocks up on the Studio: Warm & Golden bronzer quads (both have sparkle). The baked ones (sheen finish) single round essential ones (shimmer) so this ones the only true matte one & probably the most versatile. It has 4 shades & I used them all:

Top Left: White: set under-eye concealer & under brow bone
Top Right: Dark chocolate brown: jaw line/chin contour & lower lashline liner
Bottom Left: Milk chocolate brown: used this to contour cheekbones
Bottom Right: Beige Rose: blush & transitional color in crease area to blend blendd

Im an NC20 for reference & always looking for warm/yellow tone mu items but for bronzers I need a neutral. Hoola is too cool (& light to contour) & NYC sunny (too warm/orange) So I used the bottom left (reminds of TF chocolate soleil shade which is perfect shade for me) the most. The white came in second. I used the top right: dark brown with a slanted pencil brush under my lower lash line for a smokey depth to my black eyes almost daily. Even layered it on top of pen liners to soften the look. It pulls red. The blush wasn't a favorite as not all my brushes picked up pigment on it & I would have to work it in quite a bit but used it to blend other colors on my cheeks or eyes out with.

My only gripe with this item was the FORMULATION. Its quite dry & veryy chalky (especially the white color & the blush) The powder clumped up into small beads that I would often have to scrape away to get to the pigment. The browns didn't do that as much & remained soft. The price, sturdy packaging, full size mirror are all on point. I would call it a must have/HG if they sold just the bottom left shade alone.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

on 4/24/2014 2:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

When it said cool, I was expecting something closer to a grayish taupe. Instead, this comes with a quad of 4 mostly red based matte colors in one: white, deep red toned brown, mid-tone red-orange brown, and a light mid-tone pinky brown. I was skeptical, but it really does make a nice contour for my fair neutral-cool skin. I think it's the red base that keeps this looking natural. The pigmentation isn't too intense, although it's easy to go overboard if you're very fair, like me. I like that I don't need to use a lot of product to get great results. It's economical, but it also saves me from having to throw layer upon layer of makeup on my face.

I love how the different colors are large in the pan. This makes it easy to get more or less of any combination of colors onto the brush for different purposes. I like mixing the bottom two shades for a tan natural blush, or using any of the darker shades on a fluffy brush in the crease of my eye for a natural day look. It's a very versatile palette.

Love the packaging, very slim and travel friendly. Love the price. Love the product. Definitely recommend if you're looking for a multi-use contouring all-in-one palette.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 3/19/2014 11:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'll add my voice to the fans of this product. I'm fair/light complected and this bronzer works beautifully. My previous daily bronzer for contouring was theBalm, but I like this better.

on 12/11/2013 10:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was searching for a good, truly matte bronzer that didn't make me look like a had a bad fake tan. After over a year of searching, I never expected to find it in this product! The colours look very natural on the skin and it is truly matte. I've been disappointed too often with supposedly matte bronzers that had hidden micro shimmer, but the E.L.F. one is not shimmery at all.

My only criticism is that when I brush the powder on my face, I occasionally get a few dark spots where the powder didn't blend out. It's only a slight inconvenience and I simply pat the dark spots with my fingers to blend them.

Back to Top