Sleek • Original • Palettes

rated 4.1(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cailee on 4/18/2013 10:53:00 AM more reviews by Cailee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

It's really a shame that I have to be so harsh on such a beautiful (and cheap) product such as this. I almost feel bad doing it, and for that sake, I will round it up to a 3.7. I really wanted to give this palette a 5, but when you think past looking at the beautiful colors in the pan, the superb pigmentation, not to mention the mere $10 pricetag, you then take into account the texture and formula. The point of the story is, DANG these eyeshadows are flaky! They're very crumbly and chunky, and the texture is reminiscent of a pigment that's been pressed. The liquid metallic sheen quality of these shadows reminds me quite a bit of L'Oreal Infallible shadows. These do not in any way look like cheap overly frosty shadows on the eyes (think Wet n Wild), and they are in no way subtle colors, no matter how much you try to downplay them. They WILL get you noticed.

Something else that I feel needs mentioned is that two of the pans in mine already look quite worn down and have large dips in them, and I've only used those particular colors maybe 2 to 3 times? I don't live in the UK like some of you lucky gals, so if I ever wanted to repurchase this palette (I only use about half the colors though) it wouldn't be an easy purchase to begin with, despite the low price, and I would have to make a planned order through their website. I just feel like I'll only be able to get 10 or 15 uses tops out of each pan, because they're not finely milled, and the pans aren't even as small as those in 88-color artist palettes. These are roughly the size of a nickel. Even though they're richly pigmented and show up true to pan very easily during application, most of the product is wasted from fallout.

However, even though this palette is seriously lacking in user-friendliness, all I have to say is, if you have your technique down pat (these are NOT just 'swipe on and go' shadows) and you have the patience to work with them, they are MORE than worth it. They last with primer and base for eons too on my dry lids. My only gripe with this palette's color scheme is that there are no blending/transition colors. The only matte in this palette is the black, which isn't the greatest quality, compared to the black in the Storm palette. I will be getting a lot of use out of this in the summer, as there are very beautiful aquatic shades for pops of color on the lash line, bronzes, pinks, a pale gold and a burnished copper. I'm NW15, for reference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mndjohn on 3/13/2013 3:15:00 PM more reviews by mndjohn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

nice palette. As with most Sleek products the pigmentation is there, the shadows are easy to work with. And it doesn't hurt the wallet. it's a win

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 2/24/2013 12:17:00 PM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I do like this palette, There is a good selection of colours, the pigmentation is very good and they last a long time even on my oily eyelids, over a primer that is.
But I can't give it more than a 3 because of the following:
- lots of fallout! as others have mentioned. This means that I have to do my eyes first when using this, or be prepared to clean up the mess after. I find that there is less fallout if I pack the colour onto the lid by patting it on, and a lot more when I try to blend it by say a windshield wiper motion etc.
- not enough dark matte crease colours! There is one matte black, which to be honest I find too harsh for daytime, and even for nighttime I often prefer browns/greys etc unless I do a very dark smoky eye. There is also a shimmery navy, which I suppose even though it's not matte, does work as a crease colour with certain eye looks.
I do use a couple of the other colours in my crease ocassionally (mostly the coppery bronze), but I alyways add a bit of a matte dark eyeshadow if I do, to make my crease a bit deeper.
- the packaging. I like the sturdy packaging and don't have an issue with the lid being hard to open at all (on none of my Sleek palettes!), but what I do have an issue with is that all their palettes look the same from the outside so it's hard to pick the one that you want. I wish they either had different packaging or that they had a transparent lid so you can see the colours.
Overall, it's a good palette at a great price point, and I would repurchase, but it's by no means a must have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 11/2/2012 11:45:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sleek is an English drugstore beauty brand known for their affordable and intensely pigmented iDivine palettes. Sleek offers 13 iDivine palettes. I only have the Original palette. Each 12 pan palette is "high quality, super pigmented, and suited to every skin tone". Apparently these eyeshadows are mineral based. Sleek does not test on animals. This palette was made in China. Each iDivine palette contains about 13g of product (each shadow is 1.1g or .03oz). The value of this palette is fantastic, selling for $10USD. Currently Sleek products aren't sold in store in America, hopefully that'll change soon. Til then, you can order from the Sleek website, which ships internationally for a reasonable rate. I got my Sleek Original iDivine palette as a gift from my bestie Rae.
I kinda deel like the Sleek palette looks iconic. I don't know why..its just something that I see so frequently online and never though I'd have one of my own. That might have something to do with it. My palette came in a black cardboard box with the name of the product on the front. A full ingredient list and some company info can be found on the back. Sleek is a pretty good description for this palette. A thin but sturdy, matte black plastic palette with the Sleek Makeup logo printed on it in shiny lettering. The palette flips open to reveal a large, good quality mirror and twelve eyeshadows. A large doubled ended sponge tip applicator and a piece of plastic to protect the mirror were also included. I don't care what you do with tge sponge tip, but I implore you to keep the plastic sheet, unless you want a very messy mirror.
The texture of Sleek's eyeshadows is quite soft. They're very loosely pressed as well. Each shadow has a criss cross design pressed into them but it wears away quickly after just a handful of uses. As a whole these eyeshadows have an amazingly soft, buttery texture and incredible pigmentation. They are, dare I say it, softer and more pigmented than Wet n Wild eyeshadows! However because they are so loosely pressed and so highly pigmented they cause a record breaking amount of fallout. I've never experienced this much fall out before. Strangely enough, they kick up very much excess powder in the pan. You absolutely must apply Sleek's eyeshadows before any face makeup. Apart from the major fallout, these eyeshadows apply and blend perfectly! I'm partially willing to to overlook the mess they make because of how easy these shadows are to work with, otherwise. Now that I rambled about the texture, let me break down each shade for you individually.
First up is a very frosty yellow buttercream shade. The closest thing to a highlight shade in the palette. It can be sheered out, but it still a very intense brow highlighter. This shade is very beautiful and reflective.

The second shade is a soft rosy pink that flashes gold from some angles, though I wouldn't call it a duochrome. This shade pairs beautifully with the previous shade.

Next up is a truer pink that is a little warmer than the one before it. This shade also doesn't have a gold reflect. This pink shade is borderline metallic and is one of the most richly pigmented in the palette.

Following up the pink shade is a very orange toned bronze shadow. Probably the warmest and most unique color in Sleek's Original palette. I find that it compliments my brown eyes very well

The fifth shade in this palette is the most troublesome. Its an extremely rich, true gold. I'm a sucker for shades like this one. The pigment in this beautifully metallic eyeshadow is very chunky. Its also the loosest shadow in the bunch, so it causes the most fallout by far.

The sixth eyeshadow is an olive green with a bit of a golden sheen. I love pairing this color with the previously mentioned gold. This shade causes less fallout than most of it's peers.

Jumping up to the next row we have a lovely grassy green color with hints of blue in it. This shade isn't particularly unique but I kinda loe it. I want to use it more often. Something about it seems mermaid-y to me.

Coming up after the green is a mostly blue turquoise. This is one of the less pigmented shadows of the twelve. Its more on the level of a NYX or WnW shadow. Great, but not as rich as it's palette-mates.

The ninth eyeshadow is a very bright, intense, super metallic, true blue. This is the absolute brightest color in the original palette. Between the color and the finish, it's almost breathtaking.

The next color is my least favorite and also the least pigmented. It's a deep navy blue with a matte base and a very slight brighter blue pearlescence. Compared to the rest, this navy is kinda boring.

The second to last shade is a mid toned, neutral purple. It has a less metallic finish, it's really more pearly. I don't know why I don't use this color more often, but I've barely touched it.

Closing off the palette is a fantastic, saturated, matte, deep, dark black. Perhaps the blackest eyeshadow I have. It has a particularly good texture for a matte black as well. One of my personal beauty philosophies is to trust a brand that can make a good matte black.

I love the color selection of the Sleek Original iDivine palette. Not too basic, not too bold. I can create a wide variety of looks with this palette. That look probably won't last all day though. I need to layer a primer and base to keep these eyeshadows from creasing and fading.
The Sleek Original palette is fantastic if you value creativity over practicality. I do..at least when it comes to eyeshadow. These are not low maintenance eyeshadows that you can swipe on a bare lid with no real technique, but they are high quality and high pigment. While I'm annoyed by the fallout and fading, I can look past that and appreciate their blendability, vibrancy, and intensity. Oh, and also the packaging which is simple but unmistakable. I want more iDivine palettes! I recommend this palette if it is available to you, despite it's imperfections.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 samsungasong on 10/10/2012 8:09:00 AM more reviews by samsungasong

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this palette today & within hours of application 2 people commented on my eyeshadow.

The colours are beautiful - I have The original Palette. It comes with 12 colours which are beautiful, (makes me want to eat them). They are very pigmented & creamy & don't set in my crease line even though I didn't use primer.

The only negative is how hard the palette is to open, I'm not sure if it's just my palette or whether they're all like this.

I will definitely repurchase & can't wait to try the other palettes in other colours. I definitely recommend purchasing this palette, $12.50 AU for 12 glorious colours, you can't go wrong

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 namida23 on 2/8/2012 5:55:00 AM more reviews by namida23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first eyeshadow palette I bought myself, all the others I own being gifts. I bought this from an Australian online store as there aren't any stores that I know of that stock Sleek makeup along with a variety of other products. I chose this palette as it had a range of vibrant colours that I could play with for fun party looks.

The eyeshadows are all incredibly pigmented but very shimmery and hence probably only appropriate for night wear. The only matte shade is the black which is a great liner shadow when used with an angled brush. I have used the lightest gold shimmer colour quite often as a base and highlight but find that it does not come up as well as the others. My favourite colours are the pinks and purples as they are very pretty and girly, but this has led me to only using one side of the palette.

As these eyeshadows are mineral based, there is quite a lot of fall out but on my eyelids they stay on for several hours without moving despite me having oily eyelids. I have not experimented with these shadows on a primer but as the colours are already quite vivid without one, I haven't found the use for a primer as of yet.

The packaging embodies the idea of 'Sleek'; the palette is in a black plastic casing that is thin and a good size for travelling. The only downside is that many of Sleek's palettes have the same packaging and hence it would be difficult at a glance to tell the different palettes apart if there are many.

With twelve different colours, the double ended sponge applicator did not serve particularly well after a while. I have resorted to using my own eyeshadow brushes to apply the eyeshadows. The aforementioned fall out also has the potential to make the mirror quite dirty but I have kept the plastic sheet that comes with it to separate the shadows from the mirror and it has worked well so far. Overall a great experimental palette for someone new to eyeshadows, though not recommended for someone looking for a palette they can use for everyday/work unless the super shimmery look is what is intended. I would not purchase this again as I prefer eyeshadows I can use on a more regular basis though having the shimmery shades on hand is useful. If I somehow manage to finish this palette, I would probably want to try out the other Sleek palettes which have more wearable colours like Storm or Oh So Special.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MakeupAddict444 on 1/25/2012 2:20:00 PM more reviews by MakeupAddict444

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing palette. It has got a range of basic colours in it, perfect for starters. The pigmentation is also excellent, and with an eyeshadow base (I use one from John G) it is even better! I love the packaging too, just plain and simple black. I like that.
I had my doubts about this palette when I saw the price, but I googled the palette and it turned out to be AMAZING! And that for a price of 7,25 (I bought it at the webshop Goldy Locks.nl (I am Dutch)) and I think it's about 8 or 9 dollars. I really, really want more palettes! On my wishlist: Storm, Bad Girl, Oh so Special, Bohemian and of course: the PPQ limited edition, which is special designed for the London Fashion Week! (I know these are almost all LE's but I know a webshop that offers them all)
But only 1 con.. Where are my mattes? There's only 1 matte colour in this palette. Hmm, I'd chosen a matte white and didn't place 1 of the pink colours in the palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 darkmist on 1/17/2012 2:06:00 AM more reviews by darkmist

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this palette - I would rather give this a 4.5 instead of a 4 but alas, there is no such option. Fantastic pigmentation and texture - it's very smooth and creamy and highly pigmented. A quick swipe with a finger leaves a bright swatch. I like the simple packaging and large mirror - I don't need a fancy design or heavy glass packaging and especially when it's costing me an extra $20 or so. However the lighter packaging does mean things are a bit less secure so if you drop this palette even from a short height, you'll probably get some cracks. When I got mine in the mail from the UK, most of the shadows had cracks and dent from transit. Nothing was irreparable though - just some gentle dabs and the shadows were good to go.

One pro and con of the palette I find though is that it is extremely shiny and metallic. This is good if you wanted to do a bright, eye-catching look (I love pairing the pink and purple (2nd column on left) as smoky look), but also bad as it's way to shimmery to wear to something more formal such as an interview or work. Also I almost never use the blue and teal/turquoise since they don't really work with my skintone but that's just me. There's also some fallout but nothing major. But at $15 including shipping and loving 10/12 decent sized shades, I say that's still pretty amazing.

Can't beat the price and quality - wish I lived in the UK to get more of this great brand!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 milyaksaysmoo on 11/21/2011 10:09:00 AM more reviews by milyaksaysmoo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wonderfully pigmented colours, excellent price (even overseas!) and suitability for my sensitive, Eczema-ridden skin means that I foresee the next eyeshadow palette I purchase to be a Sleek one!

P.S. I use this without a primer and it is already SO vibrant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ticklez88 on 10/9/2011 8:32:00 PM more reviews by ticklez88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love the mix of colours and also love that they are all shimmery. They also last very well with a good primer and are highly pigmented. The colours blend very, very well and I LOVE that sleek ship to my country!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sleek products

More Palettes products