Shu Uemura Brow Pencil

4.6

165 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

hydrogenated castor oil, stearic acid, cera microcristallina/microcrystalline wax, candelilla cera/candelilla wax, carnauba/carnauba wax, rhus succedanea/rhus succedanea fruit wax, hydrogenated coconut oil, hydrogenated palm kernal oil, [ /-may contain: mica, CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499/iron oxides, CI 77891/titanium dioxide]


on 7/15/2015 11:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It was OK, nothing special. Perhaps a little too dark. I like to buy a pencil that is a teeny bit lighter than my natural shade. I bought this years ago after seeing it on makeup411!



on 3/19/2015 9:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this brow pencil! The sales advisor recommended me the hard formula in the color 02 Seal Brown. She told me that this color suits most asian women. This pencil interacts with the oils of your skin. So when you swatch it, remember to put a base on your hand first, otherwise there will be no color payoff!
With my previous brow pencils, I had to draw a line on my brows and then carefully smudge the line out to create a perfect shape because most brow pencils tend to be too soft. With the Shu pencil however, I can draw the perfect brow without having to smudge anything except the start of the brows. The pencil is also quite long so one pencil lasts me at least a year and a half! The pencil is also longlasting and as long as you don't rub your face, the brows will stay all day.


on 12/29/2013 2:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Don't look any further. Don't waste money on any other (I never tried that Japanese one Lisa Eldridge loves though). This is simply perfect. Not to notice, perfect fine lines just the right amount, thickness, shape. You can't overdue it, draw wrongly, get visible lines or broad, harsh ones, the 'hardness' and the shape and the for you right color makes it 'the one 'n only'. Keep in mind even if it seems you're wasting a lot of product by getting it sharpened that special way, it's just so worth it and anyhow to me this pencil seems to last forever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2013 7:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

NC25 Chinese, more black than brown hair as lightened by the AZ sun.

I didn't like Seal Brown 02 at first, b/c I was so heavy handed.. I'd get these brown floating brows. Once I lightened it up, it looks much more natural and giving away my Lioele Auto Eyebrow #3.

It will take 1.5million years to finish this pencil, but who cares.. next time I'm in Asia.. I'm going to get the Grey version (?) for comparison.


on 9/2/2013 5:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So in love with this product!! It's perfect for black haired brows. The beauty of this pencil is that with just a few light strokes, you can build up your brows. The result is a very natural and full looking set of brows! Also, I've been using this product for 5 months and still haven't sharpened it. I can imagine this long pencil lasting for a few years--at least!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2013 5:40:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My brows have never been very full or bushy but were always neat and 'there' enough, so I never bothered to use anything on them. Unfortunately as I grow older, they are on the verge of disappearing so I've finally been forced to colour them in:(

I love the Seal Brown pencil and keep one in my handbag for emergencies. The plastic cap is a problem though as it has dropped off a couple of times and left a stain in my bag....but the colour is perfect and very natural. Other brands in brown tend to look reddish on me, but the Seal Brown matches really well with my dark brown hair. Also, the formula is great and firm, without being scratchy. The ends of my eyebrows are now non existent, but I can draw them in gently with this pencil and my little 'tail' stays put unlike some other powders. (The Chanel Le Sourcil powder stays on the entire day but that's another review)
Definite repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/28/2013 5:43:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am one of the lucky Asians that naturally have very full brows. I normally don't need to fill them in but the beginning of my brows are just empty. Using powder makes it look really unnatural and all the eyebrow pencils I've tried so far makes me look like there are two caterpillars living on my face.

My mom came back from Korea with two shu uemura eyebrow pencils and gave me seal brown. I was skeptical of it because of the way the pencil tip looked when it was given to me. ....don't always judge a book by its cover. Ever.

By the way, I've dyed my hair sometime ago and in the sun it looks very brown with highlights in it.

When I put seal brown on the beginning of my eyebrows, it looks a little weird. Once I make the rest my eyebrows look similar to each other, I take a q-tip and soften the beginnings. It looks very natural if I do it this way. It's really hard to overdo your eyebrows with this pencil.

It's been a year since I've used this and it is amazing. I've only went to the counter once to sharpen this and it was only about a month ago when it happened.. I think this would work very well with those who have sparse eyebrows. Remember if you think it looks harsh take a spoolie or a q-tip to soften the look. Love this shizz and will continue to use it!!!! I recommend it!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2013 7:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love using powder for my brows as you can't overdo it and it looks very natural. I wanted to give pencils a try again because there are times I prefer a more sharper and defined look to my brows.

I must agree with everybody else. This is basically fool proof and it's hard to mess up or have it look too dark. Currently using Stone Grey and it looks like my brows but a whole lot better. Lasts all day and gives me the definition I need that powder can't achieve. Definitely recommend this to anybody looking for a good brow pencil! Especially if you're just starting out. I was skeptical because I tend to always be the odd one whom doesn't enjoy the hyped products but I can guarantee you won't regret it!


on 5/19/2013 3:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this pencil. It lasts forever and the shade and texture is just right! It's not too intense but it can be if you add more force during application. This can last over a year. A little troublesome is the way you have to sharpen it. You can't use a normal sharpener, you've got to shave it. But you can always take it to the counter and they'll do it for you for free. Shu Uemura's products have always been very pricey outside Japan.


on 2/19/2013 10:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just got this brow pencil yesterday and can already say that it is my HG! I have very sparse asian eyebrows, over the past year i have tried almost every brow pencil on the market, i even tried powder and nothing looks as natural as the shu uemura one. Yes its expensive for a pencil but you get a very very long one, so i think im good for up to 2 years with this. So if youre looking to fill in your brows with a natural finish GET THIS!!! You will not regret it!


Back to Top