NARS • Fast Ride • Lipstick

rated 4.6(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 dani630 on 1/12/2013 1:44:00 PM more reviews by dani630

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

LOVE THIS SHADE! Put on a little for a sheer, beautiful touch of color, or a lot for a sexy, deep plum color. So versatile. Thank you Nars!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peri on 1/23/2012 3:06:00 PM more reviews by Peri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this lipstick! It's semi-sheer and balm-y yet imparts a deep, vampy, super-chic shade that's amazing for fall and winter. I love, love, love it. I also love that the shade is more mulberry than brown.

When paired with a pinkish flush on cheeks, it's extremely editorial looking and stylish. The staying power is decent for the light formula. Other users have complained about bleeding and feathering, but I haven't found that.

If that becomes a problem, Make Up For Ever recently released an amazing no-color lip liner for dark shades, which helps!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peregrin on 10/25/2011 8:41:00 PM more reviews by peregrin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

O....m.....g.

This is BEAUTIFUL.

There's a strange dichotomy within my love for lip products. I tend to gravitate toward sheers, but on the other hand I love something strong & dramatic -- especially deep reds, purples, etc.

This lipstick is the best of both worlds for me. It's absolutely wonderful in all aspects: smooth texture, versatility, shade. It's a sheer that you can build up to desired intensity -- looks scary in the tube, but is absolutely wearable on the lips. Gives me the kind of color I normally get after drinking a couple glasses of wine: flushed browny-purpley-red. Plummy. (This is what I was looking for in the first place, and Fast Ride definitely delivers.) Great for fall, but I think it'd be unusual in a great way during spring and summer if that's your thing.

:D I can't recommend this enough. There's a certain... something... that some beauty products have that just stands out & makes you feel that much more put together and lovely and sophisticated. Fast Ride does that for me. <3 I think it's worth the price, and if you're on the fence I'd say give it a shot.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 2/22/2011 9:31:00 AM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had to return this because it bleeds - never experienced anything so bad. The texture of this was awsome however; very smooth and hydrating. The colour was good but I found a better one that had a tad more brown in it and was more flattering: Bobbi Brown Plumberry.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dibbun on 8/22/2010 4:26:00 PM more reviews by dibbun

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Oh, jeeze. Why do I have to get into this stuff - you get one lipstick from NARS, it's all over. Just sign your bank account over to Sephora, because at $25 a pop, this stuff is expensive, and of course you need one in your bathroom, one for your purse, one for the office....
Anyway, the color is a little like a darker version of Clinique's Black Honey, except less pink and more buildable. I think a blend of the two, Fast Ride first followed by Black Honey and blended with a finger is perfect, translucent berry. You do need to exfoliate your lips first because it will catch and show on every little blip.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 taitiana on 7/18/2010 11:05:00 PM more reviews by taitiana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've always heard how incredible NARS lipsticks were and now I'm a believer! I love the texture. It is sheer, but not so sheer that you can't see the color. And you can build it up to a more deep plumy/brwn color. It wears for hours without drying out or wearing off! It's very conditioning on the lips. My lips feel better, smoother after I've worn it. The color is beautiful. It is a sheerish purple. Most plumy shades go pink on me, but this one doesn't. The color never changes, no matter how long I wear it. I will be buying more NARS lipsticks in the future. Highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 12/28/2009 10:19:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have opaque lipsticks in this color that need to be applied with utmost delicacy and concern for my fellow humans. I dot and dab and then have to bother with gloss on the top to spread the stain around--it's an awful lot of work and if I don't get it right I might get mistaken for that unfortunate creature, the middle-aged Goth.



Enter Fast Ride, which Sephora describes as a "sheer mulberry." It looks terrible in the tube, almost a dried-blood color with a hint of Bordeaux, very vampirish. But since this is one of the Nars sheers, I knew it would look nothing like this on the lips and that I could test it at Sephora and leave without attracting the most pitying looks.



Fast Ride is, in a word, perfection. For those preferring a slightly darker YLBB look in the plum/wine category, this lipstick cannot be topped. As with my other Nars faves, Damage and Shrinagar (all in the same color family), Fast Ride has that balm-like texture with a long-lasting stain. It's easily buildable over the remnant stain.



At application, Fast Ride looks like a gloss due to a high-shine factor, but, unlike gloss, it doesn't wear off at the touch of the first Coke can. It's a great way to wear a darker lip without too much drama. I fuss around with Chanel Vamp trying to get this effect, but with Fast Ride all it takes is a single swipe.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 davisface on 11/18/2009 3:45:00 PM more reviews by davisface

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

What a PERFECT color!!!!! I had seen this at the counter but shied away - thought it would be too dark for me. But after reading the MUA reviews, I figured WTH and ordered it during sephora's VIB event. Came in the mail today, I immediately put it on, and I can't stop looking in the mirror! Gorgeous almost-stain, but still moisturizing. Lovely lovely lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nonfiction on 10/21/2009 10:22:00 AM more reviews by Nonfiction

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

OMG- I think I'm in love.

This is a perfect color. It is some-what sheer with a hint of color. This lipstick lasts a really long time. You do not need a lip brush, it is just that smooth. I used a current/mac lip liner, but it is not required. One more thing, the packing is small and fits in any purse.

Oh yes, this is fabulous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MavenMel on 10/18/2009 11:01:00 PM more reviews by MavenMel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I find myself reaching for this lipstick everyday! This is a sheer formula so it does not look deep purple on the lips like it does in the tube. On the lips its a gorgeous berry plum colour, almost like a stain. The texture is smooth and it applies beautifully. I find I can layer it for a deeper colour without it looking caked on. I love the packaging - sleek and black with that satisfying "click" when I close the lid. I can't believe this is the first NARS lipstick I've purchased. I own several NARS blushes, multiples, lipglosses and shadows. Fast Ride also makes a great base for Gothika lipgloss. This is also the perfect replacement for Prescriptives Incredible Lipstick in Black Currant. I think I will be buying more NARS lipsticks!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products