Unlisted Brand • Leichner Camera Clear Tinted Foundation • Foundations

rated 4.2(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Halakitty on 11/7/2014 11:52:00 PM more reviews by Halakitty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing amazing ! Specially for sensitive eczema prone skin, you must try it , one of the best

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 teddibe4r on 8/13/2014 10:15:00 AM more reviews by teddibe4r

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

AMAZING Foundation, especially for the price!!!

I've got MANY high-end foundations. Probably my most expensive is my Guerlain Parure Gold - which is simply gorgeous.

The Guerlain foundation cost me OVER 50!! It amazes me that for the 4 something I paid for the Leichner Camera Clear Tinted Foundation, the results after application are really not that huge distances apart - as cost of each is!! For the percentage difference of the 4 and over 50, one would expect that the Guerlain foundation would be absolutely unbelievable compared to the Leichner, but it simply - is NOT.

I did a bit of "foundation testing" on three separate days. I used my Guerlain first day, Chanel second day, and on the third day the Leichner. I left the Leichner one for the last "test", expecting to see a great drop in quality of application and finish - I did not!!

I have used this Leichner foundation for YEARS, on and off - and I had not used any for AGES, but recently tried an old one I had (which still smelt fine and the texture looked brand new) and I was blown away. I know I've never "emptied" a tub of one of these. I do switch from foundation to foundation, looking for my HG one. Still not found my HG, despite years of trial and error and searching. There's always "something" to prevent it being HG. If I win millions on the lottery, I will create my own - lol.

I decided to buy a new one (the one I used in my "test" by the way). The colour BISCUIT is absolutely ideal for me (I am an 03 shade in the high end foundations and Medium Beige or Medium Tan in Bare Escentuals Mineral foundation). This Biscuit shade is not too pink, nor too yellow, its almost neutral - and I LOVE it. It blanks out my face (not in a cakey way at all), so leaves me with a flawless blank canvas to apply any colour to my face with contour, blush, or bronzer, as I wish. The application of this is so easy using my Sigma F80 brush (I used this brush for the 3 "tests") it goes on a dream.

Even with a dry skin, I "blot" my moisturiser with a tissue just before applying the Leichner, as it is VERY moisturising - and I don't want to look greasy or shiny.

I am one of the gals who LIKE the smell of this. I cannot smell it all after 10 mins of application anyway, so the slightly stronger aroma is not an issue for me.

A simply GREAT foundation, creamy, gives wonderful coverage, moisturising, great colour, and INCREDIBLY LOW price. Will definitely buy this again - that is when I get to the bottom of the huge pot you get for your very few bucks!!

Do try it.....you may be, as I was, amazed. Try your own comparisons (on adjacent days).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smootsa on 4/15/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by smootsa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Well this is an interesting foundation. I couldn't get past the smell - which is really strong - so I took a look at the ingredients to see what I was dealing with, and of the 22 ingredients listed, 14 are fragrances - including the catch-all 'parfum'. That probably explains the strength of the smell, but not why it's so unpleasant. The super low price probably explains that. I also checked on cosdna, and 18 of the 22 ingredients get safety flags (11 medium hazard, 7 high hazard) so despite the high ratings elsewhere, I'm happy to bin this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kajsabajsa on 7/20/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by kajsabajsa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a quite unusual and unknown brand from Germany.

However its an old one that has been around for a long long time, almost 100 years or so!

Dont let the name "tinted" fool you, this is NOT a tinted moisturizer,
although it does offers serious amount of moisturization due to
the very high content of lanolin and paraffin.
This stuff is even more moisturizing than many lotions!

The texture of this is extremely creamy, like melted butter.

The level of coverage is HIGH, very high, as this was originally a stage makeup brand.

Worn alone, it will give you a super glowy porcelain look (like Cleopatra kind of look).
If you set it with powder (must be LOOSE powder, pressed wont work with all oils in this),
then your skin will appear completely flawless.
Can be slightly cakey though since its designed for stage/theatre makeup primarily.

This foundation comes in a little plastic jar thats very easy to handle.
All shades appear darker in the jar than they actually are on the skin.
The shades "Porcelain" or "Almond" will fit paler skins.
(The color chart provided is very off, especially on these two paler shades).

You get good amount of product (35ml) for a low price, usually around $5-6.

So its basically a very old fashioned stage makeup, from like the 30's-40's-50's era,
which is also reflected in how heavily perfumed it is.
Its a strong old ladys smell that wont go away for a long time.

But still a charming quite unique product in its own way.

Very good for those with DRY SKIN who seek a cheap FULL COVERAGE foundation.


9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cinamorrol on 6/22/2013 5:46:00 PM more reviews by Cinamorrol

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Being a rare blend of dry and Acne prone, this is the perfect foundation. Covers EVERYTHING and moisturises well. HG .

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 renners on 4/27/2013 8:32:00 AM more reviews by renners

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the porcelain shade for $5 for my NC20 skin. application is key with this foundation- DON'T wipe it on, it needs to be lightly patted on with your fingers or a brush, wiping on gives a really horrible effect.
super heavy feeling with med to full coverage, i dont put this on my nose because it doesnt last and becomes blotchy but on my dry cheeks its fine.

The packaging is super cute and retro, i prob wouldnt purchase again but i have no problem continuing to use the rest of the jar.The price for this is ridiculously cheap however and I I was on a budget or hunting for a bargain this would be my first choice foundation.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 12/18/2012 5:06:00 AM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I came across Leichner CAMERA CLEAR foundation whilst browsing Amazon for a suitable foundation for my very dry skin. I remember coming across it before and being tempted by, but not getting it because trying to colour match it via the unhelpful chart is a shot in the dark. However as it is so cheap I decided to just order the lightest shade [porcelain] and hope for the best.


When it arrived I was disappointed, as whilst the shade is nice and neutral, it looks a bit darker then what the shade name would suggest. However the creamy formula is so light and silky to apply, that blending it into the skin for a better colour match is easy. Once blended, the results are a smooth satin finish, with medium coverage (it can provide fuller coverage with layering).


I've found it to be transfer resistant, another plus. I've worn with a primer, without one, with powder and alone; my preferred look is skipping primer and setting the foundation with a touch of powder, as that is long lasting and gives a natural, un-cakey look. Finally; This hasn't oxidized on me.




negatives? For me, this doesn't have any. However if you don't have dry skin the moisturizing ingredients in this foundation will become greasy on your skin, so I wouldn't recommend Leichner CAMERA CLEAR to anyone other then those with dry skin.


Also: remember that it applies lighter on the skin then it looks in the container, so bare that in mind.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Marianthoula on 4/15/2012 12:57:00 PM more reviews by Marianthoula

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pleasant surprise and I have MUA to thank for.

As a new mu artist I am looking for products to cover my needs for various skin tones without breaking the bank. I must say that I took a blind leap when I bought these because I could not be sure what shade each pot represents. After a lot of thought, I ended up with the following 4 blends:
- Almond (pink)
- Walnut whip (peach)
- Porcelain (neutral)
- Chestnut (dark, not sure of the undertone)

Apprication:
Using the 3 first shades I can pretty much recreate any light-to-medium skintone. I am (roughly estimated) 2/5 Walnut+2/5 Porcelain+1/5 Almond and it is really no big trouble to get each product out everyday and mix it if it means I get to have my perfect match. I have Chestnut to add for a darker skintone, but I am not sure of its undertone. On my white face it turns a little red.
As other reviewers said, be careful of the quantity. You only need so little. Now I have combination skin and so I have to use it on non-moisturized skin. It wears very comfortably on my winter-dry, Dior-Forever-maltreated skin.
I apply it with fingers. I tried using a stippling brush (MAC 187) but it just clumps the brush hair together and makes giant streaks on my face that no amount of buffing can correct. Being combo, I take an extra step and pat lightly with some (toilet) paper to remove greasiness.
I powder as usual (my powder is not oil control but I have no problem) and then continue with blush, bronzer etc.
I find that I can use it under my eyes and on the lid and I do not get any irritation. I get medium coverage and a cream finish this way. Now I know this sounds like a lot of trouble but really it takes so little in the morning and it is the most lovely finish I have so far. Plus, it saves me the time from not having to apply serum + moisturizer :)

It has a slight smell that I cannot describe, not bad, and I cannot smell it a few minutes after application. The only bad thing I can think of is the jar. Not for hygene reasons (I use a spatula) but because it is so greasy that the oil gets under the screw-cap and seeps out. When I received them, one was covered in grease so bad that the label had turned colour. A little disgusting and messy, but I prefer to pay for the product than a fancy packaging. Plus, it really saves space in my kit.

I am very-very happy with this product. The price is amazing and there is nothing lacking in performance. I will have to see how it holds on warmer days but for winter days this is my new love of makeup. As a matter of fact, this is my new standard for foundation and I will have to revise my mark for the other foundations I have reviewed. Will definitely buy again.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xEmzyx on 2/25/2012 5:07:00 PM more reviews by xEmzyx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this in blend of porcelain as I'm very fair skinned after reading reviews about it being great for dry skin I thought it would be perfect for my face!
I was not disappointed, this not only moisturisers your skin it covers imperfections really well.. and a little really does go along way! I applied today with my fingers which left my face a little too cakey so I'm going to invest in a sponge and apply a little powder to keep it in place (like other reviewers have said) One things for sure this foundation will last me a hell of alot longer than any other! The only thing I can fault is the smell as it's a little overwhelmingly strong but seems to wear off after an hour!
Will repurchase :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smurf3010 on 2/22/2012 7:19:00 AM more reviews by smurf3010

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Got some yesterday, thought for the price, 3.00 at the factory shop, I'd give it a try.. like the coverage and the colour, but the smell is very off putting!! Reminds me of my Nana and she is dead!! Used a mineral powder over the top and that seems to mask the smell. Time will tell if I would buy it again...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Foundations products