NARS • Sheer Glow Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1383 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Tsats on 12/19/2014 8:25:00 AM more reviews by Tsats

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I still don't know why I haven't returned this. I guess it is the influence of MUA and all the favorable reviews. I go on thinking that I am doing something wrong. So here is my experience: I have dry to combo skin, but I have never managed to wear this without it separating on my skin. It always just cracks and lets the underneath skin show/shine through, while caking in other spots. Maybe my skin is much more combo than I thought. Too dry in some places, too oily for this in others.
Don't get me wrong, this does look good for a while. But I cannot trust it and I do not like that feeling. My skin is too dry for powders, but I have tried to combine this with powder. And I have tried a few primers. No success yet. Most likely I just haven't found the right primer to make this work. But I am not sure how much more to invest jut trying to make this work. There are plenty of trustworthy foundations out there, that you can rub your nose or get oily, and that will never look as bad as this one does when it goes wrong. I hate "high maintenance" foundations that will only look good if all the conditions are perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whatthehype on 12/18/2014 6:57:00 AM more reviews by whatthehype

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

When they say 'sheer glow' they don't mean the foundation is sheer with a nice dewy finish. It means the foundation has a sheer light dewiness.

Don't get confused. This foundation is medium buildable to full. I absolutely love this foundation! It gave me such a nice coverage and finish and works the best with hourglass veil primer.

I have pale skin on my face and everytime you match my skin you would pick like a light foundation which makes my face look pale which I hate. But this one, I found the perfect shade that matches my skin colour without looking pale. The coverage is alright, I haven't tried it in winter but in summer the sides of my nose (on the cheek area) gets oily (ONLY that area. I had struggle with very dry skin) and after a day it breaks down only on the corner of my nose and it happens with usually all my foundation when its hot. I wore this to Bondi beach in a hot weather.

But with the hourglass primer I last a lot longer and better finish! The thing a lot of people complain is that it doesn't come with a pump but with a high price ($54~ au I think)

I use this with a buffing brush and prefer it over a sponge. It seems to soak into the sponge and enhance the dry areas because it soaks all the moisture from the foundation and leaving pigment only. Even though its for dry skin I still would recommend having a very moisturised faced and a good primer.

The big problem is I think its breaking me out. I cant be too sure because during the summer my skin started acting up but it seems to start breaking out on the cheeks near my pores where it gets oily. I think it clogs that area. I stopped using it and haven't seem to experience that tiny breakout but I think its because of the oily area , the only area it breaks out is the area I get oily. I think in winter when I stop being oily I should work fine but I recommend a sample to test out because there are few people who complain about the break out. If only it doesn't break me out I would call it my holy grail easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Carallll on 12/18/2014 6:53:00 AM more reviews by Carallll

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've only had this a few days but it seems to be drying my skin out so bad. And it's not sheer, or glowy. And don't even get me started on the fact it doesn't have a pump

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DeadWednesday on 12/16/2014 3:24:00 PM more reviews by DeadWednesday

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I have very fair skin and struggle to find a foundation that will match my skin tone. When my MAC Studio Fix in NW10 ran out, I didn't want to repurchase it because I felt that it was too dark, so I decided to try NARS, and tried out the Sheer Glow foundation in the lightest shade, Siberia. At first, I liked this foundation as I liked the finish and the color seemed like it was a better match than the MAC one (although now I think it was too yellow toned), but since then my opinion has changed and I can honestly say this is the worst foundation I have ever tried! It was very expensive for a start, at 31.00, and didn't come with a pump - which I know is not uncommon but if I'm paying that much for the foundation in the first place surely it should include something as simple as a pump?! I also find the lasting power on this foundation to be very poor - at first I thought that it was my moisturizer that was making my foundation literally slide off my face, but I tried it on bare skin and the same thing happened - bearing on mind that my skin is not actually oily and is more dry. Applying it with a brush is difficult in my opinion as it moves around too much and instead I have to use a Beauty Blender. This is very disappointing to see such a poor product from such a good brand, and in fact if this had been the first product that I had tried from NARS, I think I would have been put off buying anything else. Don't do it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GirlFromB on 12/15/2014 4:13:00 PM more reviews by GirlFromB

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm using a luxury sample (glass vial with plastic applicator in cap) for more than ten times now. The SA matched my mac nc 20/25 skin with Santa Fe and that works perfectly. Texture is runny but smooth to apply, the tiny applicator proves exactly the right amount with just 1 dib, dries up to a medium coverage with satin-matte finish and lasts very well. I would call this a balancing fdt because it doesn't cause dry patches and it matifies better than other products I've used. I didn't expect to love this fdt but I find myself using the sample so much that I will purchase this asap. New HG! Other fdt that I recently bought and loved - not as much as this one): by Terry Cover Expert (difficult cover match, drier texture and so pricey), L'Oreal Eau de Teint (less coverage, no oil control, horrible packaging, good cheap alternative), Erborian BB Light (very light colour, good coverage, bit mask-like/cakey: needs more work but great base), Estee Lauder double wear new formula (oxidizes, dry texture that accentuates fine lines, used to love this but now find it very blah).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SanFranGirl on 12/15/2014 3:08:00 AM more reviews by SanFranGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Nars Sheer Glow seemed to be everyone's HG foundation and needless to say suitable for a dry skin type (like mine) so once my Bourjois Healthy Mix was running low I figured why not to try Nars?

I am so happy that I actually never bought it. And here is why - if you have an eye on this foundation, ask for a sample size to try first. Because when I first applied it - I was in love. My skin looked perfected, the color matched me perfectly and I looked polished up!

However the word "sheer" might be a bit misleading here. This product is not sheer at all, but gives a good medium coverage straight away. You can sheer it out, but that's not my main concern. The reason why I never bought this product was because it felt too heavy and mask-like on my skin after 2-3 hours of wearing it. I literally wanted to wash it off. My pores widened as well and even though I am as dry as Sahara desert - the Tzone looked shinier than ever.

It is a bit of a shame because the color match was amazing. Yet the entire idea of spending a lot of cash on it + buying a separate pump (ridiculous) and feeling like my skin can't breathe underneath was scary.

You can find a proper description and first impression of Nars Sheer Glow in the post below, I believe it is better to give it a good research and collect opinions before buying it.
http://www.partyparrotblog.com/#!Nars-Sheer-Glow-First-Impression-/cmbz/A6CE8D71-4532-4B16-9669-8155B22166CE

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessitanner on 12/13/2014 10:29:00 PM more reviews by jessitanner

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have only just recently used this foundation, so the following are my first impressions of it. I have been on the hunt for my HG foundation for as long as I started wearing foundation. I've had a few hits and more misses, but this is my current HG (along with Dior's Airflash, which is heaven-sent), meeting all the needs I have out of a foundation.

Pros
- Great coverage - a little actually really does go a long way!!
- Coverage that actually lasts
- Good color selection - I'm using Mont Blanc. I think that a Mont Blanc & Siberia mix (the 2 lightest shades) is my ideal color match.
- Not drying. You don't really feel that the foundation is there, as I have felt at times this winter with MUFE matte foundation.
- Great finish - not matte, not dewy, perfect inbetween

Cons
- I'm sure I'll come up with some as I continue to use this foundation longer

Comparisons
- Much prefer this to MakeupForever foundations - the MUFE ones tend to be quite drying
- Better color match/selection than most foundations (Dior, Guerlain, Chanel, etc)

Overall, I am extremely (happily) surprised by how well this foundation held up throughout the day, its coverage, and color match.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pinkpeonie6 on 12/11/2014 1:59:00 PM more reviews by Pinkpeonie6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation. I have dry, clear skin with a few dry patches in the winter. This foundation is heaven sent. It matches my skin perfectly (I use the shade barcelona. For reference, I'm a MAC NC40-42), it evens out my skin tone and looks very natural. It does transfer to clothes easily, but I just give myself a very light dusting of setting powder. I think this foundation is def worth the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beautyaddict007 on 12/9/2014 6:11:00 PM more reviews by beautyaddict007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First I want to stress that of your considering buying this foundation get it tested before you buy it.
It is promoted as being a "dewy finish" as soon as I apply it, it is matte. The bottle is nice however you have to pay an additional 3 for a pump bit ridiculous. I have combination skin so oily t zone and dry cheeks. I found that even though I use my favourite primer (Benefit Porefessional) the foundation sits in the pores and clogs them after a few hours of wear. It looks absolutely gross and if you have oily or combo skin then this definitely isn't the one.

I am awaiting a refund on this foundation as I dislike it that much. I am still on the hunt for a go to foundation. I have tried so many brands now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jennylynn8686 on 12/8/2014 11:46:00 PM more reviews by Jennylynn8686

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm going to just say, my review is based on using a sample I had of this foundation- I have really considered buying this foundation as I have been on the hunt for the "perfect" foundation for my dry/sensitive skin. I only gave this 3 stars because.... Like I said I only had a sample. My sample was good for 2 days worth of use. First off, I was color matched to the color "deauville" I really loved the texture of the foundation, it's definitely on the liquidy/runny consistency side (not very thick.). But it applied smoothly and pretty evenly. Definitely felt nice gliding on my dry skin. I'd personally say its a medium/light- buildable coverage. My complaints to this product: the color I received- It was a perfect match, or so I thought, 10 mins after wearing the makeup, my husband: " umm, why is your face so orange??! " so, yeah, it seemed to oxidize or something?! I'm not certain on other colors either, as most seem to have orange/yellow tones. Also, the price is up there. I really want to give it another try, possibly even buy the full size, but I'd definitely have to make SURE of a color before I spend $60. And no pump on bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Liquid products