NARS • 9951 Pleasures of Paris Palette • Palettes

rated 4.5(40 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 makeupphd on 8/29/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by makeupphd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this palette! I'm really into Nars single shadows and I wanted to try a few more, so I decided to go for this palette bc it had a few I really wanted for an awesome value. I have lots of shadows also, so I didn't need the full size singles. The quality of these is excellent: smooth, easy to blend, and no fallout! My fave color is Fez, followed by cordura (I can easily wear these two together). And I love abyssinia and nepal as all over or highlighter shades. I don't wear the purple shades as much, but they are beautiful color mattes for brown eyes. This palette is great for travel and worth the money! I gave this palette 4 stars rather than 5 only bc I don't find myself reaching for it as often as I'd like to- partly bc I have too much shadow and also bc I'm not a fan of Nars packaging- the rubber material gets dirty easily and doesn't feel good in my hands, if that makes any sense to other ppl w sensory issues out there lol. In any case, this product is highly recommended for anyone who already loves NARS shadows or anyone who wants to try out a few for a really great price (considering how much the individuals cost).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wednesdei on 5/22/2012 1:38:00 AM more reviews by wednesdei

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Nars almost always throws a couple of neutral shades in his eye shadow palettes (which is a good thing, at least for me). But with the Pleasures of Paris eye shadow palette, he spiced it up a little bit by adding some purple hues and an almost-blackened brown to take the just-having-fun-in-the-park to rocking-at-a-party! For a neutral and purple fanatic like me, this palette is heaven's sent! So yeah, I am so into this! Just look at how gorgeous these shades are!

For full review and swatches, check my blog: http://mygorgeouspinkcheeks.blogspot.com/2012/05/nars-pleasures-of-paris-eye-shadow.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Morahmakeupblog on 4/12/2012 8:46:00 PM more reviews by Morahmakeupblog

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Nars 6-color palettes rarely have anything that is not beige or brown, the uppper right purples are a pleasant surprise in the palette! Violetta and Demon Lover are both duo eyeshadows and the halves chosen from each to be in this palette work amazingly well together. The pair of dusty purples gives a very gentle and elegant look to the eyes. I love pairing this look with UD Crash eyeliner, a dark purple with silver glitter.

The browns in this palette, Fez and Cordura, are beautiful as well and could be used together for a neutral look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nychellemm1 on 1/31/2012 9:37:00 AM more reviews by nychellemm1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This palette was just okay. The colors are nothing spectacular. I really don't understand they hype for this product. I swapped this away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 simplyxjosey on 9/2/2011 1:56:00 AM more reviews by simplyxjosey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the perfect everyday palette and the perfect travel palette. It has everything I would ever reach for! The plum and brown tones bring out my brown eyes and the pigmentation and texture is spot on. I find nepal to be a prettier, less orange version of MAC's all that glitters. I find fez to be a prettier, less intense, and less orange version of MAC's bronze.

Word of discretion: I do find violetta and demon lover lighter in pigmentation but still buttery soft in texture. I use the two for a very natural, matte, light smokey plum look with abbsynnia as a highlight. From a practical standpoint, i don't always want insanely pigmented colors because sometimes I'm just in a hurry for a look that's natural and put together.

For a smokey look I smudge cordura all over my lid and blend out with fez.
For an everyday look that's less natural than my violetta/demon lover combo, I pat nepal all over my lid, put fez into my crease and outer corners, and cake line cordura into my lashline.

Those are only 3 of my favorite ways to wear this palette. If you're a neutral kinda girl with brown eyes like me, then trust me, and get this palette.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chickadee on 8/24/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Chickadee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this from the Nars website and was very excited to get it. The shadows are beautiful in the pan, but I was not so impressed once I began to use them. They are just 'meh.' I decided to make a little money by selling this in a blog sale, and I honestly don't miss it. Sorry, just not a winner for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miahesterly on 8/24/2011 2:25:00 PM more reviews by miahesterly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

If you are thinking whether or not you should get this... run and buy it! I had been waiting for ages for the NARS UK site to get it back in stock, and last month it came back in. Pleasures of Paris is the first eyeshadow palette I've ever owned where I can use all of the shades. It has both neutral, everyday shades, and dark, dramatic ones. I am pretty sure it would suit both warm and cool-toned people. For reference I'm about a NC40-42, and have a neutral olive/yellow-toned complexion.


Nepal is a beautiful shimmery light warm pink, which shows up like that on my skin (unlike Sin by Urban Decay, which just looks frosty off-white). It really brightens up my face and is a perfect everyday shade. Violetta is a matte light lilac, which for reasons unknown to me shows up on me as a light brown/purple. If I had to call one of the shades in the palette a dud, then I would name it as this one, but even then, it's still pretty usable when you do a look with the next shade, Demon Lover. Demon Lover is a matte dark purple, and looks great in the crease and the outer third of the eye. Purple tones are really very flattering on yellow-toned skin. Then in the bottom row we have Fez, a beautiful shimmery mid-tone warm brown. I wasn't sure how this would look on me, as warm browns look bad on me, but I think the shimmer is what makes this an exception. I never usually wear eyeshadow on the bottom lid, but I do with this shade, as it's not too dark and therefore harsh-looking. You can use this in a subtle look, or pack it on and combine it with the final shade, Cordura (a dark cool brown with slight gold shimmer), can be combined to make a really stunning brown smoky eye. And finally, there's Abyssinia, which is a warm toned, vanilla shimmery shade. On my skin it doesn't show up so golden as it does in the pan, but I can still use it and it still looks good, as it doesn't look like a stark white. It's actually quite rare to find a warm highlighter shade in a palette - most companies use bright white or off white shades (Bobbi Brown, Estee Lauder, Urban Decay Naked palette).


I paid 37 for it and got free shipping too. In my opinion it's worth every penny (though I'm not sure about paying 6.13 in VAT, but that's another story!). The eyeshadows are 1.4g each, just over half the amount of the regular singles, which are 2.2g. I know none of the shades are limited edition, and that you can buy them all as double and singles, but the palette is just so convenient, and all the colours look gorgeous sitting there together. To make sure that it doesn't shatter, whenever I travel with it, I wrap it in bubblewrap, then put it in the cardbox box it came in. I had a NARS Laguna blush which shattered when I was travelling, and I don't want that to happen to this. I wish that this had come back in stock before I bought the Naked palette - I rarely use that, but I use this all the time. I hope NARS never stop making it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kathrynb23 on 8/19/2011 1:05:00 AM more reviews by kathrynb23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my very first ever eye shadow/palette from NARS. I've seen soo much hype around this palette, swatches all amazing, I knew I had to get it. Unfortunately as always, not available in Australia, and only available online in US which makes in seemingly impossible to get, but I did it and I finally got!
Firstly amazing quality just as I expected from NARS. I did find this palette might be more fragile then it looks, I swear I thought the Cordura colour would crack on me any day soon. I have worn this palette for day and night, and I realise the 2 darker colour (Demon Lover, Cordura) were not so much daytime friendly. They were however gorgeous for night time, or heavy smokey eyes.
This is such a gorgeous palette I would always repurchase if I got a chance. It was $55USD online, but for me including shipping to Australia this came out to be about $70AUD........And no this wasn't an eBay purchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Quilley on 5/7/2011 11:17:00 AM more reviews by Quilley

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This was a gift from a friend here on MUA. She somehow knows what works for me - and we are not even the same skin tone! When she sent this to me, I thought it was pretty, but upon using it a few days it has become my "grab and go" pallet for every day. It's completely wearable for my NC40 skintone and I wear every shade, just mixing and matching as I like. My favorite combinations are Violetta on the outer lid, Fez on the "v" and Nepal on the inner lid with Abyssinia on the duct and brow bone. Demon Lover (hate that name) can also be used in the "v" as well as Cordura for more dimension. Demon Lover is hard to pin down...it's sort of a grayish purple IME but it just gives depth to the eye and not really colour per se, which makes this a neutral for me. The shadows are well pigmented with a little more fallout than I would like, however the pigment makes this work none the less. NOTE: This shadows should be used with a proper primer. This will make a HUGE difference in whether the shadows last all day on me or not. Lesson learned here for me is that you can't always judge a pallet by its' colours! You have to TRY it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smalltimequeen on 4/2/2011 12:13:00 PM more reviews by smalltimequeen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I enjoy this palette - it does have some fantastic colours but... not a repurchase due to cracked shadows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Palettes products