Philip B. • Russian Amber Imperial Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.7(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 GirlOverboard on 12/3/2014 1:09:00 PM more reviews by GirlOverboard

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my goodness I hate this stuff.

My hair's waist-length, color treated, and VERY, VERY thick. Every hairdresser I've ever had comments on how much hair I have. Most sample-size shampoos don't get half my head clean, but I was so excited when I finally collected a few samples of this product and brought the little bottles into the shower with me to try what I was SURE was going to be the EPIC HOLY GRAIL OF ALL TIME hair product.

At first, I didn't know if the one I opened was a faulty sample or what, but this stuff? This stuff feels like glue. At very least I can say my hair is clean, because it took half a bottle of my normal shampoo to be able to get the sticky mess out of my hair. I hopefully opened the second sample bottle, ever the optimist, and it was the same way.

I guess a little does go a long way, because if you're like me, you'll feel as if you're lucky to have two hairs left on your head when you brush your hair next. The only way this could be "holy grail" for me is if it advertised, "Will scalp you so you grow all-new virgin hair!"

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cherry13 on 4/19/2014 5:50:00 AM more reviews by cherry13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I must say I was a bit disappointed with this product… The best thing about it is the divine smell and caramel consistency.
My hair is dyed and frizzy. This made my hair somewhat soft and shiny, but it didn't get rid of the frizz and I didn't feel like my hair was intensely moisturized like I would have expected. In fact, I recall having similar results with Schwarzkopf drugstore shampoos.
I would have expected more of it due to its high price tag. That being said, it lasted for a long time so if you have good results with the product, it's not that expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chachamusicgirl on 2/16/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by chachamusicgirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo has the best scent ever. You only need a little bit and as long as you rub your hands together you will get a lot of lather. This shampoo will clean your hair in a single lather and the scent which to me is reminiscent of caramel will last all day. I love to use this with Terax Crema. They leave your hair soft, tangle free and smelling like some kind of sweet dessert. My only complaint with this products is the packaging. It is an accident waiting to happen. The day I accidentally knock the tub over in the shower I think I will probably have heart attack and die.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anonyym on 4/26/2012 12:59:00 PM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm splitted. It smells AMAZING, and it's a great shampoo for my splitted ends, but it tend to make my thin hair look a little greasy. And it dosen't do enough for me to such a expensive price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lashjunkie on 1/15/2012 5:47:00 PM more reviews by lashjunkie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I purchased the small tub of this product and it lasted me a few months when I alternated it with other shampoos. It smells terrific, which is probably the best thing about it. As other reviewers have commented, it's texture is a thick paste, which isn't horrible, but it takes longer to shampoo my hair than when I use more traditional products. My fine hair looked good after using it, but honestly, my hair looks better using Oribe products, which seem cheap compared to this. I'm glad I tried it, and it's not a bad shampoo, but the results don't justify the steep price and I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AM9090 on 6/12/2011 9:52:00 AM more reviews by AM9090

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I thought about purchasing a small tub of Russian Amber at my local SpaceNK store. The sales assistant highly recommended it (of course) but told me that the tub would probably only last me for three shampoos. This concerned me somewhat as the price was £40 - which would have meant £13 per wash... Yikes. I was determined to give it a go and so I looked online and found a company offering the large tub at a discounted price and, if purchased, they would also send the 88ml tub for free. I gulped and placed my order... No doubt that this stuff is luxurious - and the small tub actually lasted me for about 25+ washes. My hair is very long, and very fine, with a slight wave. It makes my hair full, soft and shiny. Very easy to become addicted to it. It smells divine and provides a completely different hair washing experience from any other I have ever experienced (e.g. apart from the unusual toffee-like texture of the shampoo, once you have washed your hair it air dries incredibly quickly). Is it better than other shampoos? Not all - but better than most, I'd say - and its worth trying, just for the experience.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninaulrich on 3/24/2011 5:59:00 AM more reviews by ninaulrich

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Finally I got to try this super expensive, luxurious shampoo. I was expecting so much from this, since I LOVE Philip B products in general. I tried a small sample of this and the RA conditioner.
I started with a wash with the Peppermint & Avocado shampoo to clear my scalp, so I got loads of lather from RA, even though I used a tiny, tiny amount for my fine hair. It was a real pleasure to wash my hair with this super nourishing shampoo, and the smell is amazing. Once I towel dried my hair, I noticed it had a lot of body all of a sudden and it air dried straight and beautiful. With no use of any styling products or hair dryer I got amazing looking hair, full of body, texture, shine and softness. The hair that I want, so to speak! My hair has never been so conditioned and yet so full at the same time. For me, that is worth the crazy price tag.
Since I used such a tiny amount, my sample is still almost full. I am so gonna buy the large tub of this and the conditioner! I can see that a tub is inconvenient in a small shower like mine, and it would have been nice if it came in squeeze tube like the conditioner. BUT, this doesn't matter much since the results are so amazing.
I used it yesterday, and today my hair still looks really good, full and soft and healthy. I thought of only using this duo once a week, but honestly I can't wait to use it again! 5 lippies for a product I look forward to use this much.

UPDATE - FEB. 10TH 2012:
Still using and loving this and the conditioner. I'm not even halfway through my small tub, so I no longer think of it as insanely expensive. Paired it with the Katira masque today and got excellent results. I much prefer this combo as a weekly treatment instead of regular creamy masques, that tend to make my hair heavy and greasy. Russian Amber is a truly unique product and I will buy it again. Thank you Philip B!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theurbanaesthete on 2/7/2011 3:22:00 PM more reviews by theurbanaesthete

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Holy crap, this is gold in a tub.

I bought a small size tub ($40...can't remember how many ounces) and saw a major difference in my hair after only 1 use. My hair is color treated, has tons of grey (thanks for the early grey, mom!), and the ends are fried. This shampoo didn't give me new hair, but it certainly gave it more shine, luster and workability than any other shampoo I've tried. EVER. The smell is also wonderful-it drives my manfriend crazy.

I wouldn't pay $120, but for $40 this tiny tub should last about 2 months and it's worth every penny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mainlinediva on 5/12/2010 4:47:00 PM more reviews by mainlinediva

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I ordered this when it was on sale at Barney's, let me say that is the only reason why I purchased this, it was 1/2 off. I would never in my life pay $140 for shampoo. When I received this; I liked the smell of it so I was excited to try this but I hated how it comes in a big ol' tub which I was so cautious in the shower to try my hardest not to knock it over, honestly it's like liquid gold. It has this weird thick, pasty consistancy which didn't bother me, but honestly this did nothing for my hair, nothing at all. My hair I thought actually looked worst after using this and the Katira Mask, it seemed more frizzier or just lacking the luster I'm used to. I don't know, I def. don't think this is worth the money at all. Thank god I bought it through Barney's where I was lucky enough to be able to return this. If you are truly interested in this see if you can get a sample first!! BTW - my hair is baby fine but I have a ton of it.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mkmonty on 3/15/2010 3:52:00 PM more reviews by mkmonty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I became obsessed with Philip B's Russian Amber Imperial Shampoo after reading some of the MUA hair board comments on the product. It sounded like the fountain of youth for hair and I am embarrassed to admit that I bought into all of the hype. I have a thick head of naturally curly (3a), colored hair that is fine in texture. I am a hair product snob and I have found that I typically get what I pay for when it comes cosmetics and hair care products. So, to spend $140 for 12-oz. of shampoo, I was expecting perfection in a jar. Unfortunately, what I ended up getting was pouffy, dull, soft, (albeit great-smelling) hair. In hopes of salvaging my dignity, I used the shampoo 5 times and followed Philip B's directions to the letter but I still ended up with blah hair. This shampoo was such a waste of money and time.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philip B. products

More Shampoo products