Clinique • Acne Solutions Oil Control Cleansing Mask • Masks

rated 3.5(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 inezhor on 1/6/2015 1:55:00 AM more reviews by inezhor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG mask. For as long as i can remember, I have sensitive skin (and also eczema till 16 years old) and acne (have been seeing my derm since i was 11). This is one of the only masks that works for me. My pimples get smaller and all the gunk comes out after using the mask. Combined with my regular monthly facials, my skin has improved tremendously. I use this mask only once a week as I have other hydrating/ brightening masks to use and the combination of masks works for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pukkalicious on 1/2/2015 3:38:00 AM more reviews by Pukkalicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG face mask. I have tried all sorts, Dermalogica, Ormorovicza, Body Shop the list is endless but I always have this in my arsenal and use it once a week.

Initially you will find it does bring up spots up to the surface because it's drawing out the impurities in your skin (that's the idea of a mask) but with regular use it will calm and balance your skin, me sing break outs become less.

I use it every Sunday night and use facial scrubs twice during the week and it seems to be a routine that has stabilised my combination skin. I still get hormonal spots on my chin/under the skin but that's due to the amount of chocolate I eat before my period. I cut down on that and I hardly get any reaction to hormones,so it's obviously doing something right!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SuanWhite on 10/22/2014 6:36:00 AM more reviews by SuanWhite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this product. I didn't see any "oil-control" affect. If you regularly use this mask, at least 4 or 5 times you will see a little, little bit "oil-control". But what will happen if you forget it just 1 time? Your face will produce more oil than before. Idk if it's just me or not.
Give it 3 stars because at least I didn't break out. I have a combination, very sensitive skin. But will not purchase again, so waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jjquan on 9/7/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by jjquan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For some reason my face started to severely break out and I thought that I would give this product a try. I religiously used it every 2-3 nights and it helped clear up and tighten up my skin. I did not find that it dried out my skin, but I made sure to moisturize afterwards. I wouldn't say that it stopped all my skin eruptions, but I feel that it definitely helps keep them down to a minimal whenever it's not that time of month (nothing seems to help me then!). One thing that I did find about this product is if I go longer than 3 days without doing a mask, my skin erupts, so I don't know what it is in this mask that helps keep the skin clear. I have already repurchased this mask three times already and keep as part of my mask arsenal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jewel15iam on 8/6/2014 12:56:00 PM more reviews by Jewel15iam

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

For me, the whole clinique brand is way too drying and harsh on my skin. This mask was okay... It honestly didn't do much but make my skin dry. Bc it was dry, even though I moisturized it, it became even more oily. The outcome? Breakout. I wouldn't recommend wasting your money. If you want to try a new clay mask, try aztec healing clay.. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 leh529 on 8/1/2014 11:54:00 PM more reviews by leh529

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am wearing this mask as I type this review. I have used this mask several times since I have purchased it, but I just now rediscovered it in my collection. This mask makes my skin really soft. I don't think it does much to help with my blemishes as my skin does not respond to salicyclic acid. I use this after my boscia clear complexion cleanser and before the proactiv plus pore treatment. I feel that for a weekly mask it does help my skin. I may repurchase if I don't find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 6/18/2014 10:08:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Whoa, mama! This is one strong kaolin mask. And it contains 1% salicylic acid too. Using this, it reminded me of the old Deep Cleansing Emergency Mask that Clinique used to make years ago. Long story short, it's HARSH.
This mask made my skin irritated and red. It did help my acne by drying out my existing blemishes, but it also seemed to bring some stuff up to the surface and caused a couple of new breakouts. Overall I give this product two lippies instead of one because it does what it's supposed to, but it's just way too hardcore.
I don't even have particularly sensitive skin but I'll be steering clear of this in the future.
Won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nadiachengx on 5/31/2014 10:58:00 AM more reviews by nadiachengx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Honestly, a waste of $19. Not only did this mask not clear my skin, it caused acne development within half a week. Now i've got 7 zits on my forehead and 3 around my mouth. This was absolutely useless. Do not purchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunblockobsession on 2/4/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by sunblockobsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have early-onset rosacea (flushing, itchy papules that erupt in the center of my face when my skin is irritated) and hormonal acne. My monthly breakouts and general inflammation are tamed with a combination of birth control, Finacea, and Metrogel. Thanks to these products, my skin is clear and smooth 95% of the time.

The other 5% I spend trying to quell minor monthly breakouts. The reactive nature of my skin has driven me away from salicylic acid products and anything that could be remotely drying, such as a mask.

I bought this product on a whim, having had some past success with Clinique products, and I actually love it.

I think the problem a lot of people have when they buy masks is that they are expecting instant results. You can't put something on your face, leave it on for 5 minutes, wash it off, and expect to reveal clear skin. It doesn't work that way. Most acne products take months of regular use before the patient sees any benefit (it took 8 months before birth control completely cleared my skin).

This mask isn't going to wipe out your zits or red marks. What it will do, if it is suited to your skin type, is make your skin smoother and help heal any existing inflammation. It can be drying, so I only use it once a week, and I tend to only apply it only on problem/oily areas (chin, forehead, jawline). If I have a swollen papule or pustule, I will spot treat at night with this mask, moisturize, and wake up with less inflammation.

This mask doesn't cause flushing for me but others might find it irritating.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katiecat12 on 11/7/2013 4:26:00 PM more reviews by katiecat12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product creates more problems than it solves.
I was a devoted fan of Clinique's Deep Cleansing Emergency Mask. It was so effective at helping to keep my skin clear and pores clean, I stocked up on several tubes to have it on hand as long as possible. I finally ran out, and thought - Clinique couldn't have changed the formula that much with their Acne Solutions Mask...Probably just a little updating here and there....Ugh! Not the case! While my former favorite mask was good at both pulling up toxins from pores and drying breakouts, the Acne Solutions Oil Control Cleansing Mask is all about pulling stuff up to the surface but not drying anything out. So, you're left with clogged, and even bumpy looking skin that needs a good extraction session, and full on assault from acne drying products. Its a great way to get people to buy into the whole Clinique Acne Solutions line, as this mask will make you desperate to get your smooth healthy skin back.
Since everyone, young and old, seems to be struggling with some sort of acne these days, my guess is they changed the mask to cater to more of a combo/oily type of skin, rather than a real acne sufferer. Without the drying aspect, more people can use this mask without irritation. You know- People with normally perfect skin with the occasional breakout. If you are someone with frequent breakouts, or true oily skin, stay away! For now, I've ordered some pure bentonite clay to mix in with the "balancing" kaolin that this mask offers to help boost the oil absorbing and drying properties.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Masks products