Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Wash redness soothing cream cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.1(101 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 rukpong on 7/21/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by rukpong

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a so so cleanser. I use it in the morning.
I think Cetaphil is still better and I still see some clogged pores using this everyday.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Samm12 on 7/21/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Samm12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just used this product for the first time tonight haha . I have been using the regular redness soothing face wash but I felt like it wasn't helping anymore. My skin has been breaking out and it's very sensitive so I was scared to try it, but I decided to go for it. When I first rubbed it in to my skin it felt great, then around my mouth area it started to burn. I continued to wash my face until I couldn't take it, then washed it off. My face was almost a mixture of burning and cool at the same time, something very weird to me. After I used toner and moisturizer it was fine, I really hope it works and it will stop burning

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kalady on 7/20/2014 9:23:00 AM more reviews by Kalady

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: Contains AHAs and BHAs, feels cooling on the skin, large volume of product, great cream exfoliant
CONS: can irritate very sensitive skin if left on too long

This is a HG product for me. Ever since I got obsessed with skincare in middle school, I've scoured the internet for products that are equally as cheap as they are effective. This product here is honestly golden. However, its status lies not in its intended use.

Essentially, I've got the laziest skin on the planet, so exfoliation is something I cannot afford to skip. My philosophy on skincare is that it should be as simple and gentle as possible because in treating the skin effectively but non-abrasively, it can better balance and repair itself. Obviously, there is a bit of a contradiction here between exfoliation- which we generally think of as those little scratchy beads and harsh scrubs- and my philosophy. Chemical exfoliation is the answer. This process uses weak acids to slowly "eat away" the dead surface of the skin, leaving the face thoroughly refreshed but in a very gentle manner. The best ingredients for this are alpha- and beta-hydroxy acids.

Guess what product contains these? :)

To use, I wet my face with hot water to open my pores, then I work in a small amount of this product and rinse. Next, I apply a thick, even layer over my face (avoiding the eyes and mouth), and allow it to sit for a 5-10 minutes before rinsing it off. It keeps my skin lively and fresh. Apply sunscreen before going outside or do this at night as AHAs and BHAs increase your sensitivity to the sun.

In conclusion, this product is an integral part of my makeup routine. It's the only drugstore product I've found to contain the AHAs and BHAs I need to keep my skin happy. Way to go, Neutrogena.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mireille85 on 1/29/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by Mireille85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Loved it!! I seen improvements are 1 week.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 insidiator on 1/14/2014 8:43:00 PM more reviews by insidiator

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my favorite cleanser. This is a creamy cleanser with a very small amount of menthol which does not bother my skin. The texture is non-foaming and this contains panthenol, glycolic acid, and salicylic acid yet isn't drying for me at all.

This removes my sunscreen easily and lets my skin breathe without leaving a bad residue. My only complaint about this product would be the packaging as I prefer a pump or something more hygienic than a tube which can collect water in the cap if left in the shower.

In warmer weather I follow this with a toner to ensure that I removed all of the residue but in winter and dry months this is perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/2/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This burned my skin like no tomorrow. For a "redness reducing" product this is really the farthest thing from it. It's more like "redness inducing". Perhaps a typo on Neutrogena's part.

The minute I lathered this up on my face, it began to burn my skin. When I rinsed it off my skin was still burning and super red. When I bought it, I was in a rush, and missed the menthol listed almost near the end, which has always really made my skin react badly. Likely a tiny amount, yet so effective at irritating my skin. It's my fault for missing it but I do wish they would exclude highly irritating ingredients for something aimed at soothing skin. I found this left my skin very tight feeling, "pulled" like when you tie your hair up in a super tight ponytail, and overly dry when used day and night, or even once daily. The scent, as others have mentioned, is very strong and does linger on skin, hands, and whichever sink you used this in. I also noticed because of how thick it was, it seemed to leave a slight film on my skin even when used with a wash cloth, but really the burning sensation was the most off-putting thing and I can deal with a slight film if there were no other strong negatives.

I really think this could have been an awesome product with the glycolic acid and salicylic acid - but they had to ruin it with (for me anyways) menthol which my slightly sensitive skin just can't handle. If they would reformulate it to actually be soothing I'd consider repurchasing. . .but we all know that won't happen. Good product if you aren't sensitive to menthol though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 brijoelle on 8/16/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by brijoelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This cleanser smells horrid!!!!!! It did nothing other than burn my face. No thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarabelle789 on 8/16/2013 4:17:00 AM more reviews by sarabelle789

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE the smell & feel!

Definitely washes all the makeup & oil gunk up and out of my pores, but even more than that, the moisture it provides feels totally therapeutic to hormonal, stressed-out skin.

I haven't done a definitive test to see if it relieves any of my chin & forehead redness, (like I said, caused by hormones!) because I'll be honest. After I use this cleanser, my skin feels so cleared and healthy that I feel safe to put on a little foundation without being scared of a nasty-mean period zit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 gunzarelli on 3/17/2013 12:04:00 PM more reviews by gunzarelli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Oh my god. This stuff reeks. And I mean STINKS. It reminds me of the girls' bathroom in highschool, circa 1993. aka: Body Shop Dewberry. Ewwww- unless of course you were really into Dewberry.... It stuck to everything. My towel, my face cloth, my hair, my pyjamas, and it lingered on my face ALL DAY. It didn't smell a quarter as strong when I gave it a sniff in the store. So I suppose if you're sensitive to fragrance STOP RIGHT HERE.

In terms of functionality, I tried valiantly to use it for a full week in hopes of clearing out a stubborn breakout I had. Days one and two, actually saw a difference. Everything did look a little less red and irritated, and some bumps had definitely gone down in size. It felt nice to use, the menthol tingliness wasn't overpowering and made my face feel fresh. Fresh but STINKY. Day three, the creaminess of the cleanser started to catch up with me. Though the regular ol' breakout had definitely gone down noticeably, I had other problems popping up. One, my forehead was breaking out big time- and my forehead NEVER breaks out. Two, cystic jawline monsters! Owie. Three, milia around my eyes! No thank-you.

I feel like if I could tolerate that awful smell OR if there was an unscented version, it might work okay as a once a week/stubborn breakout treatment, as it did help with redness and pimpliness at first. Unfortunately that stank is not going to permit me to test this theory.

YUCK.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bink180 on 3/5/2013 11:05:00 PM more reviews by bink180

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so this is my third tube of this and I'm almost finished with it. I've used this for about 8 months.
It doesn't really seem to get rid of redness though I don't have much just around my nose and the sides of my mouth, its very similar to the Acne Stress Control cream cleanser, smells similar, works similar.
I would not buy this again because it doesn't even do as it claims, hasn't combatted acne nor reduce redness. Doesn't take off makeup well either. But I will say it didn't anger my skin either so I guess this is a so-so cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products