It Cosmetics • My Sculpted Face • Palettes

rated 4.4(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Ashthetician on 8/23/2014 8:23:00 PM more reviews by Ashthetician

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this on a trip to ULTA at the suggestion of one of the beauty advisors. I went looking for the Anastasia Contour and Highlight Kit but the woman spoke so highly of this product and how it was great for all skin shades. I got it home and started to play with it. It. Was. Terrible. There are zero undertones in any of the colors and they don't blend very well. The white matte and shimmer colors look ghostly and don't blend in either. By the time I blended everything out, I went from being a nice butternut color to looking like Casper's little sister. I will just continue using the products I've been using to contour and highlight. Some of the other beauty advisors at ULTA even said they hated it and to try either the Anastasia or Smashbox. I'm glad I kept my receipt because the outcome of that product on me was very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raychilll on 7/16/2014 2:17:00 AM more reviews by raychilll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was originally looking to buy the Anastasia Contour kit, but just happened to come across this one at Ulta. I've never been a fan of using bronzers for contouring, because the "shadows" we try to create are not naturally an orange-y tan color. They are more of a cool taupe color, which is why I always opted to use Wedge by mac with a blending brush for contouring, that is until now. The four contour shades are PERFECT shades for creating natural shadows that will last all day long. I use the matte white shade to set my under eye concealer & the more shimmery white shade to go over my cheekbone highlight (pairs beautifully with benefit's creme highlight, watt's up)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeccahH on 11/25/2012 4:47:00 PM more reviews by BeccahH

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The first I tried using this it was on HSN (2007). I really didn't understand the concept & Jamie hadn't explained it very well on the presentation. I tried contouring my nose & my friend said "what is on the end of your nose?" LOL, I sent it back! A couple years later, Jamie partnered with QVC & much improved her explanation of her products. That & along with some very easy to follow tutorials on YouTube & I had much better success. I still have this pallet in my makeup drawer & will pull it out to use on special occasions. You can't beat it for the selection of perfectly matte, slightly gray bronzers. Pass on the highlighters, though. There are much better options to highlight with. The pallet is a bit much for daily wear if you're in the fair range & definitely I won't use these shades to contour my nose, unless I have an excellent tan going. If you're fair, try using ELF's light beige $1 powder for the nose area, or EM's soft bronzer. These are perfect shades for fair tones. I'm still giving this 5 lippies, because it brought back contouring & led cosmetic companies to come out with a much better range of matte bronzers.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tamira on 3/22/2011 5:32:00 PM more reviews by Tamira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I LOVE this! And I bought it for half price on eBay! It REALLY contours beautifully and it looks professionally done with just minimal practice (or following the instructions included if you are clueless).



It blends beautifully and does NOT budge...and can be used under or over makeup and does not seem to irritate my skin at all! The colors would work on ANYONE except for the really pale and really dark (extremes). I am right in the middle - tan/golden/olive/yellow/warm and it works brilliantly for me.



I honestly wish I had trusted my instincts and bought this MONTHS ago - I will never be on stage or in a photo without it again (who doesn't want a smaller nose, to look thinner or sculpt their chin a bit...;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SusanMary on 1/16/2011 12:36:00 AM more reviews by SusanMary

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. I have been experimenting with sculpting and have never been able to get the right shades for my NC 15-20 skin. Either the light colors were not light enough or the contouring shades just looked dirty. That is not the case with these.

The whites are one shimmer and one matter. The shimmer is great in the inner eyes and tops of cheekbones. The matte is good on other parts of the face.

The browns are matte and can be used all over the face. I can actually do my who face with this palette - eyebrows, eye shadow, eyeliner, contouring, highlighting and lip color (powder applied over balm) for an understated yet elegant look.

The powders are very blendable and are waterproof. No break out problems and they seem to stay all day.

It is convenient and the best contour kit I have run across.

Update: December 2013. I still use this and it is still the best kit I have come across. I just wish it were refillable.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kohina on 10/8/2010 6:00:00 PM more reviews by kohina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was really excited to get this product because I've always had chipmunk cheeks and I wanted to slim my face down. I was sorely disappointed when I actually tried it though. I followed the instructions by finding the natural shadows on my face and used a mini blending brush (as suggested) but every single color that was suitable for contouring was like terra cotta. I also found that the highlighting shades were way too pigmented. Even after blending and blending I was left with white streaks. I don't know if I should be putting the contouring and highlighting shades on first and then blend it over with my foundation but the instructions weren't helpful in that department.


The instructions for contouring application were a little more helpful although the pictures were not (at least in my case). Like I said I bought this kit for cheek sculpting. And here is where the instruction book was the most confusing. I wasn't sure exactly how far up and where I should stop with the my cheek contouring because they used a pretty dark African American model for that section. You can notice a difference in her face (and she looks great) but you can't tell at ALL where they've applied the product to achieve the results. I love seeing diversity in the beauty world but when you're trying to figure out where exactly to apply a product it helps to be able to see where the product is. In every other demo pic you can clearly see where the product has been applied except for that one. Basically this kit has caused me nothing but frustration. I'm just lucky I got this as a free promotion because I honestly don't think this kit is worth more than $10 and apparently it's around $40. It's just easier to use a matte bronzer for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LisaRFlower on 11/23/2009 7:23:00 PM more reviews by LisaRFlower

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I started writing my review and realized I was writing the same things as the first 4 reviews. So, I will just say I completely agree with the reviews posted so far, including from the two top reviewers. This palette rocks and seriously makes a big difference. And I found a new product I will actually use every day that really makes a big difference. Cheers to that!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dinahout on 11/6/2009 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Dinahout

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am loving this contouring palette! My Sculpted Face really delivers. I couldn't believe how easy it would be to slim down and define my 45 year old face and slightly pudgy chin. The contouring shades all work on my light/medium olive toned skin and the highlighters are just right - not too white or not too shimmery. Works great with different blushes for a pop of color. Wears very well. I would definitely purchase again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GirlieGirl2U on 8/21/2009 8:48:00 PM more reviews by GirlieGirl2U

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

As the others have stated, this product is remarkable. Being an esthetician myself, it's hard to find a "sculpting" product that doesn't make the face look dirty. These colours are easily blended (or used alone) to sculp/contour the face. I use mine everyday,and have had so many people ask if I have lost weight!!! Now I recommend this to all my clients when they ask what I am using for their makeovers.

I would give this pallet 10 stars if I could.

Oh, their Bye Bye Concealer is the best!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these two products.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RavenBeauty on 8/20/2009 6:02:00 AM more reviews by RavenBeauty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Where did this company come from! This is the second product I have bought from them and once again an HG product all the way ("Bye Bye Under Eye" is absolutely incredible and now this)! I have always wanted that contoured face that I see so much in television, but try as I might, I could never really get that look. I've tried a few contour products over the years, but they always looked strange, severe or chalky. They would either be too obvious (no matter how I blended or what technique I used) or they would be too light and nondescript and do nothing. I also didn't like how they would make blemishes and stuff more obvious by pulling off your foundation. I gave up on the idea altogether until I saw this.



First off, they give you this really wonderful palette with all the shades you would ever need no matter what your skin tone. You get two highlighting shades of white and 4 other shades for contouring. I am so hard to color match because I am extremely pale with pink undertones, but I had no trouble here at all. I love love love the plastic sheet that slides on and off the mirror on the flip side of the palette as it actually shows you where the different shades go perfectly. It's worth the price for that alone! It shows you exactly where the white shades should go as well as the contour shades (it's kind of like contouring for dummies, which is what I needed when it comes to a process like this). In fact in the picture provided by the other reviewer, you can see the instructional sheet they give you of a woman's face with white and brown strokes and it's attached to the palette so you never need to remember where everything goes or fear you will make a mistake.



I contoured my face in five minutes and looked like I had lost ten pounds instantly! I could not get over the difference in my face! I got natural looking high cheekbones instead of what I normally get with blush and no more double chin (I have a small one that comes and goes depending on my weight that month, but it gets annoying at times)! My nose looked so perfectly sculpted and my face a work of art. I was very surprised at how natural this looked because again I am quite fair and things tend to really stand out on my skin. The shades are all kind of smooth and powdery (they are not creams or straight powders). They seem to be sort of in between, so you get that wonderful natural look and buildability. They go on smooth and look amazing. Best of all you can use this over your foundation or underneath it. I tried various looks and loved them all. I contoured under Napoleon Perdis's Camera Finish powder/foundation and it looked amazing. I also used this over my MUFE HD Foundation and under my finishing powder and that also looked incredible. Fabulous product that literally does it all (and the formula is so sheer and buildable that it didn't pull off my foundation or concealer the way the others did)! Very impressed!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More It Cosmetics products

More Palettes products