L'Oreal • Hip Color Chrome Eyeliner Violet Volt 965 • Eyeliner

rated 4.1(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Mariacortez on 8/12/2013 7:43:00 AM more reviews by Mariacortez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

As for me it seem to leek on the same hour or two that I apply the eyeliner I don't know what to do any more about eyeliner the seem to leak on me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PeaceLoveBooksMusic on 3/10/2013 1:45:00 PM more reviews by PeaceLoveBooksMusic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I admit I love this eyeliner and it stays on great, but it was hard for me to sharpen. I got mine at a sundry store and only paid $2 but I think they're about $10 normally. Overall good color, good staying, and great eyeliner

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BizzyBunny on 5/25/2012 9:14:00 PM more reviews by BizzyBunny

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

It started to just crumble. Wierd. Its pretty but the Milani liquif eyes are such a better produt than this. Will finish it but now need to use a brush to apply it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Magdalena on 5/25/2012 8:36:00 PM more reviews by Magdalena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Misleading name, indeed. Gave it away as it wasn't really violet, but black with a hint of purple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VioletBick on 11/14/2011 8:31:00 AM more reviews by VioletBick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the best product i purchased in a long time! Made my green eyes pop. I actually got lots of compliments on My eyes the night I wore it. Beautiful & wore like iron. Easy to apply but No smudges! Really impressed. Paid nearly $10 and feel it's totally worth it. Better than most dept. Store lines that charge double or triple this for crap. 2 thumbs up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sleepingbeauty617 on 4/13/2011 10:56:00 AM more reviews by sleepingbeauty617

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My relationship with this eyeliner is a strange one. I love it and hate it at the same time. I love the dark purple color, it glides on very easily, it stays on for the whole day and does not smudge. I use it after priming my eyes with my fabulous Urban Decay Primer Potion, of course, which helps to keep it on all day. The quality of this eyeliner is pretty good--better than most drugstore liners that I've tried. What I hate about this product is the packaging!!! It aggravates me that I have to sharpen it alllllll the time, and watch loads of unused product go into the trash before I get the perfect point. Plus, the tip is so smooth that if I sharpen it too much to the point where it becomes long, it will break off while I use it. It's a shame that L'oreal didn't do a better job with this liner. I really wish they could have packaged it some other way. I will probably buy this again because I love the color and because it stays for a long time, but if I find something similar with a different package, I will switch.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 qznds805 on 4/2/2011 8:24:00 PM more reviews by qznds805

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this eyeliner when Loreal was having a sale for buy one get one 50% off so it came out only $6 each. I really like the color--dark purple, almost black but not exactly black. It brightens my eyes and it's not as dramatic as black. it's very creamy so i had to keep sharpening it since it gets dull after one use. so if someone wants to draw a very fine line, then she will have to sharpen it a lot. it lasts for a few hours and it does flake off a little bit. I'd have to touch up a couple of times during my 12-hour shift at work if i want my eye make-up to look good and fresh. the overall quality is not bad for a drugstore brand product. I tried Urban decay rockstar at the Sephora store. it seems to have better quality and lasting power. So i think i'll order it next time even though i will still get the Loreal one coz it's only a fraction of the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 phan22 on 3/6/2011 4:49:00 AM more reviews by phan22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I THINK I've found my "recessionista" replacement for my Clinique Cream Shaper eyeliner in Starry Plum! Of course, Violet Volt is not an exact dupe, but it's close enough for me considering it's around $5 cheaper than the Clinique, and I can get it easily at drugstores. First, the formula of Violet Volt is a lot softer and smoother than the Starry Plum, which is good and bad. Good, because it glides on like butter with zero tugging, but bad because it needs more sharpening and the pencil will probably not last as long. The staying power is great and comparable to the Cream Shapers or, I've heard, the Urban Decay 24/7 pencils. Maybe if you rubbed your eyes hard at the end of the night, it MIGHT flake a bit but what eyeliner wouldn't? Second, the color: it's a much more blue-purple than the Starry Plum, which is more of a blackened plum with aubergine-ish shimmer. It's brighter, more purple, and more metallic compared to the Starry Plum. Based on pictures/swatches, it seems like Violet Volt is somewhere between UD 24/7 Ransom and Rockstar- it's not AS bright/electric as Ransom, but not as subdued/plum-y as the Rockstar. I still love Starry Plum- it's a great subtle purple/plum, but for now (and for the price), I'm happy with Violet Volt! (The silver and gold HIP chrome liners looked beautiful as well- I'll probably cave and try one of them in the future)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erodrig44 on 3/1/2011 5:19:00 AM more reviews by erodrig44

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A friend of mine who has a fashion blog recommended this in gold, but when I went to the store, I ended up buying this one..and it's my favorite eyeliner EVER. I've always liked the look of eyeliner, but never liked how black looked on me. I bought this in the fall and I'm halfway through the pencil but I have bought 2 more already. It glides on so smoothly with awesome pigmentation. I wear a lot of neutral browns and pinks, and this goes very well and looks great with my brown hair and brown eyes. Every few months I get a $2 off coupon off any loreal eye product in the mail (Red Plum) which makes this a great buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 star53 on 2/26/2011 9:27:00 PM more reviews by star53

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

TRY THIS if you want to do something new with your make up! I was scared that I wouldn't like it because I have only used dark brown and black liners. I was getting sick of my look and wanted to try something new, but didn't want to get another purple eye shadow. This was about $11, but for me it was sooo worth it. It is fun and new, doesn't look cheap, and shows just the right amount of a very pretty violet color. I have brown eyes and they really stand out with this liner, and a purplish gray eyeshadow. Like I said, if you want to try a new look, this is a great product to play around with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eyeliner products