Bobbi Brown • Forest Shimmer Ink Gel Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anera on 3/18/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Anera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'll compare this to my other gel liner, which is from MAC, Fluidline in Black.

I have been having the MAC Fluidline for more than 2 years. The BB Ink I've bought 3 months ago. I wear almost (97%) every day a thin to medium thick winged line.

PACKAGING: I feel like MAC's packaging is 'air-tighter' than the BB. COLOR SATURATION: When drawing the line along my lashline, I use more BB then MAC. MAC is more saturated with color, and I had been using it a couple of times till I made a dent, while BB I used only once when I got the 'same dent'. I need only 1-2 times to dip my brush in MAC for drawing the winged line, while I need to dip my brush 2-4 times in BB to get the same result. Especially when I want to get the wing. LONGEVITY: They last whole day. No complains. EYESHADOW: Both gel liners are nicely applied over an eyeshadow (powder), but I feel like MAC performs better.

There's no MAC store in my country, so, when I reach the bottom of MAC's Fluidline, I'll have to find a decent dupe, but it won't be BB's Ink. I'm not satisfied with this one, only because I haven't used it as much and already I have a huge dent.
Approx. I get 3 y use of MAC, and 1 y use of BB. But, that's a rough comparison, since black I use every day, and Forest Shimmer every fourth, fifth time (which is why I am disappointed of how much I have already used it up).

I would recommend, but I wouldn't repurchase it again.
The color is nice, especially for those with hazel eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cjlc49 on 12/4/2012 1:50:00 PM more reviews by cjlc49

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't decide if I want to keep this one: It's a pretty, neutral color for the office, I suppose - but it doesn't have enough pop.


0
Full Size Image


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katieqr0918 on 3/9/2011 1:55:00 PM more reviews by katieqr0918

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner! I have allergies and watery eyes and long wear eye liners are all I can get to stay on my eyes and Bobbi's stay on longer and better than anybody's.. The problem I have with Bobbi's is most of them look black on me regardless of the color. EXCEPT THIS ONE! Oh, how I love this color! It is the gel eyeliner equal of Clinique's Egyptian Cream Shaper pencil which is one of my two favorite eye liner colors of all time.... the perfect mix of deep olive, brown and gold with some shimmer... I can't believe it took me so long to try this color...I couldn't find it at a Bobbi Brown counter, but I could and did order it from her website. I am in love with this color! If you like Clinique Egyptian this is the perfect match.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sophia1105 on 11/8/2010 1:47:00 AM more reviews by Sophia1105

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

As with most other reviewers, this product flew beneath my radar. I picked it up over the summer on a whim, just out of boredom, and never gave it much love until recently I tried it and realized what a soft and lovely color this is. I have been trying to achieve a softer look with my liner, and gel's seem to retain a harshness I find unflattering. While I love her matte gels (Caviar, Espresso, Black, Black Plum, Granite, Sepia, and Indigo), they take on a rather dusty effect against my oily, ruddy complexion. Her shimmers, however, never look dried out, yet I was having a hard time finding a shade that had enough depth and was interesting. Forest Shimmer fits the bill perfectly. It's not as dull as I found chocolate shimmer to be, yet defined more so than her Black Mauve and Bronze, both of which are lovely but really only work as a *thick* cat-eye. This Forest Shimmer is really lovely. Nothing I'd consider over-the-top, and perfect for daytime without running into a boring, muted brown, this livens up your eyes. Appears like a blackened ivy green, not too cool or warm, certtainly not bright. I do have to down-play the rest of my MU colors though when wearing this, as it does add a slight hint of color and I prefer a standard, clean, black e/l, mauve blush & l/s look. She really knocks it out of the park with her color choices. Would absolutely repurchase.

Edit: Bumping down to a 4, seems to be a bit drier than my other shimmers and harder to work with. Also flakes and fades during the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aikelly on 10/26/2010 5:44:00 PM more reviews by aikelly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This product is great.
For the passed 2 years, i've been fearful of spending alot of money an expensive eyeliner, and never thought it was worth it! but about a month and half ago, i was at the mall, and as i was walking through nordstrom, and just took a glance at one of the mirrors as i was walking by, and my eyeliner was running down my face. I had it! i sat down and tried on a million different eyeliners. I bought this one for $22. I thought i was crazy for spending that much on an eyeliner that would last me a week and then i would need a new one! NO, this has lasted me a month and a half so far and im not even halfway done with it. This doesnt run AT ALL. it's definitely longwear and the color is a nice color because it's noticable but the hint of green really accentuates green eyes especially. I will be buying this product again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paula3boys on 8/3/2010 12:42:00 PM more reviews by paula3boys

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I missed this item- as in I never knew it was out there till walking thru Nordies the other day. I stopped to look and found this. I love all of the shimmer liners so I had to try it. I asked to have it put on and it reminded my of Clinique Egyptian so I got it. I have Egyptian in pencil form and had tried it in Clinique's pot form, but I didn't like how it seemed clumpy to me so I got rid of it. This one is what I had hoped the pot form of Egyptian would be. I am so glad this came out. BB has my favorite gel eyeliners!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 7/8/2010 4:35:00 AM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

How did I not review this shortly after getting it??
I thought that this liner was limited edition, but I got a really nice email after writing this review letting me know that it's actually permanent. Great news, because this is a gorgeous eyeliner!



This was actually my first Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner. I'd been curious about the product before, but I guess I needed a really great color to take the plunge. There is so much to love here. You can apply this in a careful precise way for a really smooth and perfectly shaped line (I like to go for a fairly thin line with a little wing just to make it a bit retro and fun). Once it dries, your line won't smudge or wear off through the day. It's there until you wash it off. However, if you want to, you can also use this in a smudgy line, or as part of a smoky eye, blending it out. It blends smoothly and you've got plenty of time to work with the product to get it how you want it. But again, once it's set, it's staying there. I have actually used it as a cream eyeshadow, to create a smoky eye, both with and without a powder eyeshadow on top, and again, it works great. It's one of these fantastic products where there is no wrong way to use it. Despite having great staying power, it's not a pain to take off in the evening. The gel texture is easy to work with, and it's not too fussy even for people who aren't that good with eyeliner yet.
I don't know if I can judge all of Bobbi Brown's gel eyeliners by this one, but if I could, then they're great little jars of prettiness!



The color of this eyeliner is just lovely. It's a dark gray/green tone with subtle shimmer, I think gold, but it's not noticeably gold when you're wearing it. It's a complex color without being a loud one. It's great because it doesn't have the stark harshness that black can have, so it's actually very wearable. You can play up the color or play it down depending on what other colors you combine it with. It looks great with my skin and eye colors (Bobbi Brown porcelain, or MAC NW15-20ish, fairly neutral to cool toned and pale; blue/green/gray eyes that pull different colors depending on light and what I'm wearing etc.) but I think that this would look great on a lot of complexions - warmer than mine as well as quite a bit darker, or people with olive tones.



My only worry is that the product will dry out. I would really like to enjoy this for many years to come ... I'd love to actually get to use all of it, but I know that's unlikely to happen. I've been keeping the lid on tight, and I even put the lid on it so that it's not exposed while I use the product. If that seems silly, oh well. I want it to last as long as possible!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Herbssss on 5/31/2010 11:30:00 PM more reviews by Herbssss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like the color, but as time goes on (I have had this for about 6 months) I find that it is harder to apply; it seems as if the glitter/shimmery things causes little clumps. This hasn't happened with my other (non-shimmer) BB gel eyeliners, which I have had for a longer time, and I store them upside-down which is supposed to prevent them from drying out. I'm trying to use it all up ASAP before it gets worse, and I won't purchase the shimmer inks in the future. Pretty daytime color though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VioletBick on 3/27/2010 9:00:00 AM more reviews by VioletBick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Gorgeous!! Makes my green eyes pop. Natural enough for daytime yet applied with a heavier hand at night makes my eyes defined but does not look harsh like my eyes do w/ black. A must have for green & hazel eyed gals!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MelanieNYC on 2/6/2010 2:14:00 AM more reviews by MelanieNYC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

WOW!!! What a beautiful color that really brings out the green in my green/hazel eyes! I previously bought BB gel eyeliner in Black Ink but I hadn't worn it for over a year. About a month ago, I dug it out of my train case and put it on before work. It looked great! I have no idea why I waited so long to use it again. Anyway, it inspired me to look into some of the other colors. That night I went crazy and ordered 5 of these gel liners and also got 1 free on BB website as a GWP so I have 7 of these little guys in all! ( Yes, I am a makeup addict:)
Out of all the ones I ordered (Granite Shimmer, Violet Shimmer Ink, Expresso, (GWP)-Cobalt, Black Ink and one more I can't think of the name right now) I LOVE this one the best! (ALTHOUGH ALL THE COLORS WORKED OUT FANTASTIC-even the COBALT which I had my doubts about which was a wonderful surprise).
Forest Shimmer Ink is just such a multifaceted color that looks so pretty and polished. I think it actually made my eyes sparkle a bit! I was wearing it paired with my LORAC eye shadows, but I discovered from my friends here at MAU a wonderful drug store eyeshadow- Cover girl Shimmering Sands Trio- a great taupe collection- and it just looks so amazing together! The whole look took me less than 5 minutes to apply and required no touch ups for the entire day! I never would have thought to buy Cover Girl if not for MA). Anyway, I think BB gel liners go on the best (inlcuding out of Laura Mercier smudge brush and BB fine eyeliner) when I use my STILA double ended Smudge Pot brush, which includes a fine eyeliner brush and a smudger brush. I have only used the fine point brush side so far to put on these gel liners but I may try the smudge side soon.
I have had so much fun trying out new looks using eyeshadows I never used but got as GWP and pairing them with my new BB gel liners. Try these- you won't be disappointed! (Also my black ink gel liner was just as creamy as when I first bought it over a year ago.I just made sure I closed it extremely tightly whenever I put it away).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Eyeliner products