John Frieda • Brilliant Brunette Liquid Shine Illuminating Shampoo & Conditioner • Hair

rated 4.2(31 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 12/22/2013 8:25:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used this when I stayed at my sister's house. I have fine, oily scalp, dry end hair which I have to wash most days. Although this combo made my hair look totally gorgeous after blow-drying (body, shine, no dry ends or flyaways in sight - and all without product!) it also left build-up in my hair. The conditioner contains the dreaded dimethicone. I am on the fence about buying this duo for myself - if it's on special offer I probably will but only for special nights out and using a clarifying shampoo the next day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rimmy1 on 10/17/2012 10:18:00 AM more reviews by Rimmy1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Wowwww wow wow! My hair was naturally dry,dull & ashy, I haven't colored my hair in 2 yrs and didn't want to start now. So Happy I bought this product because now my hair shines and looks as if I just had my hair treated. Thus far I have only used the shampoo cause I wanted to test it out first and now I will be going back for the conditioner, money well spent! So ladies if you're looking to liven up your dull hair I highly reccomend this, there's nothing else @ this price for what it does.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Donnz on 8/9/2012 10:44:00 PM more reviews by Donnz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Just simply awful. I was hoping for beautiful waves of glossy brunette hair cascading down my back after shelling out NZ $50 on the shampoo and conditioner. It was not to be. Even after following the instructions explicitly and trialing them desperately, the shampoo burns my scalp turning it into a big mess of itch and the conditioner somehow manages to make the roots of my hair drier with a mass of flyaways and the end are a horrible greasy mess. Also I found my hair starting to break off. I was completely horrified. Never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cathunter4 on 3/13/2012 9:27:00 AM more reviews by cathunter4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I received this as a sample in the mail and just tried it and it is AMAZING! I equally liked both the shampoo and conditioner. They both looking a little shimmery when coming out of the package and the smell was great. I only had to use a little bit of shampoo on my shoulder length hair and it went a long way and it seemed to get my hair really clean. I applied the conditioner all over my hair and left it on for a few minutes to soak in. My hair felt incredibly soft when rinsing out and after my shower. My hair was even shiny when still wet before drying it. Now I have naturally curly/wavy hair and it tends to frizz a lot and I like to straighten it a lot during the week. My blowout was so smooth and soooo shiny. I didn't even have to flat iron my hair that much afterwards to get it straight. And my hair then stayed straight, smooth and incredibly shiny all day and was even great the next day for second day hair. I would recommend this to anyone. The price seems a little high but you can find this on sale at your local drugstore often. I think that the price is worth it because your are getting great products and not salon prices. I have dark brown hair with light blond chunks that can tend to be dry or frizzy looking because of the bleaching. These products smoothed out the blond chunks and made them look healthy again. LOVE THESE and will be buying again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katarina8 on 2/11/2012 2:46:00 PM more reviews by katarina8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I real soooo many good reviews about this and I wanted to love it sooooo much but when I wash my hair it dries the part where I put it on so much! It's hard to explain but when I come out of the shower and brush my hair, I feel as though my scalp got so dry that I cant even run a brush through it...I'm also noticing shedding so I just dont undersatnd how so many people like this, is it only me? I also notice it makes my hair near my scalp (where i use it) very dry and its obvious that its dry during the day..... i wanted to love it but im gona use it only when im out of my other shampoos..ugh disappoing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CookieMonster222 on 11/23/2011 9:55:00 AM more reviews by CookieMonster222

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought these on offer and I love them. My hair had become so frizzy everytime I washed it. Particularly if I blow-dried it. But not anymore! They are a little pricey if you're on a tight budget, but as the saying goes, 'a little goes a long way'. If you make sure to use only a small amount they can last for at least a couple of months. Thanks to these lovely items my hair now is no longer frizzy, but instead looking healthy, soft and shiny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ribena76 on 11/16/2011 7:53:00 AM more reviews by Ribena76

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the shampoo and conditioner along with the Liquid Shine gloss/serum on a 3 for 10 offer as I wouldn't as happily part with my money to buy them otherwise.
I originally bought these as I was sick of how frizzy my hair became since using hair dyes. Blow drying my hair was a definite NO, as it only seemed to make the frizziness worse! I had bought John Frieda Brilliant Brunette shampoo and conditioner before and they lasted me months, (you only need a small amount each time) so I knew these would last me a while.
I admittedly was a bit sceptical as to whether these would work but having used all three each time I wash my hair, I wouldn't be lying by saying they actually do make a difference. My hair once again looks shiny and frizz-free :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Glumbumble on 10/23/2011 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Glumbumble

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got the shampoo on sale, which made it reasonably priced. But it's over priced for the size of container normally. I also find that the packaging isn't that great because when I leave it in the shower water collects in the cap and when I go to open it a bunch of water falls out.

I have naturally thick, dark auburn hair that's decently shiny in its current short cut. This shampoo hasn't done anything to make it more shiny, I don't know what these other reviewers are talking about. I guess it depends on your hair type, but I definitely won't be buying this line of products again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elph on 10/13/2011 2:30:00 PM more reviews by elph

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use the conditioner and it's my go-to for when I'm getting ready to go somewhere. It's got olive oil and mica in it which reflects light and gives my single-process hair extra dimension (or at least the illusion of it). It's the same theory behind multi-dimensional Feria colors, only without the weird neon undertones. I don't use this everyday - I find I needed a deeper conditioning treatment at least once a week, and also the Liquid Shine conditioner can cause buildup - but I always keep this one stocked. It's not just brunettes who can use this product by the way. Any hair color can get a dose of shine from this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 claudia1408 on 8/17/2011 7:41:00 AM more reviews by claudia1408

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love these products!! They made my hair feel so silky soft which was actually amazing considering my hair is very frizzy at the best of times. My hair was also very shiny and my friends co+mented on how shiny it looked! It leaves my hair smelling great as well which was an added bonus. Definitely getting these again!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair products