Organix • Vanilla Silk Serum • Hair

rated 3.4(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsKelCeeEee on 12/31/2012 1:33:00 PM more reviews by itsKelCeeEee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This serum is the bomb dot com.


I find it hilarious that it has such low reviews, but I feel bad for the product's rep because the main ones reviewing it are people whose hair was not ideal for this serum. I'm talking to you, fine haired, straight haired ladies (and gents?). Now my hair is the furthest from fine and the furthest from straight that there is, so this stuff is perfect. I use it before a blow dry and then use a little more before I flat iron, brushing it through my hair with my denman and working section by section. It smells wonderful, it leaves my hair feeling silky smooth, helps detangle, and adds shine while legit holding down the frizz. It has me whipping my hair back and forth like I'm in a loreal commercial.


This serum is cheap, at $5.99 before tax, and you don't need much (I have never been able to get away with "dime sized" amounts of any product in my life until this) so it lasts a while. I highly recommend it for my fellow curly-kinky, thick haired ladies, but for those with finer hair textures, I'd advise you to pass on this because it really can weigh hair down. It is my favorite serum of all time though, and I definitely plan on repurchasing.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lulu94 on 10/25/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by lulu94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This smells yummy and does make the hair soft. But I think it's just too much for my fine hair. I need more of a "mist" type of oil/serum I guess. Even used just on the ends, it is a little heavy for finer hair. But I think it would be great if you have super thick or porous ends.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 waRney on 7/6/2012 10:15:00 AM more reviews by waRney

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I bought this serum only because it is organic and is sulfate/paraben free. I use it religiously whenever I straighten my hair, and it does a good job in making my hair smooth ! I just wish this serum protects my hair from heat styling tools though. But nonetheless, it's great! :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jse23 on 7/3/2012 10:33:00 PM more reviews by jse23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was very sticky and did not do much for frizz or smoothing. It did smell yummy but there are better drugstore products. I think I will try the Coconut serum from this brand next.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lynowens on 3/31/2012 10:54:00 PM more reviews by lynowens

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

to be honest, i had high hopes for this product - i mean it's vanilla silk! the name of it is like screaming 'nourishing every strand, giving soft silky hair' For the product itself, i'd rate it a 7/10. It's not the best, but then again, it did help a little for my damaged ends. on the ultimate plus side, the packaging allows you to 'lock' the pump - handy for travelling. Plus it's smells really good! i usually apply it after washing up at night, when the hair is slightly damp. and when i wake up the next morning, i have this lingering vanilla scent in my hair. the scent is definitely the selling point ;) I wouldn't repurchase this though, because I could get like coconut oil which is 10 times cheaper, but works 10 times better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MamaRobs on 12/30/2010 4:14:00 AM more reviews by MamaRobs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this product for a year now and I am loving it! It took a few tries to get the timing and amount of product I need just right, but once I did it was SO worth it!
I used to keep my hair up all day every day in an elastic and that in combination with a hormonal imbalance led to very weak, dry, broken hair. You could see a line of breakage where I wore the elastics. Once I noticed I stopped wearing my hair in elastics all the time and looked for something to help repair it. I chose this product because it smelled fantastic and had a rebate available. I'm very glad I did choose it.
Within a month of use I was getting comments from my family that my hair looked better and healthier. I have never felt my hair softer than when this product is in it! On days when I don't wear it my hair is still noticeably softer, but not as soft.
My hair is long, close to mid-back and I use a pump and a half when my hair is about 1/2 way dry. I always always always air dry my hair, and I wonder if this product doesn't work best that way. Since I mastered the amount I need in my hair I have had no problems with it looking greasy and there's no buildup.
This is a terrific product. I will definitely be keeping this around!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jelxxx on 6/3/2010 3:37:00 AM more reviews by jelxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My mom gave me this because she got it for free but didn't need it. I love it. It smells nice, but the best part is how shiny and healthy my hair looks when I use it. I have very damaged hair due to bleaching, but now I'm trying to give it a little TLC by not dying it anymore or using much heated styling tools. That being said, styling products are a must for me if I want my hair to appear put-together. Who likes frizz? I don't, and this gets rid of it pretty well. It also doesn't break me out, which is vital.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lennongirl16 on 5/23/2010 1:01:00 AM more reviews by lennongirl16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I do not think people know how to use these serums correctly. I have used the coconut milk an the vanilla silk, the vanilla being my favorite. It is best if you do have atlesat medium thickness to your hair. Your hair needs to be more than damp (though not soaking when you apply this) i used 3-4 pumps for hair that is thick and just past my shoulder blades. You never should apply it past the bottom of your ears, otherwise it will look too greasy. Then it needs to be spread evently through out and then combed through a couple times while you let it air dry (which makes my thick, coarse hair look like it was blown out, all soft and frizz free) the smell is very strong and people around you often think they smell cupcakes, it thinks its decadent and very effective if used correctly. Also, if you twist your hair while its wet it dries even more nicely with this product

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wiseowl on 2/26/2010 3:17:00 PM more reviews by wiseowl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Have to agree with akathisia's comment that Organix's strength is their fragrance, rather than performance. I'd say invest in a bottle of sweet almond oil, which is cheaper, lasts longer, and has loads of different uses to it, than in this stuff. Did not help my hair, which was dry, frizzy, and battered from the winter. Didn't make my hair greasy because I have a very, very full head of hair, so a pump of this distributed throughout all my hair is really spread out. But, could easily see it being greasy on other women's hair. Will say this for it, it does work as a mild detangler and does have a very nice scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimorris on 9/8/2009 3:00:00 AM more reviews by kimorris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have to agree with much of the review below except that this has put me off Organix as I bought a conditioner with this too and was quite unimpressed. This serum was highly fragranced and didn't do anything to make my hair smoother, less frizzy, or easier to manage. It just sat on top of my hair making it look oily rather giving it a healthy shine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Organix products

More Hair products