MAC • Media lipstick • Lipstick

rated 4.4(69 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 emolina on 1/27/2015 9:04:00 PM more reviews by emolina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick would be perfect if it wasn't for the problems I had with the formula! I usually love MAC satin finishes, but this one is simply too patchy and applies too unevenly on the lips. The color is gorgeous and my ideal fall/winter shade, but I can't make it work due to patchiness. I recommend the slightly darker matte shade Living Legend if you can get your hands on it- it has even coverage and has a great wear time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuzanneDee on 12/26/2014 10:52:00 AM more reviews by SuzanneDee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Media is wonderful if you're trying to go Oxblood on your lips. The colour is a darkened, blackened red with a slight purple tinge. It's redder than Mac Cyber and darker than Mac Diva. It's really a lovely colour if your like darker shades but are scared of looking like an 80s vampire.
The trouble is with the formula. It took three layers for it to look completely opaque on me. And while it was dry but still comfortable (I have soldiered on through 2 tubes of Ruby Woo, after all!), Media settled into my lip creases quickly. That's a particularly terrible look for dark colours. Within 30 minutes I had berry coloured vertical streaks on my lips.
Also, the lipstick never quite got along with my whole lip - It stayed true along the edges but faded quickly from the centre, leaving me with de facto ombre lips that I didn't want.
I'm going to try Revlon Black Cherry and hope for better results. That's a pity, I really wanted this to work!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hmgpns on 12/18/2014 5:01:00 PM more reviews by hmgpns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Really lovely intense red/purple colour that lasts really well. Unfortunately I find that if my lips are at all dry then it looks less than great. It's also better when applied on top of a lip pencil such as MAC Currant or Barry M #7. It helps having a steady hand when applying, but it delivers a really sharp look that's totally worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CeleyG on 11/28/2014 3:23:00 AM more reviews by CeleyG

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, LOVE this lipstick I absolutely adore it! It is a bit hard to put on as darker lipsticks will be harder to apply so I recommend using MAC Lipliner in the shade Currant first by lining and filling in the lips with it then applying Media on top as it gives a flawless finish and if you mess up a bit using a concealer and concealer brush lightly apply it to the area but overall gorgeous color for Fall and Winter one of my favorites

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dobravka on 11/11/2014 11:46:00 PM more reviews by dobravka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really really want to like this lipstick, but I find it just too troublesome. It's definitely not a colour you can apply straight from the tube (unless you're a lot more skilled with your make-up than me). Although even when I apply it with a brush I find that ends up looking uneven and clumping together. I really wanted to find a deep berry statement lipstick, but I don't think this works for me at all... Will be trying Diva instead

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cammmi on 10/27/2014 2:23:00 PM more reviews by Cammmi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Edit: I LOVE it under an orangey liptick, I use Brink from Illamasqua. Creates this amazing marsala-ish lippy!
Perfect berry plummy lips! I LOVE to wear it as a stain with clear lipglass on top. This what I wanted Rebel ls to like on me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nancycuellar on 10/11/2014 11:16:00 AM more reviews by nancycuellar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first purchase from MAC! And I'm super excited, I wanted a dark vampy color, and when I walked into the store I was going to buy Sin, but I didn't like it. I found media and it was the exact color I had been looking for. I also bought their lip liner in "vino" which works great with it. It wears off evenly and is not drying at all. And this is my first review!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rayellaxo on 8/28/2014 5:38:00 AM more reviews by Rayellaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's okay but comes off easily and fades to look like you have bloody beat up lips if you don't touch up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* payjark on 8/4/2014 2:13:00 AM more reviews by payjark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am starting to buy my "perfect fall/winter makeup essentials" and on the top of my list is some nice vampy lip colors. I've been more into purple/wine toned shades rather than oxblood/reddish shades. I went to the MAC counter ORIGINALLY wanting Cyber and Rebel, but neither of them looked very flattering on me. Cyber, a very dark purple/black shade that looked too gothic on me and Rebel wasn't dark enough. In the middle of that spectrum is Media, a beautiful plum/purple based burgundy shade. The lipstick is a satin finish, so it isn't drying. It is now one of my favorite MAC lipstick shades and if I run out, I will repurchase. I wore this shade a few days ago while out shopping and I got several compliments on it. I am not sure which lipliner to pair this with, so that will the next thing on my list to find.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 2/15/2014 1:35:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAC Media is definitely a sexy lipstick. It's a deep matte burgundy/wine shade that fades to a sort of plum color. It's a satin, so the pigmentation & texture is fabulous. This isn't for the faint of heart. It's definitely a bold color but one that I can see working on many skin tones, from fair to tan. Perfect for a night out paired with a nude eye & a couple coats of mascara. Definitely a winner in my collection!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products