Maybelline Color Sensational ~ Red Revival

4.2

95 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/10/2015 11:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've literally had this lipstick for like 3 years now. And I don't mean the shade I mean the actual tube itself. Why, you ask? Well its not because its regenerating after each use but because the only way I can use this lipstick is to dab it on my lips and blend it in with my finger.

Yeah, for some reason when I put this on with a firm hand, it dries my lips out and the product gets tacky. Its actually a really hideous effect. But that may just be my mouth.

However, when I do just apply it gently almost like a matte stain, its really beautiful and works very well with my copper/red hair and fair skin (and for my fellow redheads, you know how taxing it can be to find an appropriate red)

More over, the shade is very near to a "true red" not leaning too heavily on either orange (warm) or blue (cool) tones. Although I will say it fades very pink so I think its a cool red and for me that works well.


Anyways, this is the best red lipstick I've found at the supermarket and I don't think its that unreasonably priced (tbh, I can't remember)



on 3/17/2015 4:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I recently became brave enough to try red lipstick. I have a very fair complexion and love wearing lipstick, and I decided I was ready to rock bright red lips. I'd heard good things about the Maybelline shade Red Revolution, but when I looked at it in the drugstore I thought it seemed too pink and went with the darker Red Revival. This lipstick is great, it stays on well and does not flake off. When I wear it out at night it stays put with only minor touch ups needed. Overall a great lipstick, especially for the price. The only reason I wouldn't buy it again is because I've recently fallen in love with MAC lipsticks and want to buy either Russian Red or Ruby Woo as my next red lipstick.


on 11/13/2014 4:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I can't believe I haven't written a review for this lipstick yet!

Red Revival has been my favourite red for years! I wear it all the time!
I wear it to school, to the mall, to parties, to nights out and pretty much everywhere.
It lasts forever and barely fades even after meals. Its very creamy and doesn't dry out my lips.

I'm asian with cool undertones to my skin, and this comes out as a rich, sultry blue-based red on my lips.

For cool-toned asian ladies out there. If you're looking for a nice red lipstick, I'd recommend giving this a try!


on 11/11/2014 12:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

my mom gave me a tube of this stuff. i love my mom for many, many reasons. she is a classic beauty who wears a red lipstick like noneother. i have such problems finding a good red, but this is just gorgeous on me. i'm like a nc15 and even some of those "ultra pale" bb creams look too dark on me.

it's a bit of a real red with a tiny bit of cherry. it does NOT turn into a fuschia on me, at least. i'm not sure how this happens to people. it's definitely got a very, very slight cool tone. it's barely enough to notice on me at least.

it also seems to function as a dupe for many, many high end lipsticks! google for "red revival" and "dupes" and you'll find a few. i think chanel dragon is the main dupe (which, if it is, what a deal!)


wear a liner with this, and apply with a lip brush if you need to. it's quite creamy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2014 11:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Good price, great pigmentation, not to bright/dark, and nice packaging.

My favorite red in my collection. Very dramatic. The photos make it look brighter than it should, it's kind of similar to YouTube dark red, but that may just be because my skin tone.


on 7/6/2014 11:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My last red shade was discontinued by Maybelline and I hate buying red lipstick because it never fits my olive skin tone. My sister-in-law had on this gorgeous shade of red few weeks ago and we are similar in skin color so I asked her what she was wearing. She said Maybelline Red Revival #645. I promptly went to CVS to buy it right away and I love it. It's such a great shade of red that I honestly think could work for most skin tones. I find it a bit bright for work so I mute it down with some Nars orgasm blush beforehand. Otherwise- I wore this several times and often times I can skip my eye makeup because this color is so striking. It's a really lovely shade. I recommend it!


on 4/16/2014 4:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this shade on my 3rd tube it's not to dark not to bright on my nc30 skin
If Marilyn Monroe was alive to day she would ware it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2014 9:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I actually only purchased this lipstick for a themed party, it was cheap and and the only pure red lipstick i could find at the time. Colour is lovely, but application was frustrating. The lipstick runs if you apply it in a hurry and hard to apply with precision around the cupids bow area without a lip brush and lip liner. As I usually apply this on the run, i usually end up with uneven lips when applying this from the tube.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2014 1:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This red is the perfect compliment to my green eyes. It is very pigmented and for the most part has really good staying power which is good for me since in between classes I am drinking coffee like it's going out of style. I find that it's perfect for application with either the bullet or a small lip brush. I also think it's just all in all a good brand I love Maybelline's lipsticks. And, generally have good luck with most of their products


Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

absolutely gorgeous red lipstick which is dramatic and easy to apply. A real favorite when i want to attract attention


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
205 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top