De La Cruz 10% Sulfur Ointment

4.2

55 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

10% sulfur and a mix of polyethylene glycols


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this product. I am 15, and I break out a lot, usually in my forehead. This ointment really helped me get rid of those pimples really fast. I apply it only to my pimple I don't use it as a mask... Although now I want to try it. What I do is I use my Up & Up facial scrub to cleanse my face (Which I totally recommend) and I just dab it on. Sometimes I leave it on over night. The smell isn't that bad, I kinda got used to it already. I would REALLY recommend this product, the price is good I bought it at Walmart for about $1-2 I believe.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/28/2015 5:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am 20 years old and I suffer from acne. I have had acne for five years now and nothing has seem to work. I tried as many products as I could until I ran into this. I used it for about a year and my skin was healthy and acne, blemish free! This product reduces the pimples over night and I can almost say that it evens skin tone. I do not know why I stopped using it and my skin is now breaking out. My face has never been this bad. I began to start using it again along with the Ponds clarant B3 and the Neutrogena rapid clear daily scrub and I have to say that it is working miracles. I wash my face in the shower with the Neutrogena Rapid clear scrub and after I get out I air dry. I strongly believe that air drying reduces the chances of hurting the skin. After my face dries I apply Ponds Clarant B3 and let it sit for a while. This helps my face from over drying because the ointment can dry the skin even more. After a minute or two I apply the Sulfur Ointment 10% by De La Cruz. Unlike most other users I leave it over night. Yes it is a sticky yellow substance but I do not mind. As long as it gets rid of my acne I do not care. These products may dry the skin at first but after some time they wont. I highly recommend this products. Good luck!!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 12:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This sticky, stinky stuff did absolutely nothing for me.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Absolutely love this stuff! This is a MUST for people with stubborn cystic-type adult acne, hormonal acne or rosacea. It not only clears your acne, but it also evens your skin tone and has a whitening effect if you have fair skin that is ruddy or blotchy. Also great for resurfacing your skin and fading old blemishes. DOES WONDERS in conjunction with sulfur soap too! I use the sulfur ointment as a facial mask a few times a week. After washing my face, I run a tablespoon or so of the ointment all over my skin, then steam my face with a humidifier to open my pores for about 2 or 3 minutes, maybe 5 minutes at the most. I massage the ointment around areas where I get blackheads (sulfur is a wonderful exfoliant.) I will also use it when I am hanging around at home as a spot treatment for the occasional breakout. I have suffered from acne for 10 years and never found anything as effective as De La Cruz! The smell is also not very overpowering, but it's certainly something you don't want to wear outside the house!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2015 9:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff works. I've been suffering from cystic acne for years and finally found something that gets rid of it. Better that prescription medications, this over the counter and inexpensive cream has cured my acne and skin issues (including rosacea). WHAT A GIFT!
This product does have a bit of a greasy feeling but sinks into your skin. I use it as a mask and take it off after 20 minutes but leave it on individual pimples overnight.
Sometimes I'll smear it on as a mask and use manuka honey on top of it for about an hour for extra punch.
I'm SO GLAD I found this product and am so happy it's inexpensive too (about $7 at rite aid).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2014 3:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a tough review for me because my acne-prone skin reacts really well to sulfur-based products... just not this one in particular. I am recently experiencing a really bad flare up (hormonal), and my dermatologist prescribed Avar products. Then i saw this little jar (for less than $5) at my local CVS and decided to give it a try. I used it for 7 weeks total. I began using it exactly as the directions stated, for 10 mins max once a day as a mask but unfortuantely, my skin flared up even worse... it became red, really dry and i began peeling even though I knew this could happen (from all the reviews i read), it was still pretty frustrating and scary. I saw some of my whiteheads became full blown pimples ready to be popped, but my skin just became worse and worse... i never saw the light at the end of the tunnel and I experienced HORRIBLE 'purging', or so I thought it was. After the 7 weeks, i decided to completely stop using it and 2 days later, my skin miraculously calmed down, the redness went away, the inflammed pimples were gone and the dryness had almost gone away which leads me to believe I was experiecing a bad allergic reaction to this product. The other thing i noticed was that this product darkened my acne scars REALLY bad and the dryness made my skin look and feel 'old', if that makes any sense...Overall, this caused a lot of damage to my skin.
What I CAN say is that this is a great product for spot treatment, just not as an overall mask for my skin in particular. I still dab a very thin layer of it over a new pimple as I feel it coming, and by the next day I can tell it has dried out the pimple which is great.
My advice would be, if you really want to give this product a try, start introducing it to your skin VERY slowly. Do not use for more than 10 mins at a time, and I would even go as far as saying to not use it every day at first. I gave it 7 weeks becuse I know some products take a long time for us to see results, but as the 7th week approached and I saw my skin wasn't looking any better, i decided to stop it immediately.
I know us acne sufferers want immediate results and we get desperate sometimes, but we can also cause a lot of harm while trying to find the perfect 'overnight' solution to our problem.
I am now seeing my dermatologist once a month for facials (this has been a huge BLESSING and makes the most difference on my skin), using Avar e-green under my makeup during the day and alternating between Avar wash and Lush's fresh farmacy (looove) twice a day and my skin is a thousand times better. After I tackle the breakouts, my dermatologist will start with peels to undo some of the scarring caused by this product....

please be careful with this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2014 11:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Great product! Made acne go away, pero me hizo cagar! :(

It's cuz lik it's good and all but like the smell is nasty A'F. Lik the bery first time I put it on me dio chorro.


on 1/4/2014 5:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My HG back acne treatment! I suffer from folliculitis and frequently have breakouts on my cheeks, shoulders, upper arms, and back. For years I've tried various benzoyl peroxide treatments, alpha hydroxy lotions, salicylic acid and more to no avail. After stumbling across reviews for this I decided to stop by Walgreens and pick some up. It was hiding in the back with the other ointments instead of the acne section so it took a while to find but I'm sure glad I did. With the $3 price tag I couldn't be happier.

This product can be used on face and back however I find that it works better overnight for me on my back. It's an ointment so it feels like putting honey on your skin.

Face
It can be drying if you use this on your skin overnight. At night, I clean my skin and use this as an all over face mask for 10-15 minutes. Washing is easy because it is water soluble. I do this 2 times per week since it can be a little drying. Over time I noticed that my cystic cheek and chin acne was completely gone! You CAN use this as an overnight spot treatment and it gets rid of cystic acne like that! However keep in mind that it can be very drying so do expect some peeling. Also it can get all over your pillows so use sparingly.

Body
The skin on my back is very tough and oily. At night I smear this over both of my shoulders and upper arms/back overnight 2-3 times a week. (Make sure not to use this every day because your skin can get used to this). I usually wear an old tshirt with this as it can be messy. I mentioned earlier, I have struggled with upper back, upper arm, and shoulder acne and clogged pores since I can remember. This is seriously the ONLY thing that has every worked for me. Within 3 uses my back acne was completely gone and it continues to stay that way. I use this with a sulfur soap as well and my back stays completely clear.

This is my all time HG acne product. Thank you De La Cruz!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2013 6:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I had such high hopes about this product and I am sadly disappointed! I really wanted this to work for me but sadly it didn't. I have pimples on my cheeks and forehead, I was hoping to clear that all up and get a more clear face but it just didn't work for me. I put it for longer than 10 minutes hoping that would help a little but it didn't. The price is amazing and the smell is bad but if it had worked for me I wouldn't complain about the smell. I'm sad it didn't work for me as it did for everyone else but hopefully it works for someone else.


on 11/1/2013 2:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tried this in hopes of helping with the redness and bumps I get with rosacea. Since my skin is incredibly sensitive, I don't know what I was thinking by smearing this on *before* doing a patch test. Lo and behold, my skin looks even angrier. Sooo, I'd definitely recommend trying this first on a small area of skin and/or leaving it on even less than the recommended 10 minutes.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
69 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top