NYX • Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(62 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 QueenAshe on 12/21/2014 10:35:00 PM more reviews by QueenAshe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NYX has some pretty amazing & affordable products, but this isn't one of them. I got this from the Mortal Instruments set they released through Ulta a year ago. I looked up the price for this palette alone, and it $7.50 USD, which is quite cheap!

The combination of colors is quite nice, but the pigmentation isn't good. At first glance, I really liked the 5th shade (a taupe-y metallic brown), but it had the worst color payoff in the entire palette. Out of all 6 colors, the 4th shade (a deep navy blue) had the best color payoff, but it was not amazing. The 1st shade (charcoal gray with shimmer) was super flaky and had an incredible amount of fallout. The only reason why I haven't thrown this palette out yet is because of the white eyeshadow; it's good for priming my eyes before applying colorful shadows.

I love the packaging though - very sleek, easy to open, and compact. It's easy to fit into a small makeup bag or in your purse. My only complaint about the packaging is that it comes with the crappy sponge tip applicator, as with all NYX eyeshadow palettes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bribi on 12/16/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by bribi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this as a gift from a friend. Since I'd just purchased the LORAC pro palette, I didn't expect to really use this but I decided to give it a shot the next day. I was actually pleasantly surprised. Obviously, You aren't getting the same creamy, super pigmented quality you'll get from LORAC or UD, but the blendability was decent, and with the LORAC primer, it's stayed quite well. The shades are pretty good, and I found that I created an awesome smokey eye basically just with this, and a tiny bit from my LORAC palette for more depth. To be fair though, I didn't attempt depth with this palette because I didn't trust it. But who knows, it's probably possible because every shadow I used from there exceeded expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rynaga on 11/7/2014 12:30:00 AM more reviews by rynaga

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first smokey eyeshadow palette kit. I was just getting started into makeup back then. i got this palette because of the price as well as the Nyx brand being called a decent brand. After using this palette for several years, I would not buy it again. But I am still going to try to finish using this first palette.

Pros: I do like the packaging, simple, slim and comes with a mirror. I like the amount of shades given in the palette (10). I like the color selection provided. It has white, black, grey, browns, purple and silver tones. I basically just use this palette whenever I travel because it has all the colors I would use.

Cons: Fallout, some have a very powdery texture, muddy on some colors. Even with a primer, sometimes the color seems to fade throughout the day. It doesn't blend well, and the shadows end up looking blotchy sometimes.

I don't regret getting this shadow for a starter smokey kit. Good for color selection and price... But after knowing what I prefer (better quality performance), I think I would get a different smokey eye palette next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 violetsandroses on 11/3/2014 10:25:00 PM more reviews by violetsandroses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been spoiled on NYX's old single eyeshadow pots. The NYX palettes just don't compare. They feel rough and gritty and have poor pigmentation. Even over Too Faced Shadow Insurance I couldn't get the colors to look different or show up more vibrantly. I tried applying them wet and the color was more intense but applied streaky. If you've tried higher end eyeshadows you will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ke3299 on 3/18/2014 10:19:00 PM more reviews by Ke3299

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

My holy grail for smokey eye! After applying Tarte primer this $7 shadow goes on as well as a $40 brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smilette on 12/2/2013 10:15:00 PM more reviews by smilette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this palette! It contains a variety of smokey shades for you to creat a soft or full-on smokey eye. I keep this at the office because the palette includes a large mirror (the whole of the inside lid is a mirror) and also a duo-ended sponge applicator, so you can basically create an entire look just using this palette.

There are 4 dark shades, 4 medium-dark ones, and 2 shimmery highlighting shades. I like to use one of the dark ones for lining, a medium one for contouring, and the hightlight just to, uh, highlight. It wouldn't stay on my lids if it weren't for my UDPP, but then, no eyeshadows stay on my lids without it, so I wouldn't say this palette is especially bad.

The colours are rich so you only need a little at a time, so this palette will last a really really long time. The colour variety is not as great as other palettes (like UD Naked), but since the palette itself is also smaller, that's a big plus, and I can see myself bringing it on a trip and just toting it in my makeup bag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AzurLove on 5/29/2013 1:19:00 AM more reviews by AzurLove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had such high hopes for this, but it didn't work for me. The colors turn into one big, muddy mess within a couple of hours (even with UDPP). They are so dull as well! Also, I feel like all the grays and browns look exactly the same when applied. There's not much variation with the colors. The silvers are very gritty and barely usable and the 'black' is not pigmented at all. I didn't even bother with the white and the cream colors - too light for my NW 50 skin. The pros are that the packaging is nice and sleek, and it's cheap. That's it. You can find a ton of better palettes out there. I would say skip.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 2/11/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Overall I really love this palette. I got mine at Ulta for CHEAP! NYX has great prices for the quality. The medium brown shade in the top center I use every single day for my eyebrow color. All the colors in the pan are HIGHLY PIGMENTED like crazy. They are all beautiful for a smokey eye look. However, the main downfall of this product is it has a lot of fallout and the shadows break really easily!! I mean super easily. I never take mine out of my drawer except when I use it and then I put it back but somehow all of the shadows seem to break up or just fly everywhere. They're still usable though and I do love these eyeshadows!! I would def. repurchase (I have once already). I will forever love NYX.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 10/9/2012 4:22:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from Hautelook for $7, and it was my first time using NYX eyeshadows. I used it 4 times and then threw it out. The shadows were very chalky and unflattering on me. The pigmentation was also poor. The colors were so cool that they made me look sick - I am a very warm-toned NC15. I usually love greys but I will avoid this brand in the future. I think you usually get what you pay for and I will stick with my favorite eyeshadow brand in the future - Urban Decay, Stila, TheBalm and Makeup Geek.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nesslee on 8/19/2012 11:55:00 AM more reviews by nesslee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

in order to prevent the fallout with some shadows in this palette i spray water on the brush before using the eyeshadows. it works and the pigmentation is great ! its a good palette for daytime smokey eye and i like the matte and satiny colors in it. no ugly shimmers

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products