NYX • Smokey Eyes Eyeshadow Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Ke3299 on 3/18/2014 10:19:00 PM more reviews by Ke3299

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

My holy grail for smokey eye! After applying Tarte primer this $7 shadow goes on as well as a $40 brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smilette on 12/2/2013 10:15:00 PM more reviews by smilette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this palette! It contains a variety of smokey shades for you to creat a soft or full-on smokey eye. I keep this at the office because the palette includes a large mirror (the whole of the inside lid is a mirror) and also a duo-ended sponge applicator, so you can basically create an entire look just using this palette.

There are 4 dark shades, 4 medium-dark ones, and 2 shimmery highlighting shades. I like to use one of the dark ones for lining, a medium one for contouring, and the hightlight just to, uh, highlight. It wouldn't stay on my lids if it weren't for my UDPP, but then, no eyeshadows stay on my lids without it, so I wouldn't say this palette is especially bad.

The colours are rich so you only need a little at a time, so this palette will last a really really long time. The colour variety is not as great as other palettes (like UD Naked), but since the palette itself is also smaller, that's a big plus, and I can see myself bringing it on a trip and just toting it in my makeup bag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AzurLove on 5/29/2013 1:19:00 AM more reviews by AzurLove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had such high hopes for this, but it didn't work for me. The colors turn into one big, muddy mess within a couple of hours (even with UDPP). They are so dull as well! Also, I feel like all the grays and browns look exactly the same when applied. There's not much variation with the colors. The silvers are very gritty and barely usable and the 'black' is not pigmented at all. I didn't even bother with the white and the cream colors - too light for my NW 50 skin. The pros are that the packaging is nice and sleek, and it's cheap. That's it. You can find a ton of better palettes out there. I would say skip.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 2/11/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Overall I really love this palette. I got mine at Ulta for CHEAP! NYX has great prices for the quality. The medium brown shade in the top center I use every single day for my eyebrow color. All the colors in the pan are HIGHLY PIGMENTED like crazy. They are all beautiful for a smokey eye look. However, the main downfall of this product is it has a lot of fallout and the shadows break really easily!! I mean super easily. I never take mine out of my drawer except when I use it and then I put it back but somehow all of the shadows seem to break up or just fly everywhere. They're still usable though and I do love these eyeshadows!! I would def. repurchase (I have once already). I will forever love NYX.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 10/9/2012 4:22:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from Hautelook for $7, and it was my first time using NYX eyeshadows. I used it 4 times and then threw it out. The shadows were very chalky and unflattering on me. The pigmentation was also poor. The colors were so cool that they made me look sick - I am a very warm-toned NC15. I usually love greys but I will avoid this brand in the future. I think you usually get what you pay for and I will stick with my favorite eyeshadow brand in the future - Urban Decay, Stila, TheBalm and Makeup Geek.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nesslee on 8/19/2012 11:55:00 AM more reviews by nesslee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

in order to prevent the fallout with some shadows in this palette i spray water on the brush before using the eyeshadows. it works and the pigmentation is great ! its a good palette for daytime smokey eye and i like the matte and satiny colors in it. no ugly shimmers

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 playmate420 on 8/8/2012 7:31:00 PM more reviews by playmate420

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the range it gives me for smokey looks but i have a problem with the eye shadow itself. the colors are pigmented but they are not easily blendable, release tons of fallout and fades throughout the day even with an eye shadow base. in orders for these colors to be worth it, you have to pack it on (or tap over your lid) as apposed to blending it and smokey eyes are all about blending.

people focus on the color selection instead of looking at the quality!

this pallet is beneficial because you will never run out of eyeliner (in powder form that is)

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vivaciousvixen on 6/16/2012 3:37:00 PM more reviews by vivaciousvixen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love this palette! I use it nearly every day. I got it on sale, so I have no complaints about the price, but if/when I run out, I'd be happy to buy it again at the normal price.

You can do so many looks with this one palette. The shadows are very blendable and buildable, and each one goes well with the others. You can go for bedroom eyes, dramatic smokey eyes, cute accented creases, or even just use the highlighter colors during the daytime and add the smokey colors at night before you go out.

The mirror is also very handy. :) This product is always in my bag.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fredrica32 on 11/13/2011 9:35:00 AM more reviews by fredrica32

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The colors, packaging, and price are great, and the shadows go on smoothly. Definite fallout. But this is a nice palette and I might try other colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 7/23/2011 5:31:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Every shade of metallic silver and matte blacks ranging from blue to brown blacks you could ever desire. The two highlight shades and the sparkly blue are revolting (too glittery put must admit well pigmented) however this is an excellent 5/5 product just for the black and silver shades alone. I have purchased many of these palettes but the only two I would recommend are this one and the Champagne/Caviar - leave the rest if you dont like sparkles and glitter!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products