NARS • Lip Lacquer in Chelsea Girls • Lip Gloss

rated 4.2(223 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 PlanetAmour on 8/10/2014 3:36:00 AM more reviews by PlanetAmour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Man, this color is gorgeous. It's very thick, but it doesn't last long. But the color is gorgeous. For the price, I wouldn't purchase it again as I ran through this too quickly. I wish I could find a good dupe. I tried the ELF one and it's not even close. This product is amazing. It just either needs to include more, be longer lasting, or cost less. I think I would prefer it not in a jar as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 1/12/2014 8:19:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had a pot of this for a year and I love, love, love the color and the moisturizing consistency - yes, it is very sticky but I like that it stays moist. However, the smell is SO HORRIBLE that I can hardly ever wear it. Forget having a makeout session in this stuff. It's an old, musty, sour smell like lipstick that's gone rancid. Blech!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 enza27 on 1/12/2014 7:38:00 PM more reviews by enza27

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

This product has been out for awhile but I just got on the bandwagon. Had to have it after javklyn hill from YouTube mentioned it in her favs from 2013. Plus she mentioned Kim k wears it. To the color, I really love it. I use a makeup forever lip brush to apply. The color is sheet but buildable. It looks great with my nc35 skin. It like a MLBB type with a hint of perfect pink nude. It's creamy yet my hair doesn't get caught in it. Great product. Will purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scrowell on 10/8/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by scrowell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

New HG. If you are a lover of the youtube beauty/makeup community you know of Jacqueline Hill (or maybe not), she is a drop dead gorgeous MUA who talks this lip lacquer up. Sooo, since she loves it so much I (obviously) had to run to Sephora to pick it up. I would personally not describe this as a typical nude, only bc nude to me is Creme'de Nude from MAC, more along those lines but this IS a neutral baby pink, definitely on the nuder side of the spectrum. (Did that make ANY sense :p). Its STUNNING. I will wear this on its own, or over-top of a lipstick, but this has enough opaque coverage to wear alone, for sure. I am an NC25-30 with neutral golden undertones, dark brown hair, and eyes and this flatters me beautifully if I do say so myself. I am a nude lip kinda gal, everyday, all day :) so this fits the bill. Its more work, and school appropriate bc it is not stark nude. This lippie gives off that "I really don't have anything on my lips but some clear gloss, or balm" kinda natural look, yet looks as if you cared enough to try to add a lil somethin'. The shine is very minimum, so I would not classify this as a gloss, but it is in no way 'matte'. I do like the pot, Im not one who is really bothered by the idea of having to stick my finger in to apply - I actually like that! Gorg stuff, good job NARS you did well :) This also reminds me of that very loved Kardashian lip - nude, pinky, and oh so sexy :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 7/23/2013 5:13:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

On my NC45 skintone this is the perfect nude for me. And an added bonus this stuff stays on for the long haul. Sometimes I may take a soft pink lip liner from NYX and fill in my lips before applying CG and it gives it another dimension. With no yucky fragrance added I definitely see myself repurchasing this lippie once I use up my current one. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 4/8/2013 11:55:00 PM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a hard one to review. On one hand, it's definitely more pigmented and fuller in coverage than your standard lip gloss. But it's still not as opaque as your average lipstick. I'd liken the coverage to that of a MAC lustre lipstick. I had to goop and gop this on my lips to achieve medium-full coverage, though I do have very pigmented natural lips.

The color has potential to be either the most beautiful nude I've ever seen, or yet another bland nude that pulls greyish. Problem is, I can't really tell because the sheerness kicks in with my pigmented lips. If you have lighter lips, it obviously won't affect pigmentation. The shade looks like MAC Jubilee in the pot. In bright lighting, it appears as if this was a neutral pink nude on me in store lighting (I'm currently around NC25). But when I went outside in dim daylight (well, we don't really have sunlight here in Seattle), it appeared darker and almost coral.

I still can't decide if this is more of a lip gloss or a lipstick. I honestly would like it to be more opaque, but then again the gloss aspect of it does make it look more natural and melts in with the complexion.

Is it worth $25? No. Come back when you have fuller coverage and more pigmentation and then we'll talk, Nars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JuliaGhostX3 on 1/14/2013 5:40:00 PM more reviews by JuliaGhostX3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is another one of my very few nude coloured lip products. I like the colour and the payoff of this product, but it has an odd scent. I'm weird and sort of enjoy the scent, but I know it is probably terrible to most people. I don't like that it's in a little tub, because I have snoopy family members, and they just stick their fingers in there, and it skeeves me out. Many of you probably do not have that problem. (Don't you just hate it when people touch your makeup with out even asking?!) And lastly, this product is a bit sticky. But still. it is a nice nude shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChandraD on 7/17/2012 4:55:00 PM more reviews by ChandraD

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

The perfect pinky nude lip! I've been searching for a subtle nude lipgloss and I found it with chelsea girls. The packaging could be better, but the product is so pigmented and thick I don't think a tube with an applicator would work. I've found applying with your finger is the best. This is worth the money! I see it easily outlasting any mac lipgloss.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 titainia on 7/10/2012 7:43:00 PM more reviews by titainia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Great for making a nude lip. It will absolutely wash you out and make your lips all but disappear except for some pale shine, which is good for the smokey eye. But it is very sticky, so you have to wear your hair up (not so good for a smokey eye) and worst of all it smells bad, like cheap/old make-up even when fresh from Sephora. I expect way better from NARS.
Note: it is pinker looking in the pot than it looks on the lips; it's actually beige.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GucciDiva on 2/22/2012 7:24:00 PM more reviews by GucciDiva

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My search for the perfect nude lip is OVER! I have pale, neutral toned skin. Every nude lipstick has made me look like a zombie, or like I just ate a powdered donut. NO MORE! This is a nude with a hint of pink, and it's a touch darker than my skin so it looks light but in a flattering way. It makes my lips look juicy. I top it with Piree gloss for extra shine. Extremely gorgeous.

NOTE: It's a bit thick and drying so be sure your lips are well moisturized. This works best if I apply it with fingers, so I wash my hands first.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lip Gloss products