Ion Repair Solutions Hair Reconstructor

4.3

53 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

WATER ,DISODIUM COCOAMPHODIPROPIONATE ,PROPYLENE GLYCOL ,LECITHIN ,POLYQUATERNIUM-10 ,MAGNESIUM SULFATE ,METHYLPARABEN ,COCAMIDOPROPYL BETAINE ,GLYCOL STEARATE ,CITRIC ACID ,FRAGRANCE ,IMIDAZOLIDINYL UREA ,ZINC CHLORIDE ,MANGANESE CHLORIDE ,POLYSORBATE 20 ,TRICLOSAN ,CARAMEL ,YELLOW 5 ,PANTHENOL ,HYDROLYZED KERATIN ,BENZYL CINNAMATE ,COUMARIN ,EUGENOL ,HEXYL CINNAMAL ,HYDROXYCITRONELLOL ,LIMONENE ,LINALOOL


on 4/25/2015 11:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is pure gold if you have VERY dry damaged hair. Let me start off by saying I'm a natural blonde. I have been dying my hair brown for the last 7 years because my blonde hair is more of a dirty blonde and it had multiple tones that I just don't like. I decided I wanted to go back to blonde for my college graduation pictures. So I decided I would do it at home and see how it goes. I bleached my hair twice one day because my hair was extremely healthy and deep conditioned in between. My hair felt dry and brittle even after deep conditioning so I ended up going to salon to ensure I didn't damage my hair further. While I was at the salon I was told to pick up a reconstructor . So I picked up this one. I didnt wash my hair for three days and than used this. The first time I left in for 15 minutes because I felt as of my hair needed it. It was irritating to my forehead. I washed it out. Deep Conditioned and my hair instantly felt better but not 100 percent. So after another 4 days of not washing my hair I did the process again and my hair is as good as new. Let me warn you though my hair did feel thicker instantly but the ends looked dryer and usual so I put some oils in it slept through the night and my ends look 100 percent now. So you need to let your hair dry before you judge this product. You also need to use some form of deep conditioner because this will dry you out.



on 4/3/2015 5:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very long, thick, wavy hair. I bought this after bleaching out a few small peekaboo highlights under my layers. I left it on for a good 5 minutes after shampooing per the instructions, but this left my hair extremely dry each time. The bleached sections of my hair actually felt better BEFORE I used this product.


on 2/23/2015 11:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! A few weeks ago I had used a temporary hair dye and hated the results. I shampooed my hair lots of times to try to get the color out. Sure enough, that was a mistake. My hair became dry, frizzy, and I had to wear it in a bun for 2 weeks. It became knotted really fast and easily. The most awful condition my hair has ever been in, even when I had previously bleached it. I was desperate for a product that would allow me to wear my hair down and fix the mess I made. I went to Sally's to buy the 180 Repair Discovery Kit but when we asked the worker, she recommended this product. We took her word for it, and also purchased the 180Repair Kit. I washed my hair once with the shampoo and treatment, pairing it with the shampoo & conditioner of the 180Repair Kit, and finishing with L'oreal Damage Repair Deep Conditioning Hair Mask (which I've been using for some time now). ONE wash and these products did WONDERS to my hair!! It's back to being soft, smooth, shiny, and cooperative. It's no longer difficult to brush it out in the mornings & it looks even better than before it was damaged! I would recommend this product to anyone who has dry, coarse, or frizzy damaged hair that is in desperate need of a solution. This product is great, not overpriced, smells great, and works wonders! Thank you ion for this magical treatment!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2014 8:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the best stuff ever!!!!! I have very thick medium length hair and I'm constantly dying my hair. I have used everything from Paul Mitchell to deep conditioners and nothing has worked! I washed my hair with the ion repairs shampoo (the red bottle) washed and applied the reconstructor. My hair feels soft and the ends of my hair are smooth and no longer look like a frayed tooth brush!!!! Also I left the constructor in for about 15 minutes. I cannot express how much I love this stuff! I went from fried hair that I nearly went and chopped 4 inches off. To smooth shiny healthy hair. Everyone's hair is different but I highly recommend. It is a protein treatment and I didn't need a conditioner after. And the smell is amazing!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2014 11:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I started using this product about 3 years ago, since I used to color treat and iron my hair a lot and it became a frizzy, brittle mess. I got the large pump bottle and used it weekly.

As a reconstructor, it worked wonders on my hair but only after I learned two things about it:
1. This product is -not- conditioning. Using a deep conditioner after rinsing it off is a must.
2. Less is more. Using too much product leaves hair feeling oddly stiff.

I now use it monthly, since I abandoned damaging hair treatments and heat tools over a year ago. :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/30/2013 9:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I had been looking for something to bring my hair back to life after a horrible bleach job by a colorist who did not know how to do ombre. I was left with tons of breakage, incredibly dry ends and frizz galore. My hair has never been such a mess. I tried deep conditioners thinking upping my hair's moisture level would make a difference, but it didn't. I was browsing Sally's and thought I'd try one of the little one-use packets of this product. I put it on my towel-dried hair and left it in under a shower cap for about an hour. My hair was so soft afterwards. I could feel a difference from one use. I went back to Sally's and bought the full size bottle for $13. It is a HUGE bottle. I've use it once a week or so for about a month and a half and my hair has MUCH less breakage, holds styles much better, the frizz is gone and it's incredibly shiny. My hair looks healthy again. With continued use, I think this product (along with the occasional trim to get rid of the too-dead-to-fix ends) will bring my hair back to life.

I love the packaging - it's a large pump bottle. A steal at $13. The smell is a cherry almond smell, which I really enjoy. In my experience, it doesn't linger on your hair afterwards, so if that's not your fave smell, I wouldn't worry too much.

I definitely recommend this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

If you bleach your hair often you need this product! It rebuilds and strengthens the hair. I use it three times a week.


on 9/13/2013 11:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I must of read each and every review not only from this website but from Sally's website as well. I have long (two inches above waist) thick Hispanic hair. I like to wear it straight so that means I struggle with the hot blow dryer then flat iron the "frizzes" get the idea? I take good care of my hair and only dye the root area of the stinky greys (fml)... so in general my hair is in good shape but for the past few months even after regular trims my hair has been feeling a bit dry and rough, I also had a Brazilian blowout about a year ago and I loved loved it, however after being dignosed with Noninvasive (in situ) breast cancer, sooooo I'm staying away from power chemicals as the Brazilian Blowout... I longed for that look though, straight sleek glam with little effort... So I had to search for an alternative and this is it!! I started with a deep clarify treatment (Suave) lol clarify shampoo ( BTW, this is the best shampoo to rid your hair of over conditioning and over doing it with styling products. Any back to this product.. I went ahead and washed my hair three times left is stiff and no thing else. Got out to the shower and straight to towel dry (DO NOT and I mean DO NOT try to comb your hair becuzz it's stiff and will break!! I gently toweled dried my hair for about 2 minutes squezzing all the water out and then I proceeded to work this product into my hair. The smell is ok nothing to rate about, the product is kinda running so I did use a lot of it. I started bottom up. Then wrapped in with a plastic hair cap and went to watch TV, about an hour later I rinsed it off for about 5 minutes and then I went ahead and blow dried by hair with no leave in or serums just to test the effectiveness of this product.
Outcome: Ta Da!! Pure Magic my hair was really soft and manageable and although I still have frizzes they are under control and not very noticeable. I think if I would of used a serum or leave in the frizzes would of been gone... Anyways I really love this product and wonder why some reviews were below expectation, I guess we all have different hair and products work good for some and for some it doesn't. Anyways for me it worked and I will try to do this once a week...

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2013 11:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product in a packet just to try it out. I followed it up with a moisturizing conditioner when I used it and after I styled my hair it felt really dry.


on 3/26/2013 5:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

If you have dry thicker hair, I don't recommend this product. It smells gooooood! Comes out like liquid gold. But its an illusion because if you pass a horse barn during feeding don't expect not to have the animals stampede after you mistaking your hair for dinner. Yes its that bad. I think if your hair is dry, then condition condition condition. This says weak damaged hair so its probably for those with finer thin sparse sprigs not thicker dry ones like what I got on my head. I tried to go outside the box and try something different. And I will keep doing that to spice stuff up. But for this. Its a No. For those that it works for yay and all that jazz, and all keep buying it. I know for me this is a thumbs down. I will stick with Aveda products.


Back to Top