Aveda Smooth Infusion Glossing Straightener

4.4

51 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

water, propanediol, dimethicone, phenyl trimethicone, dimethiconol, hydroxypropylcellulose, hydrolised wheat protein pg-propyl silanetriol, aloe, hydroxypropyltrimonium hydrolised corn starch, peg-40 hydrogenated castor oil, sodium magnesium silicate, hydroxypropyl guar, pvp, fragrance, ethylhexylglycerin, dehydroacetic acid, phenoxyethanol, benzoic acid


on 4/6/2015 2:04:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have a new healthy haircut and this stuff makes my hair look and feel like straw. I highly DON'T recommend this stuff. I am using the shampoo, conditioner as well as the glossing straightener, so I can't exactly be certain which product sucks, so I will put this review under all three products.



on 2/16/2015 9:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

One of my current favorite styling products. I have waist length dark brown hair with balyage highlights. This stuff lasts forever as you only need a very small amount for each use. Also I only wash my hair twice a week (dry shampoo in between) so it goes a long way. I recently highlighted my hair and this is one of the products Ive used in my routine to keep it looking shiny, healthy and straight. I also use this in my damp hair and braid it then go to sleep when I want the wavy look and this keeps my hair soft and frizz free. The consistency is quite thick so I rub it in my hands and lightly pull it through sections from my ears to the ends of my hair, then comb to distribute.

I also use aveda damage remedy leave in, dry remedy daily moisturizing oil and light elements finishing drops. Yes the products are expensive but they do last a very long time and are effective! Would definitely repurchase this and the other aveda products I mentioned.


on 2/4/2015 4:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

EDIT 2: Like the effect mixed with coconut but It makes me break out on my neck if I put on this part of the hair. I want to finish so I keep using it but still.. won't repurchase it!

EDIT: So finally I figure out someway to use it! I mix a pea size of this produtc with 3-4 pea size of coconut oil and mix everything in my hands and apply on the lenght of my hair. Really like the result!!! I already used coconut oil as a serum for my air but I definetly see an improvement mixed with this product! Shiny hair with some body, not as flat !


Got this a year ago. This gives a straigh hair look flat-iron like, works if you are looking for this flat straigh hair style. I prefer my hair with a bit of natural mouvement and volume. This takes down my volume.

I need to really well brush my hair on the second day or it will be REALLY tangle on the next day when I wash it.

Also the main ingredient in this formula is silicone. When I used it in summer I get pimples in my back.

So I am still trying to find a way I will really appreciate this product so I could finish it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2015 3:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I received a free sample of Smooth Infusion Glossing Straightener. It works! My hair is fine, dry, color-treated and a bit wavy. These products (especially if you use all of them together (the shampoo being the least important) keep the cuticle down. Smells great (herbal) like all Aveda products. For free? Great. Would I buy it? Yes. I plan to buy a full bottle once I finish some of my other products.


on 10/26/2014 1:51:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I haven't used Aveda hair products in a long time as I wanted to try other brands and I didn't want to pay the price tags. Things can and do come full circle and I've discovered this great styling product.

I was initially reluctant to pay $28.50 CAD for a 125 ml/4 oz. tube but now I'm glad I did. This product is worth every penny for obtaining a sleek, smooth finish.
I like that it's a light weight cream formula that doesn't leave my hair feeling greasy.
All I need is one tiny squeeze onto the palm of my hands and I mix it with a few drops of Aveda's Dry Remedy Moisturizing Oil and work it into the ends of my hair before blow drying.

What I really love is that my hair doesn't feel limp or weighed down. It feels light and my hair still has 'bounce'.

I'll definitely re-purchase this product again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2014 4:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am generally a huge Aveda junkie. I'm part of the pure privilege program; I get my hair cut at Aveda salons; and regularly use my points at Aveda spas. This was introduced to me at a recent salon visit where the stylist dabbed a small glob in my hair before using the hair straightener on me and I loved it. It doesn't feel oily or greasy, it just feels like your hair is protected and it seems to work with the heat from the straightener to give you really really soft, glossy, polished straight hair. What was nice was that with the smooth infusion and my hair straightener at home, I was able to almost completely replicate what they stylist did at the salon.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is actually for the new Aveda Smooth Infusion Naturally Straight.Its not available in the product list yet. Its just one step and made my tight coils look like I have a relaxer.

This is the results after the 5th use:







This video is the first time I used it







13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2014 7:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this when my stylist used it at my hair appointment. I have coarse naturally wavy hair. I just used a pea size amount and make sure to avoid the roots. It really does help straighten the hair. I just use a round brush and it glides thru my hair so easily. Did I mention it leaves my hair glossy! I've gotten several compliments since using this stuff.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm a hairdresser and me and my mum both use this product on your thick, frizzy course hair!! We love it! We both have thick hair above shoulders and use about a 20p coin size on the mid lengths and ends with a little morrocan oil too.


on 3/17/2013 7:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this product recently as I've been using the smooth infusion shampoo and conditioner for approx 4 months now and love what they've done for my hair. The glossing straightener however has left me disappointed. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong but it makes my hair dull, dry, almost crispy, not smooth and shiny like my Argan Oil leaves my hair. I'll keep using it as it was expensive but I won't be repurchasing.


Popular Styling Products


Mythic Oil
48 Reviews
Surf Spray
292 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Final Results of Aveda's Naturally Straight after 5 Uses. 4A, 4B, 4C & 4Z hair by Brandie Jeanette

How to Straighten Kinky Hair With Aveda's Naturally Straight. 4A, 4B, 4C , 4Z Type Hair by Brandie Jeanette



Back to Top