Maybelline • Stylish Smokes quad in Amethyst Smokes • Eye Shadow

rated 3.3(59 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MsKacey on 5/29/2014 1:54:00 AM more reviews by MsKacey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE these colors. I have used up and replaced this quad twice already. I could do without the upper right shade (Crease? the dark purple) but nonetheless I use the other three shades until they're gone. They go great together or in combination with other shadows. I have never had problems with them not being pigmented enough or wearing off too prematurely, but then again I apply more shadow than the normal person. Makes it effortless and foolproof for those just getting started or dabbling in Smokey eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sizzle0431 on 5/3/2014 5:04:00 AM more reviews by Sizzle0431

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Love the purples. Wish they were a little brighter. But definitely great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ljoseph29 on 10/7/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by ljoseph29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've only used the top two colors in the palette. The black was too gritty and the white just never applied really. I loved how the dark matte purple blended effortlessly into my crease without me having to pile on a lot of eyeshadow. The stylish smokes is one of Maybelline's best palettes in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 martel92 on 9/2/2013 10:29:00 PM more reviews by martel92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really love the pigment of this eye shadow. I noticed that a lot of people reviewed saying that there's not much pigment and that its chalky, but I truthfully did not have that problem. The color is a nice deep violet and the crease shade is absolutely fantastic, very deep with a slight blue tinge. I have to agree that this quad is best for a night out and not something I would wear to school/work. Overall I absolutely love this quad and would recommend it to anyone!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jatkins on 1/6/2013 8:53:00 PM more reviews by jatkins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The color payoff on this quad is mediocre. I do not recommend it. This is very chalky. I also have the Emerald Smokes (greens) and it is much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Enchantedd on 12/15/2012 8:10:00 PM more reviews by Enchantedd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was the first eye shadow quad that I purchased. I really like that the instructions are printed in the shadow itself so you know where to put the eye shadow (great for beginners). The main purple color is really pretty and pigmented, as well as the navy blueish color. The white is somewhat chalky with light shimmer, and the black did not show up for me at all. It is really chalky and has chunky glitter in it. I mainly use the purple and navy blue shade in this quad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sigiliaxo on 8/15/2012 9:25:00 PM more reviews by sigiliaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

personally this is my favorite for a smokey eye, the colors are dark enough that the purple doesnt look crazy but the purple still makes my dark eyes pop

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChaseSpearing on 3/29/2012 9:44:00 PM more reviews by ChaseSpearing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This was my first eyeshadow quad I ever bought :3 I wore a crazy purple eye look the next day to school and totally thought I was hot stuff. Ahh freshman year.

ANYWAYS, now that I ACTUALLY know how to use it I like the two purple and the white quite a bit, the black I find powdery and too chunky in the glitter department.

Overall a good quad for anybody just starting out, just please watch some videos before you apply it, you don't want to look like someone punched you in the eye. (That was me freshman year...)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PiMehMeh on 2/10/2012 5:34:00 AM more reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I usually have bad experiences with drugstore eyeshadows so this was the first time I tried a drugstore eyeshadow in about 6 or 7 years, and thought maybe it won't be so bad after hearing that Maybelline raised the quality of their eyeshadows.

I tried this eyeshadow out first without primer, and applied them with my fingertips. I found that it's hard to load product on dry fingers, and as a result the application of the eyeshadow turned out to be a little sheerer than I was hoping for. The highlighter applied best, but the lid shade—the vibrant purple—took a little work to build the opacity. These shadows wipe off really easily too, so I imagine staying power is horrible and the fallout is a mess, especially since these are a little shimmery.

Next I applied the eyeshadows with eyeshadow primer, and the results were INFINITELY better than without primer; I imagine these are generally best applied wet! The colors still require a little work to build up opacity, but hardly as much work as without a primer. The shades were easier to apply with precision and control using the primer. I don't understand why drugstore brands don't really sell eyeshadow primers!

The packaging is okay, it's cheap plastic and doesn't make me feel guilty about throwing it in my bag on the go. The applicators are ok if you prefer clean fingers but otherwise they're useless. I get better application with my fingertips. Overall this quad is an okay product for the price (about $1.25 per color, not bad). I will continue to use it but probably won't be repurchasing it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 1/22/2012 1:34:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Of all the Maybelline Stylish Smokes Quads, this is probably my least used for some reason-maybe since its more of a dramatic quad for more smoky looks & w/ my super pale skin, i like more earthy tones so i dont look crazy but i really think this quad is GORGEOUS!!! I esp love purple shadows & this is a great quad if you are looking for purple shadows to play with!!
=PRICE/AVAILABILITY=
The Amethyst Smokes is one of the 4 quads available in the STYLISH SMOKES from Maybelline collection. Maybelline products are readily available in most drugstores like CVS, Walgreens, Rite Aid as well as in mass stores like Target & Walmart. The price will vary depending on your location as well as sales/discounts/coupons. I def suggests waiting for sales to pick these up- well thats how i shop- Im a "couponer"- but generally the quads will cost around $5-6. which is a pretty fair price but def better on sale.
=SHADE/FORMULA/PERFORMANCE=
The Maybelline Stylish Smokes line is AMAZING! the quads were at one point the best shadows from the drugstore but now drugstore companies like WNW are upping the ante for any company- nowadays I expect much more on formulas/performance. But i have to say, these shadows are pretty good. They are pressed well, soft, pigmented. The pigmentation is good- they all show up really well even w/out primer or base. The formula isnt the softest like WNW shadows are but they are soft enough that theyre easy to apply & blend. They last quite some time w/out primers but if you have oily lids id def suggest a primer. I always use a primer & most of the type a cream base of some kind- so these will last at least 7-8 hrs w/out fading or creasing. The quad is well put together w/ 4 coordinating shadows that can make so many different looks. There is usable highlight or brow bone color which is great since some of the trios & quads can have a brow shade that are not appropriate for that. All four shadows are pigmented, show up well & look great together. They are stamped or imprinted on where its suggested they go. I love purples & this quad is a great quad of purples for various looks.
Brow Bone- a stark white that has a sheen to it, its soo pretty! Reminds me of Mac Vellum. Great for opening up the eyes
Lid- this is probably my favorite color since its so unqiue! its a duo chrome purple blue with pink undertones. I have nothing like this color & its one of my favorite shadows. Reminds me of Mac Nocturnelle. This is a fun shadow to play around with since its so multi-faceted.
Crease- a great darkened matte cool toned eggplant purple w/ gray undertones. Its matte so it adds texture. a very pretty shadow reminds me of Mac Fertile
Outer Corner- a great true black thats pigmented- shows up black. There is a silver shimmer throughout but mostly it doesnt show up on the skin. Its def similiar to Mac Carbon or Black Tied. If you tap your brush, the shimmer is heavy enough it will tap off. This a great black to have in your collection that will do many jobs.
=PACKAGING=
Amethyst Smokes is packaged in the classic hard plastic compact that all maybelline products come in. They have repackaged the quads & trios. I own the older version where all 4 shadows are the same size. Now, the shadows are different sizes- rectangles & squares. The back is a sticker w/ all the logo, labeling, information as well as a diagram to show where the shadows go & how to achieve different looks. The shadows are stamped or imprinted of where you could place each shadow. This is great for those who are new to makeup or anyone since its like a how to. There is also two foam tip applicators for those who use them or if you are in a pinch. A good amount of shadow that will last awhile. I have the old quad where all four shadows are the same square size but i guess they formulated the packaging based on what they think you will use more or less of. Whats nice is how travel friendly these are, slip them in your makeup bag- even a few of them & you will have all the shadows you need for any look. I always carry at least one of my Maybelline quads with me whenever i go somewhere.
Overall, the Maybelline quads are a great addition to my makeup collection. I do reach for these quads alot. The Stylish Smokes collection is probably my most used from my Maybelline shadows. The shadows are amazing and make some great looks! There are good tutorials on youtube to show you many looks to make with Amethyst Smokes. If you like purple shadow or want to try some purple looks- get this quad! I love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products