Ponds • Clarant B3- Normal to Dry skin • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.5(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 10/13/2014 12:51:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Meh, skip this. Total waste of time. This doesn't fade anything nor does it do like it promises. I saw no difference with this product after using it for 2 months.

Itís also overpriced for what it did do, and that was just moisturize. Itís a fairly heavily scented face cream so beware.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 carissytine on 5/6/2014 10:08:00 PM more reviews by carissytine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used this for a week and by the 3rd or 4th day I started slowly breaking out into red bumps. I stopped use shortly after, and my skin is clearing up. I generally do not have sensitive skin or break out from using products, whether they are unscented or scented, but something in this product did not agree with my skin. My skin is generally already even-toned and I tried this product in hopes of just getting a nice "glow" like I did with Olay Anti-Wrinkle Night Cream (see my review for that also).

However, I loved the fresh floral fragrance and did not find it too strong. The scent faded over a few hours. The texture of the cream is very light and it absorbed into my skin well. There was no residue leftover from rubbing into the skin. The price was just right at $9-$10 for a 7 oz. jar. I prefer jars over tubes, so the packaging was a plus. I was disappointed that this cream didn't work out for me, since I liked aspects of it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristin39 on 3/29/2014 10:24:00 AM more reviews by kristin39

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Picked this up on a whim while restocking my overnight travel bag. Didn't realize it was for dry skin until I got home (I lean toward oily). It doesn't leave me greasy and I actually find the scent to be pleasant. It doesn't break me out, which is a small miracle. I have been using this for 2 weeks and have seen my dark brown discolorations fade to light pink. I need significantly less concealer now!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenno2007 on 1/26/2014 11:50:00 AM more reviews by jenno2007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I am a woman of color with sensitive, combination skin and a light golden complexion. This stuff is awesome, way better for evening skin tone than Esoterica, Nadinola, et al. The scent evaporates pretty quickly. It's got a light whipped texture that isn't greasy, and rubbing gingerly it dries matte fast. It's one of the easiest products to apply that I've ever used, but I'd prefer squeeze tube packaging. Cutting a tube open to scrape the last bit out vs. dipping your hand in a jar 100+ times seems more hygienic. As other reviewers have noted it's also inexpensive.

Apply it before any other products. It forms a wonderfully smooth, absorptive layer but on top of a light layer of retinol just sits on my face. This is the only thing that has faded scars for me in two weeks or less. There's also the appearance of smoothed skin after several weeks. As for its moisturizing qualities, I'll have to disagree with some reviewers. It's a pretty light cream; I always top it off with spf and a true-blue moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 andyfries on 12/30/2013 9:51:00 PM more reviews by andyfries

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this for it advertised to help clear dark spots, it was cheap, and I hadn't found makeupalley yet. I gave it a 2 because it was moisturizing, and didn't adversely affect my skin. I didn't like the feel on my skin when I first applied this or the fact that it had a floral scent perfume. I don' really see the point in having a perfume in a facial product, but I still use a couple that do if I like them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Finnsgirltanner on 12/30/2013 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Finnsgirltanner

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I have very acne prone skin. After years of trying to clear it up I finally had, the only thing I had left was minimal acne hyperpigmentation. I had never had huge acne cyst before. I heard about how great this product was for clearing up my acne marks I had left over. THIS STUFF BROKE ME OUT SO BAD. After all the work I had done to finally get my skin clear it broke me back out. I had huge painful cyst on my face. I do not reccomend this. I must say it moisturizers well but it breaks you out horribly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DLYNN on 10/20/2013 9:18:00 PM more reviews by DLYNN

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Unlike others, I don't dislike the fact that Ponds products are sold in tubs. I like the fact that the packaging is simple and you can get every last bit out, unlike some of the pump dispensers on other products. I only apply products to my face and body after washing my hands or bathing, and with all the preservatives I've never been particularly concerned about contamination, either. Unfortunately, none of this does anything to add up to a good impression of this particular product, Ponds Clarant B3.

At first whiff I disliked this face cream because it smells like a bad department store cologne. That being said, I was sold on an ingredient, vitamin B3, because it apparently can help reduce breakouts, hydrate skin and even out one's skin. I have some freckles and a small sunspot on my face, but they're already fairly light so perhaps I wouldn't have gained some of the more dramatic benefits others have reported, but I was still eager to see if it could combat redness and uneven skin tone following breakouts. As a result, I decided to keep up with the use of this product in spite of the fragrance. In the end, however, I was unable to give this cream long enough to see the purported benefits because after several days my skin felt dehydrated, and it looks as if I have aged five years!

In spite of its rich, creamy texture, I find the ingredients in this product somewhat harsh and drying, which might not be unexpected given the claims of being able to fade discoloration. If I had oilier skin or more discoloration I might stick it out, but I think I'm going to go with the Olay line instead (for the B3) because it would appear to be somewhat more gentle and there are fragrance-free options. (Ponds is a better value for the money so I wanted to try this first.)

Until now, I thought my facial skin was fairly bulletproof because I use OTC anti-acne face washes morning and night without any flaking or rashes. Perhaps the mix of those treatments along with this one is just too much. I simply can't stick out the dryness --- which around the eye area has has become irritation --- to find out if there are any long-term benefits. Where I live Autumn can be very dry, so perhaps if I had tried this at another time of year it would have worked out. Still, I probably would not have repurchased due to the fragrance. In contrast, I absolutely love the scent, texture and quality of Ponds "Caring Classic" Dry Skin Cream. Alas, the company's newer products are not only manufactured elsewhere but do not seem particularly geared toward the North American market, either. In any event, I wish Ponds would sit up and take note: please tone down the fragrance!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kimberlyann on 9/8/2013 6:33:00 PM more reviews by kimberlyann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this cream for about 8 or 9 months and it's not worth it if you're trying to honestly correct dark spots or an uneven skin tone. I wasn't expecting a lot from it anyway, since it was cheap.
--------
It moisturizes pretty well and smells alright but it does NOT even out skin tone. I didn't notice any difference in my skin's tone at all, even after months of use. It says to use day and night.. I only used it at night as a nightly moisturizer. Plus I didn't like that much that it had a screw on cap/jar--much easier to forget to close as opposed to a pump where you don't need to worry about closing it!
--------
Bottom line: don't waste your time or money. Spend the extra bucks for a better product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 humc on 8/13/2013 5:25:00 PM more reviews by humc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

this moisturizer is absolutely amazing and i feel that this has ended my search for my perfect moisturizer! :D

my skin type: i have verrrrry oily skin that is sensitive and acne-prone. i also have old acne scars and red discoloration. additionally, i have been using retin-a for about three months which has caused a bit of dryness.

although my skin is oily, i do not mind a moisturizer that is very nourishing and may leave me shiny because i am either going to be putting makeup on afterwards or just staying in my house.

I have been using this moisturizer for several weeks. i found it a bit difficult to find. but luckily, a walmart by me was carrying it. i suggest going on the ponds website because they have an option that enables you to see what stores around you are carrying the product. i would also call the store just to confirm they have it. if no stores near you carry it, i would just purchase it online. in my case, i love this so much that if i could not find it near me, i would definitely buy online :)

the product comes in a medium/small size pink jar with a screw-off lid. this is the only thing i dislike about the product- there is not pump, so you must use your fingers or something else to scoop out the product. however, for me, the results have been worth it! there is a slight fragrance to this, but i actually like it and it has not irritated my sensitive skin. additionally, it has not broken me out.
you do not need very much of this product in order to cover and fully moisturize your entire face. as far as the claim to even out skin tone and fade marks/discoloration, it has done wonders. however, as i said before, i have been using retin-a for about three months so i am not sure if it is the retain-a or the moisturizer that has been making my skin look great lately. but, the two products together have given me amazing results.

Wow, i could go on and on about this moisturizer because i am so beyond happy that i tried it.
OVERALL: i will definitely continue to purchase this because of how great it makes my skin look and feel- it has significantly help fade some of my acne scars as well as discoloration. if you are hesitant about this product, try it anyways and be patient with it because it is worth it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 7/30/2013 1:59:00 AM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I meant to get the formulation for normal to oily skin but nonetheless I like it so far. I mainly use this at night as a night cream. It hydrates well and doesn't break me out. it has a creamy light consistency but the smell is a very heavy floral. Luckily it doesn't aggravate my nose. It leaves my face a bit greasy by the morning, but since I made the mistake of picking the wrong formulation I will not deduct any lippies. Some of the acne marks I had are fading so the product does work after time. Niacinamide is pretty high on the ingredient list which is impressive. I bought the travel size to try it out and I still have lot of product left with daily use since you don't need to use a lot (Nickel sized amount was sufficient for my face and neck). I will have to try the one geared towards oily skin next to do a comparison. So far, not bad.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Treatments (Face) products