NYX • smokie mountain • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 margritana on 11/29/2011 11:38:00 AM more reviews by margritana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I find random quality on nyx eyeshadows, and not only on quality. Ive seen that the same color varies a lot from time to time. for example this "smokie mountain" seems to have 2 different versions, one metallic army green color, and the other one a matte black with gold glitter. I got the second option and i decided to buy it because of the swatched that clarly shown other version. Same name, same number buy different color. Not very pleased with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glitterfacedranda on 11/24/2011 8:31:00 AM more reviews by glitterfacedranda

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this shadow!One of my favorites.Very dramatic:)I mostly just do smokey eyes and this is one of the shadows I use the most.I love the gold glitter mixed in!I've never seen another shade like this.And it stays put pretty good too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MeganHan on 5/26/2011 2:06:00 PM more reviews by MeganHan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is more geared toward NYX eye shadows in general, rather than just the Smokey Mountain eyeshadow. I love the color of Smokey Mountain.. It almost looks like a dark army green color- with hints of deep brown, dark green, and shimmer.. I got this eye shadow at Ulta during a NYX Buy 2, Get 1 free sale.. and while I love the color, I hate the fact that every NYX eye shadow I have ever bought seems to fall all over my face! I use UDPP on my eyes before I put on shadow, and I never have a problem with the eyeshadows falling when I use MAC, Clinique, Estee Lauder, Smashbox, etc.. but NYX eyeshadows always sprinkle all over my face! and it gets worse throughout the day.. it continues to fall all day long.. I am not sure why this happens, I guess the quality isn't that great.. but it reminds me how much it's worth it to shell out a few extra dollars for a higher end eyeshadow..

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sandi149 on 5/22/2011 5:57:00 PM more reviews by sandi149

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am new to NYX and I really love the product. I have this shade "Smokie Mountain" and I just love it. It stays on and is really pigmented. I think it would go nice with all skin tones. I am fair with blonde hair and green eyes and it looks really nice. Will definitely recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sallysellsseashells on 1/31/2011 2:20:00 PM more reviews by sallysellsseashells

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Smokie Mountain is an interesting color that I didn't have in my collection. It is a dark brown with a hint of grey and gold glitter. It's a nice alternative for black in the "v" if you wanted a less dramatic look. The pigmentation and staying power is great. I swatched this when I got home and after washing my hands, I noticed a faint line still there! I had to scrub a little with a wash cloth to remove it. As for the texture, it is okay. It blends nicely but it's not the smoothest NYX e/s, maybe it's the glitter that is making it a bit chaulky. Also, you will get some fallout from this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 esmerelda2007 on 1/9/2011 1:18:00 AM more reviews by esmerelda2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great color. On me, its a really dark brown - almost black with beautiful gold sparkles. Lovely. It makes a GREAT outer V color for a smokey look. EXTREMELY pigmented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 UrbanxGoddess on 8/29/2010 8:05:00 PM more reviews by UrbanxGoddess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This color is fantastic. As with all other NYX shadows I have purchased this one is well pigmented, creamy, blendable, and long lasting. I don't ever expect these shadows with the embedded glitter to show true to pan. So in that regard I am not disappointed because experiece has taught me better (MAC's Beautymarked I am looking at YOU!!** LOL). That being said, it WILL be true to pan over any black base. The cool thing about products such as this is that it may be used for a more subtle look ot the awesome full on pan effect over the black base. It could even be used over a green base for more of a smoldering olive effect. Overall, I like this shadow. I think it is well worth the $5-6 that it retails for. NYX is on point with the department store/high end cosmetics. The only real downfall is that NYX is hard to come by in the area I live in. It's not too big of a deal but it just kind of stinks that you can't run out to pick up one or two. Online may now be the only way to get my hands on them and I won't order online unless I am spending enough to make paying for shipping absolutely worth it. But that is irrelevant to this lovely shadow. Smokey Mountain goes right up there on the "HIGHLY RECOMMENDED" list for any other cosmetic junkie who may be on the fence about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MerryBerriesNCherries on 7/21/2010 6:33:00 PM more reviews by MerryBerriesNCherries

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hmmm... I thought this would work great for me since I can't wear blue shades but have been wanting a good black/ blackish shadow for a long time. I look best in warm shades with gold shimmer, so I thought this would give me both. Unfortunately, it looks GRAY on me! Not olive, straight-up gray. I can't even see the gold shimmer. The only reason I have this a 3 is because it IS pigmented, goes on smooth, lasts on me well, and I didn't have any fallout like some others have. I probably wouldn't repurchase, but I'm gonna try to see if I can make this work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renaissancegirl on 7/12/2010 3:36:00 PM more reviews by renaissancegirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This color looks gorgeous in the pan but not as beautiful once applied. In the pan it looks like a dark olive with gold shimmer but most of the shimmer shakes off so when applied you get a dark olive with a satin finish - which is fine but not the same. If you have problem with glitter fallout in NYX e/s in the past, I say skip this. I tap loose glitter out before applying so I don't have this problem. But I wouldn't buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 prim4tologist on 7/10/2010 7:27:00 PM more reviews by prim4tologist

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeshadow is okay. Smokie mountain reminds me a bit of a slightly darker version of Smashbox's safari. I guess considering it's only about 6 bucks, it's not too bad. However, I wouldn't say that it is great, either. I noticed that with this shadow, there is a lot of fallout, and I mean big glittery fallout. Also, like many of the cheaper shadows, it tends to be a bit on the chalky/powdery side. I do agree that it is pretty pigmented, and the color is indeed very pretty, but the staying power is not too good. Even with Too Faced Shadow Insurance, this stuff ended up smearing all around my eyes by the end of the day. I haven't tried any of the other eyeshadows from NYX, but I will probably stick to just saving up for some better quality brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products