Origins Clear Improvement

3.8

467 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqueous Infusions; Melilot (Melilotus Officinalis), Equisetum Arvense, Kaolin, Bentonite, Butylene Glycol, Montmorillonite, Polysorbate 20, PEG-100 Stearate, Activated Charcoal, Natural Xanthan Gum, Lecithin, PEG-150 Distearate, Propylene Glycol Stearate, Sorbitan Laurate, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol Laurate, Simethicone, Trisodium EDTA, Deydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Iron Oxides


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this mask weekly for about 3 months now i got the news about it from my girl friend who had told me about it. I've been pretty happy with it as the ingredients are very basic so i know nothing is harming my skin.

I love the texture of this mask and it dries quickly and washes off nice. It's really helped in getting rid of black heads on my nose and chin area.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/17/2015 11:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I'm a mask junkie and this is one of my favorites. I bought it back when I had severely oily skin and now have extremely dry skin due to chronic medical conditions. I find it works equally well on either skin type, which I think can be rare. It is a thick mask, but it is smooth and easy to spread onto the face. I think this is best for decongesting the skin and cleaning the pores. You can feel a definite change in the skin after using this. The only problem I have is that it makes my skin burn, but I have very sensitive skin so I don't think everyone will have this problem. I like to wash this off with a sponge for maximum pore cleansing effect. But I think I would recommend this to everyone as I have a very difficult skin type (sensitive, dry) and it works for me so it should work for you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2015 11:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this mask. I've tried clay masked before, green, white, red, Egyptian. So when I heard about this mask I really didn't think it was going to do anything... the only thing that compelled me to buy it was the charcoal. I heard wonderful things about the drawing power of charcoal so I thought I'd try it. I paid about $25 at Sephora's First let me tell you about my skin. I had oily skin as a teenager and up to into my 50's and have been battling blackheads.. I tried everything out there. Probably spent a small fortune. But hope springs eternal. The first time I used the mask I noticed my pores seamed smaller. After the second time some of the blackheads were gone, yea! The third time, more are gone. It's dries a little, but I don't feel my skin is parched. I had used Paula Choice Skin Balancing Oil Reducing mask, but it's not as good as the Origins. I only use a little on my nose, I leave it on 15-20 minutes and rinse it off. I am truly amazed what this mask does...the best I've ever used. I gave the price 2 lippies because even at $25 you only use a little, it will last a long time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm so glad I stumbled upon this mask! I have an oily t zone and break out frequently. I use this mask immediately following a shower (the steam will open up pores and allow the mask to draw out impurities). I leave it on for about 15 mins - immediately after washing off, my face looks so smooth. The mask hasn't done much to shrink existing acne, but it does keep pimples from appearing. It goes on so smooth - feels so soothing. It is a clay mask, so it will feel tight and hardened as it dries (this is a good thing! it means the clay is deep cleansing). It is definitely pricey, however I would repurchase because it is worth the price.


on 2/7/2015 10:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Holy cow does this mask really draw impurities out. I used this on cystic acne and it actually finally made it come to head hallelujah! After 3 days my cyst was almost completely flat, all that was pretty much left was the hyper pigmentation from the acne.

I would definitely purchase this again. However, be forewarned it accelerates the life span of acne and cysts, which is why things will pop up. I personally use this as a spot treatment and works heavenly.

Price it is a little on the pricey side; however, the packaging is done well so that this mask does not dry out fast. So the tube does last for a while.

I recommend buying the smaller sample size first, or getting a free sample and see if it works for you skin.

This a great mask for spot treating acne (coming from a very acne prone girl).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2015 11:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Black

If your skin responds to charcoal and/or oil absorbing clay masks, then I highly recommend you get this one because it's a good bang for you buck. I have combo skin with an oily t-zone with mild acne in the form of congested pores (nose, chin, and cheeks) and hormonal breakouts. This masks contain kaolin or fuller's earth which is the main ingredient in most clay masks that is responsible for drawing out oil- after the mask dries, you will see the spots where the oil has been drawn out because it's darker. This won't cure your acne, but really helps decongests skin and helps prevent future breakouts- I recommend about 1x per week or less, otherwise your skin might get dried out. I use mine regulalyr and each tube lasts probably 6 months to a year.

Here are the other oil absorbing masks I've tried but this one seems to be the best overall bang for my buck (I'd rather spend the serious cash on serums and night creams):
-I've tried the pure kaolin clay in the form of Fresh's umbrian clay bar and while that was more economical, it felt harsher/more drying and didn't have the additional benefits of charcoal.
-St. Helene's is super cheap but doesn't pack the punch
-glamglow is super expensive but kind of painful and while it does work well, it's not SO indispensable where I'm willing to shell out that kind of money regularly

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/4/2015 11:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product is too harsh for me... My entire face was red after using it. It's a shame because I was hoping for a deep pore-cleaning mask. I'm afraid it will upset my skin further, so I'll have to pass this along to someone else.


on 2/2/2015 7:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I first got a sample for it and tried it out for the first time EVER. I have oily skin but dry in the winter and I have to say the after rinsing off this mask it doesn't dry my face at all. MY FACE WAS SOOO SMOOOTH. Next morning my skin was soft and had nice glow. You do not need to apply a lot on just enough to cover the face enough (for me at least).


on 1/31/2015 9:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

While this mask can be drying, it's incredibly effective to pull out excess oil and other impurities that are in the skin. I've been using this mask for almost 3 months now, and my skin has cleared up significantly after having a lot of blackheads and pimples come up to the surface (which is to be expected since the mask pulls stuff out, that's how charcoal works). I use this at least 1 time a week, and no more than 3 times, because otherwise I get really dried out. Definitely follow this with a moisturizer because it can be a little bit drying. Will be buying again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2015 7:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Considering the fact that I'm already on my second tube, it's safe to write a review, I guess. After testing so many masks (look at my MUA history….), I think I found the one that actually really helps me deal with my hormonal breakouts. I use it twice a week and I *have* to. When I got lazy some time ago and tried to go with only once a week I immediately noticed the difference and my skin became difficult again. So: clean your skin thoroughly, slather it on (I mean it, layers!), leave it for about 30 minutes and then wash it off. I'll be honest, this is really not my favourite beauty routine because the mask hardens on your face, you can't drink, you can't eat, phonecalls won't work. You just have to sit down for literally 30 minutes & do nothing. But the results are totally worth it. My skin is on its best behaviour in years: clean, pretty, I don't need to wear make-up anymore, a little Guerlain Meteorites to enhance glow and I'm ready to go. It's really not the cheapest mask out there but what can I say? I'm sold. I already bought again and will keep buying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top