Origins • Clear Improvement • Masks

rated 3.9(427 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* franzvonstuck on 4/18/2014 4:24:00 AM more reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was on the search for a clarifying mask and tired of using pure clay mixed with water as I felt this dried out my skin like hell.
A little background info on my skin: Combo dehydrated sensitive skin with a lot of sebaceous filaments on my nose, congested skin and breakouts on my chin. My pores clog easily and I have to be very careful which skincare and make up I use. I have rosacea and seborrheic dermatitis too and Im 37, so no teenage skin here.

The mask is a thick dark paste with a gel-like feel to it and smells like clay. You can spread it easily on your face and it will dry to a state, where you can feel the mask on your face, but not as other clay masks do. You can move your face and theres no flaking off as it is with other clay masks. I personally apply it mostly on my chin and nose, basically the t-zone.

On my skin-but note that my skin is sensitive-it tingles on application and afterwards. Be aware that Origins uses myrtle leaf water, kaolin and bentonite, which can be problematic for dry or sensitive skin. My skin can take this mask, but sometimes the area where I applied it is red after I wash it off.

The result of this mask is soft and clean skin for me, but it does nothing for my sebaceous filaments on my nose as they are very stubborn and would only respond to AHA or BHA, which I cannot use.
I dont have many blackheads, so I cannot comment on the result the mask has on these.
The performance on my congested pores was mediocre. Yes, the mask stimulates the skin and the charcoal draws the impurities out, which can mean breakouts after using this mask. But the mask could do nothing for those nasty underlying impurities and closed clogged pores on my chin areas. Only a visit ot an esthetician gets rid of these as they have to be opened and pulled out (gross, but true).
For "open" pimples and impurities, the mask works as it dries them out and draws them out alas the breakouts after using the mask.

Im really on the fence with this mask as it does some good things in some aspects and doesnt work for me in other aspects. I decided to give it a 4, because it might work for most people, but not specifically for some my skin issues.

Id recommend to be careful, if you have sensitive skin as this mask contains strong ingredients which can make your skin react.

Not my HG mask, but one of the better masks on the market.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riyeu on 4/13/2014 5:50:00 PM more reviews by riyeu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This does a good job of cleaning/clarifying but it left my skin extremely dry (I had dry patches and my skin was peeling). I would not purchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautylush77 on 4/6/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by beautylush77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my favorite mask because I feel it is the most effective mask of the many I have tried. I have large pores in my cheeks and chins, and I have had persistent blackheads since I was a teenager. I am in my 30s now and tired of it! I used Biore pore strips but they didn't always work, and I have read that they're not good for your skin, which I totally believe.

Pros: This is hands-down the most effective mask I have ever tried. You need to give it time and stick with it. I used it twice a week and as long as I was using it regularly, it kept my pores totally clear. I've tried the Glamglow masks which I thought were great until I used this, which was much better (and so much cheaper!). I also use the Lush masks which I like as well, but think they work better when used in conjunction with this mask which is stronger and more effective, though less fun/pampering.

Cons: It's tough to take off once it has dried; you definitely need to use a wet washcloth. Do not try to just rinse off with your fingers, because you'll end up aggravating your skin. I also tend to use this before a shower, because that helps remove all traces of it, and because it is a black mask, it's more noticeable and messier.

Overall: This is a highly effective mask. It keeps my pores clear and immediately after use, I see a reduction in blackheads, and my pores appear smaller. I've never used a mask that showed immediate results, but also has longer term effects (Glamglow for example and various brands of scrubs makes my pores appear smaller right after use, but didn't keep my pores clear over time.) The value is also great; the 3.4 oz size is $24. I have gotten 10 uses for far (using twice a week when I am good about it!) and I have probably 15 uses left (though it's hard to tell from the tube). I also like the tube packaging as it feels more hygienic than a tub or similar. I highly recommend if you have troublesome pores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laureg on 3/28/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by laureg

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not really one for masks- mostly I forget to apply them when I do have time, remembering that I should when I don't have time. This mask is different- I make time to use it weekly, usually on weekends, since the results are so nice. As a warning, the mask can be somewhat drying for those with dehydrated skin (as I have), so some extra moisturizing afterwards is needed. I also found that my skin purged a bit after the first two times I used the mask. But after using the mask, my skin looks really great- firm and glowy, with a lovely, even tone to it. The mask also does a great job of minimizing large pores. I also find that the mask helps to shrink and heal up any spots and pimples when used as a spot treatment. All in all, a very nice mask and I will continue to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jamiehaneul on 3/21/2014 11:02:00 PM more reviews by jamiehaneul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Very nice when you feel like you need a "pore detox". So far, keeping my skin feeling nice. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DigitalBeauty41 on 3/21/2014 4:46:00 PM more reviews by DigitalBeauty41

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

One tube lasts a very long time. I like that it cleans up my pores so the other skincare products can penetrate deeper for better results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celticprincess on 3/19/2014 1:46:00 PM more reviews by celticprincess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This product is my holy grail. I've been using it twice a week for about 3 years now and I love it! I have oily skin, am prone to rosacea, have blackheads and spots.

This mask sucks up all the oil which is contained in my blackheads and spots and makes a visible difference to my skin's clarity. Although the tube instructs to leave the product on for about 20 minutes, I leave it on for an hour just to make sure that all the debris is drawn out (but my skin is very problematic - you might want to leave this on for a shorter time if you have dry skin, not that I'd know). After rinsing the mask off with hot water, I apply a pore strip to my wet nose and leave this for 20 minutes.

I never see a difference immediately after using the mask, but always see a difference to my blackheads and spots the next morning. Hence, this should be used in the evening. My blackheads look much smaller and my spots are reduced in size. Small spots disappear completely. Though this mask works really well on my spots/blackheads, my rosacea is not at all irritated.

I really recommend this product. No other mask has made such a clear improvement to my skin, hence the name I suppose!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dentalgirl3 on 3/18/2014 10:38:00 PM more reviews by Dentalgirl3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for years. The BEST mask for congestion and clearing pores. There's a reason this has been around for decades. Steam your face & put this on. It helps unclog pores!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dri5hti on 3/11/2014 9:45:00 PM more reviews by dri5hti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great for a deep cleanse and dries pretty quickly so that's an advantage if you are short on time. Did prevent blemishes and shorten the lifespan of breakouts. Definitely make sure to moisturise well after use. Wouldn't buy again just because it has negligible nourishing properties, IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sdunfield on 3/11/2014 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Sdunfield

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've just started to use this but notice right away that my face looks so much better. It has really helped even out my skin tone. I will give it I few weeks and see if I continue to like it. Hopefully it will keep my breakouts at bay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Origins products

More Masks products