Bare Escentuals • Flawless Definition mascara • Mascara

rated 3.8(179 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 LexiClarice on 9/29/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by LexiClarice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I quite like this mascara. It doesn't add much in the way of volume but it noticeably lengthens my lashes without the irritation I experience from other mascaras. I lalso, love the way it makes my eyes look. Recommend to women with sensitive eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 s0fieee on 9/19/2014 7:13:00 PM more reviews by s0fieee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

so average. It doesn't lengthen the lashes nor does it curl them or volumisem them. and it also takes abou 15 minutes to dry.. thankfully I bought it cheap on strawberrynet

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jccmz on 4/3/2014 1:45:00 PM more reviews by jccmz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the wand on this mascara, how it isn't clumpy and very easy to apply. I like the way it initially looks on my lashes, but I would need to pair it with a volumzing mascra to get really noticeable lashes. Unfortunately, it has the same problems for me as any non-waterproof mascara -- it doesn't hold a curl and it runs or flakes when my sensitive eyes tear, which is a daily occurrence, especially in social situations. I think it's nice for someone who doesn't need waterproof mascara and wants a nice, defined, lengthened look for their lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninadg2 on 2/2/2014 10:01:00 PM more reviews by ninadg2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've found that I can't just wriggle the brush up for this mascara like I usually do, or I end up with big clumps. I apply it just at the base first, then comb up a little higher from the base. The result is defined, feathery looking natural lashes. Issues I have with it is that it won't hold a curl, not enough length, and is not buildable as the formula is quite dry and sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lashandbrow on 1/16/2014 5:46:00 PM more reviews by lashandbrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I hate this stuff. Does nothing for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sharthesinger on 12/29/2013 12:04:00 PM more reviews by sharthesinger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been very happy with this mascara. I just purchased my 2nd tube after exhausting the first. I have sensitive eyes, and this mascara doesn't irritate at all. I haven't had any flake issues and it stays put all day for me. I wear glasses, so a lengthening mascara doesn't work for me, which is why I like this. Also, I wear minimal make-up, and this is more of a minimalist mascara. It won't go on heavy, it won't volumize. What it DOES is give your eyelashes and enhanced NATURAL look. I love the bristles on the brush and that they're shorter than many other brands. I feel I have more control over the application. If you're looking for a NATURAL look and you have sensitive eyes, this product is great. And, I got my latest tube from ebay, brand new unopened for about 1/2 the price as regular. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 11/11/2013 2:49:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara disappointed me beyond belief. This is unfortunate, seeing the absolutely awesome reviews on it. *Jumps off the bandwagon*
I bought this mascara when I was looking for some new products to try; Flawless Definition seemed like a really great buy. After consulting my two most trustworthy sources, Master Google and MakeupAlley, it seemed very promising and a great product worth the money! I loved Flawless Definition Volume, so why not? I bought Flawless Definition and put it away for several months, since I had no need to start using it at the time.
I'm not sure, to this day, whether or not that was the mistake that cursed this mascara's performance; I have not opened the tube until the day that I started using it. At first glance after about three months, Flawless Definition looked suspiciously dry, and the brush looked way too sparse. Anyway, here's how it all went down.
The color of it was pretty decent. A nice black, maybe a very dark grey-black, but it looked black on my lashes.
The formula was an absolute letdown. It was completely beyond what I imagined it to be; it was dry, dry, DRY. I could literally get almost no product onto my lashes at all, it was so dry! It stuck to the brush and would not transfer. Whatever product did transfer only succeeded in coloring the base of my lashes; it wouldn't even consider the tips. The result were wimpy lashes that were unevenly coated and looked shorter than they were before! I'm a black liquid liner fan, and my lashes literally could not be seen with my eyeliner on. There was hardly any difference, and putting on multiple coats was completely useless. I was completely disappointed.
The brush was one of the worst I've ever encountered. It is elongated, cone-shaped with octagonal bristles. The bristles are SO short and narrow that they harbor little to no product. You know how when you shave your legs that sometimes you miss some hair and your legs end up being bare with those occasional strips of hair? That's exactly what this brush looks like; bare with 8 strips of bristles. In all honesty, in the battle of me vs. the brush, the brush won each time; it kept all the product. Its design makes transferring the product absolutely impossible, which was another letdown.
The staying power, however, wasn't horrible; I think that it did a decent job of staying put all day, with some minor flaking. It came off easily when it was time.
It is a bit on the pricier side; I think around $15 or something like that. I don't remember exactly. The packaging is very bareMinerals- matte black with a shiny black cap. In all honesty, I don't know if I just got a defective tube, but Flawless Definition didn't work out for me. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NerdyLibrarianGirl on 10/22/2013 7:38:00 PM more reviews by NerdyLibrarianGirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really didn't like this mascara. I received the sample size from sephora, and was excited to try it because I love alot of other products from the brand, like their mineral foundation. I hated the brush, which is a very traditional thick bristle brush that was a bit difficult to apply. The formula was extremely dry. It flaked a little during the day. It smelled totally weird! Not for me. Would not purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RadCandy on 8/8/2013 12:36:00 AM more reviews by RadCandy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After using this for 2 weeks I have decided to give it 4/5 stars. Its an amazing mascara, totally defines but isn't as volumizing as I would have liked. After I finish this, Ill probably go out and find something else to try.

--------------------
I am amazed at how amazing this mascara is, especially for such an affordable price ($32NZD at Mecca Cosmetica). I didn't have enough money to replace my HG mascara (Chantecaille Faux Cils Longest Lash) so I decided to give Bare Minerals a try since I really do love their foundations and lipsticks. My first time using it I was pretty happy with the results; my eyelashes are long and defined at the moment and it is such a buildable mascara. No clumping, no flaky and no transfer (yet - but Ill keep you posted. I do have slightly oily eyelids so some mascara's do give me those lil stripes that I have to continually wipe away)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 noelle001 on 8/7/2013 10:55:00 AM more reviews by noelle001

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Not the best mascara I've ever tried, but I like it! It definitely lengthens and volumizes. It dries pretty quickly and never clumps or smudges. The packaging and brush are both great. :)
One thing I would complain about is that this mascara is pretty difficult to remove. I ended up losing almost 10 eyelashes while removing it last night. It's also a little pricey.
Bottom Line: It's a very good quality mascara, but it's pricey and hard to remove. Not exactly sure whether I'll repurchase it or not, but I'm leaning towards no.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Mascara products