Bare Escentuals Flawless Definition mascara

3.8

182 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Beeswax (Cera Alba), Stearic Acid, Diisostearoyl Trimethylpropane SiloxySilicate, Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Silica, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Triethanolamine, Ozokerite, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Rhodochrosite Extract, Malachite Extract, Smithsonite Extract, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Tocopheryl Acetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol. ( /-):Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 3/4/2015 8:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I loved the brush that this mascara comes with. It separates lashes and coats them evenly without clumping. It's very almost like rich (the mascara texture). I was in love w this product... For the first hour or two. After a hour or two it began to flake and lose the curl of my lashes. It lengthend at first then just clumped up, shortened and looked nasty. I didn't get this item at full retail price, but I think the original asking price is kind of ridiculous when drugstores mascara hold up better. I will say, it does come with a lot of product which is a plus.



on 2/8/2015 3:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't like this mascara. I was at sephora and bought it impulsively without doing my research because it was 40% off and I was allured by its brush. I had been looking for a mascara to achieve a natural, everyday look for a while and its claims suited me. Sephora says "A mascara that defines, lengthens, and lifts lashes." It does nothing of these...the only difference I can see is that my lashes look a bit thicker since they are coated with product.At the end of the day it looks like I have no mascara on. Also it dried after almost a month. At least I didn't pay the full price for this. On the upside it doesn't run or smudge and I am definitely keeping the brush which is perfect!


on 12/28/2014 2:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pretty good product. I have sparse, long lashes that grow straight down, so even when I curl them, if I apply a wet mascara, my lashes wilt. This formula is nice for my kind of lashes because it's a little dry, and lightweight. It hasn't smudged for me, and holds a curl well. It doesn't really add volume, but it draws attention to your lashes. I got the waterproof - might as well be anything-proof. I tried to get it off with makeup remover and facial cleanser and it's still on my lashes. I don't know if I like that. I guess it's a good product for the first time you sleep with someone - because it's not going anywhere.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2014 9:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I quite like this mascara. It doesn't add much in the way of volume but it noticeably lengthens my lashes without the irritation I experience from other mascaras. I lalso, love the way it makes my eyes look. Recommend to women with sensitive eyes.

Update: Whoa! Flake City! I don't know where I went wrong the next couple of times i wore this. I was left with flakes all around my eyes while I was enjoying dinner with my husband and daughter. I just knew I was looking good too, until I actually saw myself! In the bin this one goes.


on 9/19/2014 7:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

so average. It doesn't lengthen the lashes nor does it curl them or volumisem them. and it also takes abou 15 minutes to dry.. thankfully I bought it cheap on strawberrynet


on 4/3/2014 1:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like the wand on this mascara, how it isn't clumpy and very easy to apply. I like the way it initially looks on my lashes, but I would need to pair it with a volumzing mascra to get really noticeable lashes. Unfortunately, it has the same problems for me as any non-waterproof mascara -- it doesn't hold a curl and it runs or flakes when my sensitive eyes tear, which is a daily occurrence, especially in social situations. I think it's nice for someone who doesn't need waterproof mascara and wants a nice, defined, lengthened look for their lashes.


on 2/2/2014 10:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've found that I can't just wriggle the brush up for this mascara like I usually do, or I end up with big clumps. I apply it just at the base first, then comb up a little higher from the base. The result is defined, feathery looking natural lashes. Issues I have with it is that it won't hold a curl, not enough length, and is not buildable as the formula is quite dry and sticky.


on 1/16/2014 5:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I hate this stuff. Does nothing for me.


on 12/29/2013 12:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been very happy with this mascara. I just purchased my 2nd tube after exhausting the first. I have sensitive eyes, and this mascara doesn't irritate at all. I haven't had any flake issues and it stays put all day for me. I wear glasses, so a lengthening mascara doesn't work for me, which is why I like this. Also, I wear minimal make-up, and this is more of a minimalist mascara. It won't go on heavy, it won't volumize. What it DOES is give your eyelashes and enhanced NATURAL look. I love the bristles on the brush and that they're shorter than many other brands. I feel I have more control over the application. If you're looking for a NATURAL look and you have sensitive eyes, this product is great. And, I got my latest tube from ebay, brand new unopened for about 1/2 the price as regular. Enjoy!


on 11/11/2013 2:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This mascara disappointed me beyond belief. This is unfortunate, seeing the absolutely awesome reviews on it. *Jumps off the bandwagon*
I bought this mascara when I was looking for some new products to try; Flawless Definition seemed like a really great buy. After consulting my two most trustworthy sources, Master Google and MakeupAlley, it seemed very promising and a great product worth the money! I loved Flawless Definition Volume, so why not? I bought Flawless Definition and put it away for several months, since I had no need to start using it at the time.
I'm not sure, to this day, whether or not that was the mistake that cursed this mascara's performance; I have not opened the tube until the day that I started using it. At first glance after about three months, Flawless Definition looked suspiciously dry, and the brush looked way too sparse. Anyway, here's how it all went down.
The color of it was pretty decent. A nice black, maybe a very dark grey-black, but it looked black on my lashes.
The formula was an absolute letdown. It was completely beyond what I imagined it to be; it was dry, dry, DRY. I could literally get almost no product onto my lashes at all, it was so dry! It stuck to the brush and would not transfer. Whatever product did transfer only succeeded in coloring the base of my lashes; it wouldn't even consider the tips. The result were wimpy lashes that were unevenly coated and looked shorter than they were before! I'm a black liquid liner fan, and my lashes literally could not be seen with my eyeliner on. There was hardly any difference, and putting on multiple coats was completely useless. I was completely disappointed.
The brush was one of the worst I've ever encountered. It is elongated, cone-shaped with octagonal bristles. The bristles are SO short and narrow that they harbor little to no product. You know how when you shave your legs that sometimes you miss some hair and your legs end up being bare with those occasional strips of hair? That's exactly what this brush looks like; bare with 8 strips of bristles. In all honesty, in the battle of me vs. the brush, the brush won each time; it kept all the product. Its design makes transferring the product absolutely impossible, which was another letdown.
The staying power, however, wasn't horrible; I think that it did a decent job of staying put all day, with some minor flaking. It came off easily when it was time.
It is a bit on the pricier side; I think around $15 or something like that. I don't remember exactly. The packaging is very bareMinerals- matte black with a shiny black cap. In all honesty, I don't know if I just got a defective tube, but Flawless Definition didn't work out for me. I wouldn't recommend it.


Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top