Lise Watier • Sun Smart Universal UV Shield SPF30 • Sunscreen

rated 3.5(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 SiteNo8 on 8/3/2013 9:57:00 AM more reviews by SiteNo8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this sunscreen. It is a mineral sunscreen, not chemical. The whitish cast melts into the skin after a moment leaving an invisible, smooth, powdery finish. It can be used as a primer. Wish this was less expensive so I could use it all over! It only takes two pumps to protect my face & neck; a little goes a long way. I also find it to be somewhat mattifying on my combo skin. I bought it in June at SDM for $30.00 CDN (1 ounce). Edited in October to say it protected me all summer. I'm on a medication that makes me very susceptible to burning, and I had no problems. I also notice that it is marked down to $23 on the Lise Watier website.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ElleDuncan on 2/20/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by ElleDuncan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've bought this twice. And it runs out fast. You want to get it on sale or with a Lise Watier stamp card or something to soften the blow of the price tag!

BUT. Think of all the wasted dollars on sun products that
1) break you out
2) aren't effective (as in, you burn in the sun)
3) aren't workable with makeup (powder or liquid or both)
4) have unstable formulas
5) have terrible packaging
6) have cancer or hormone disrupting chemicals.

Hmm.
So that's why I wear a fine layer of this daily and have for six months.
My skin is acne prone, sensitive, yellow under-toned and fair. This is white, true, and you need a very fine layer. It's not unlike the over-priced Clarins sun shield stuff that has way more sketchy ingredients in it (check out Paula's choice views, to boot.)

I have found that when I am careful to do the following, this works well:
keep skin exfoliated gently
moisturize well before applying
use a fine fine fine layer; it's not chemical; it's meant to sit on top, not absorb deep down like chemical sunscreens
apply concealer and or makeup and set with mineral powder that has extra sun protection. If you feel it's giving you a whitish cast, use a tiny bit of bronzer. I actually kind of like how it tones down redness.
For a day on the skateboard or bike in full sun, I"d still wear my helmet or sun hat and big shades and just don't lie around in the sun. But I used this all through our long August and September of straight sun and I'm out with my dog and sports all the time - I never tanned and I tan super easily. It does work.
Because I am a makeup minimalist and spend my bucks on skin care not cosmetics, I find this price high but worth it. I spent two summers in 2010 and 2011 trying so many low, high, and ridiculous sunscreens that broke me out, stressed me out, and made me paranoid. This is worth my sanity!
It's a 4, all round. Lower the price? I'd call it a 5 easily.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* autumn95 on 1/8/2012 4:21:00 PM more reviews by autumn95

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I use this product as a primer. I use one pump over another sunscreen product. Siliconey feel does not cause breakouts for my acne prone skin. My face looks almost flawless and this is compatible with makeup. I can wear this on my eyelids. I usually wear Mineral Makeup over this.It is pricey at $38.00 cdn for one ounce tube. This is a photostable sunscreen, primer, pore minimizer product all in one and available in Canadian drug stores. I intend to buy again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 windkey on 12/6/2011 10:13:00 AM more reviews by windkey

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this, but didn't.

The good:
Mineral base, no perfumes
Whitish cast on application fades quickly
Amazing finish; feels almost like a primer, and is the only sunscreen I've tried (in my admittedly limited range) that isn't shiny
The bad:
My forehead and cheeks came out in tiny bumps after a couple of weeks of daily use. Too much silicone in it for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Icaria on 6/4/2011 9:11:00 AM more reviews by Icaria

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

What can I say besides fabulously great! I recieved a sample last month and hadn't brought myself to try it since I was never impressed by this company's products. Wow! I applied it over my moisturizer and at first was wondering about the white cast on my skin. The silicone in this formula makes it feel fresh and *powdery*. Once it was evenly applied, face, neck and decolleté, I was able to do my makeup almost right away. I have combination skin wich tends to get oilier in the summer due to the heat and humidity (perfectly normal). This product kept my face matte, makeup stayed in place. I didn't have to use powder for the rest of the day. Perfect makeup base, I even had the impression that my pores where less apparent. The reason I gave it a 4 is the price wich I find a little steep $38CAD. If I can't find a similar product for less, I willl most likely purshase this one since a little goes a long way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bittersweet_delite on 8/26/2010 12:21:00 PM more reviews by bittersweet_delite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

***Update***
After finishing this suncreen I have decided I won't be repurchasing for the time being. Although it is the best facial sunscreen I have come by (the ONLY one that hasnt made me break out), I noticed that my skin just always looks dehydrated when I use this...I even changed up my skincare routine to compensate. I use this as a daily sunscreen and primer (it feels like a silicone primer), but when I switch it out for my Smashbox photofinish I find that my makeup lasts longer, looks better, and my skin doesnt look as though it's got as many fine lines. I just ordered the Spf 40 mineral sunscreen from Josie Maran. We'll see how that goes.

***Original Review***

Hands down, the best sunscreen out there. Mineral sunscreens means no irritating chemicals making me break out! It feels and works like a primer and actually makes my makeup stay fresh all day long. Great hygenic packaging and one pump is the perfect amount for my face. I put in on every AM and will be buying this product for the rest of my life.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 8/3/2010 12:36:00 PM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is great. It does seem a bit pricey for the amount you get but I value protecting my facial skin from the sun at almost any cost. The packaging is sanitary and easy to use. The texture is delightful...it's not heavy or greasy the way so many high protection sunscreens can be (makes me not want to put them on my face). And this seems as though it has a primer incorporated into it, though it isn't billed as a primer. But it leaves that matte, silky finish on my skin so I look "finished" if I choose to go bare faced but it also gives a great "canvas" if I want to put a liquid or powder foundation or a MSF on top.

I would not hesitate to repurchase.

UPDATE/ALERT: As of July 2013, this is showing at the Lise Watier site at a discounted price. This leads me to believe that Sun Smart might be on the road to being discontinued (I think very few people even know about this product and some balk at paying the price for what seems a fairly small tube). If this is the case, I will be purchasing another tube of this the next time I'm at SDM (where I can check the expiry date before buying) because this is really such a good product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BellaG55 on 7/19/2010 7:34:00 PM more reviews by BellaG55

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product's packaging is the best I have seen for any skincare. It is a tube, therefore hygenic and protective of active ingredients inside (therefore less preservatives!) AND it is a pump which allows one to controle how much product one wants.
I was desperately looking for a primer plus sunscreen. I am 55; my skin is going through hormonal changes and is very sensitive. I would like to have to apply as few layers of "stuff" on it as possible so I try to combine steps. I need the primer to even out my skin, pores, wrinkles and sunspots. It's a must! It has to have staying power because I sweat a lot. Very difficult time of life! After many tries with different primers, Sun Smart turned out to be The Best Thing, merci Lise Watier! It glides on and is absorbed very easily, evens out and preps the skin beautifully for mineral or liquid foundation. One really does not need very much. Let your skin tell you how much to add. My makeup goes on very smoothly and stays all day. I don't sweat it off: a miracle for me.
Just one note: because I do have enlarged pores on my T-zone, I apply a pore minimizing cream directly on my skin before applying the Sun Smart. I find I do not need a moisturizer at all although other parts of my face are dry and sensitive. I am certainly repurchasing this product.
__________________________________________

One year later: I repurchased for Summer 2011, used 2 tubes and remain just as satisfied with this product :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lillill on 3/18/2010 7:02:00 PM more reviews by lillill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

on the ongoing search for a great sunscreen, i shelled out 40 canadian dollhairs for this one..oh it feels great on the skin, adds a subtle highlight to my skin and the whitish cast fades into and away quickly. love it but will probably keep searching for a less expensive sunscreen with the oxides in it.. (cant do the chemical pabas and stuff :(
update;;yep to expensive (almost 40$ ) and lasts 1 month if lucky with daily application

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* incognito on 10/20/2009 11:10:00 PM more reviews by incognito

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had such high hopes for this product that I shelled out nearly $40 Cdn for it... and it does have a lot going for it in theory: SPF 30 physical sunscreen, no parabens, awesome pump packaging. In practice, this has a whitish cast and worse than that, after the initially silky feel on the skin, this product seems to dry out my skin and makes it FLAKEY!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lise Watier products

More Sunscreen products