Bare Escentuals • Matte Foundation spf 15 • Powder

rated 3.4(729 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 jlin0913 on 2/24/2015 2:18:00 AM more reviews by jlin0913

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have a lot of redness from acne and also active acne. I dont not find that this foundation covers my imperfections well even with a concealer. I bought the matte formula because i have pretty oily skin in my t zone area. This didnt do much to help with oiliness. I use a pretty dense brush to apply this knowing that i need quite a bit but after two coats, i dont find that it covers it well. I still prefer either my estee lauder double wear or makeup forever hd.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tracymichelle on 2/23/2015 5:28:00 PM more reviews by tracymichelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I only have a bit of redness on my skin - no major scarring, pigmentation or acne - that needs to be covered and this does nothing. All it does is cause major itching and irritation because, as I later found out, I am allergic to Bismuth Oxychloride. Why they use bismuth in their foundation is beyond me because about 30% of people are allergic to it and even more are sensitive to it and experience slight problems. The original bareMinerals doesn't cover, either. The only face product from bM that I like is their Mineral Veil because it a decent setting powder and doesn't contain bismuth. However, elf carries something just like it with very similar ingredients (and no talc) for about 1/5 the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lorel1 on 2/23/2015 4:38:00 PM more reviews by Lorel1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My skin feels irritated & tight. This product will be going back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kemps on 2/19/2015 9:45:00 AM more reviews by Kemps

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

So... I have been looking for a new powder. I currently use MAC Studio Fix in NW22.. I think my skin tone may be neutral rather than warm specifically.. but it works fine. I love this powder.. but still wanted to see if there was something better out there for me!

I wear powder during the normal working week, and the Estee Lauder Double Wear Light if i'm going out. Pretty much everything makes my oily skin spotty.. so I just wear heavy makeup on rare occassions and not for too long and I seem to be ok!

I went into Boots and ended up at the Bare Minerals counter. The girl decided I was medium Beige without colour matching me and surprised by her confidence I decided she must know her stuff. So off I trot with my new pot of Original powder foundation, looking forward to trying it the next day.

I put it on the next morning, buffing a small amount over my skin.. and ending up looking pretty much like a disco ball, every line and pore on my face highlighted with irridescent powder! I don't think it was even two hours before I was covered in grease and the powder had migrated across my face. It also oxidised badly and I resembled a sweaty Oompa Lumpa.

I went back to Boots that afternoon with every intention of getting a full refund, but the girl was very appologetic, suggested I try the matte version. She colour matched me this time and it turned out I was the lightest shade they did!

Next day I tried the powder.. no mishaps. This is now my second day.. I have a couple of spots on my forehead, but that could potentially be something to do with the previous powder, so I'm going to say so far so good! The coverage is light-medium and the texture is very smooth and light. My friend works for MAC and is unimpressed with my choice.. but for the moment I am standing by my decision!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meaninc on 2/18/2015 9:18:00 AM more reviews by Meaninc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. For years I have sworn off Bare Escentuals because it made my dark skin look clammy. The matte foundation was the solution for this. I love the moderate coverage of this foundation and how light it feels on. I cannot feel it at all and it lasts all day long with the help of blotting tissues in the afternoon. I use the golden tan and it works very well for my DDD skin. My complexion is similar to Queen Latifah's and I was originally matched to golden dark. big mistake. I use the golden tan during most of the year, and add some of the golden dark when I start to darken in the summer months. A little goes a long way with this. I have been using this product for about 3 years now and will continue to in the future. I have very sensitive skin and this is the only foundation that does not irritate my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kabukik on 2/17/2015 10:37:00 PM more reviews by kabukik

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really do like this powder foundation for everyday light use. It is a light coverage, so it just even the skin out; I have some hyper-pigmentation (light to medium dark spots on my cheeks) from the sun, and even when it doesn't erase it, it does tone it down quite a bit and for a more natural look I like it. The powder is super silky and it doesn't give me a chalky look, on the contrary it gives me a bit of a velvety look and feel to my skin.
I also really like it as a finishing powder over my foundation, right know the liquid foundation I am using is a bit light for my skin but with this powder foundation it makes it match perfectly and at the same time making it last. Never thought the combo would work but it does and it even give me more coverage.
I do recommend this foundation but I do caution that it contains an ingredient that in few cases it may cause you to break out or cause a rash, it happened to a friend, but it has worked great on my skin.
So, like I said, this is a great light-weight and light-coverage foundation for the everyday, it isn't as expensive as most high end ones, so it is a plus, and also they have a wide range of colors, so there is a good chance you can find the one that matches your skin just perfectly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JohannaJeannett on 2/9/2015 6:52:00 PM more reviews by JohannaJeannett

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried loving this and I just can't. I have a ton of acne scarring (currently on retin-a) and no matter how many times I try to build up the coverage it doesn't cover or conceal ANYTHING. Seems like all it does is even out my skin tone, but it leaves my scars out in the open.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jskerkie on 2/8/2015 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Jskerkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Used this several times and broke out bad with huge bumps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hurdlegirl on 2/3/2015 9:01:00 PM more reviews by hurdlegirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

For the longest time I was using Revlon's Color Stay Liquid Foundation and I was in love- really, I was. But after going through a fairly bad breakout (for me this means some redness and a couple of small pimples on my t-zone) I began becoming a little less impressed with the foundation I had considered my HG. Fast forward though three days of research later and I stumbled across a 20% off purchase coupon from my local Ulta and off to the store I zoomed. The sales rep at Ulta was incredibly helpful and after questioning me about my skin tone agreed with my idea that I should try the Matte version of the BE foundation. Within minutes we were attempting to match a shade to my skin and she was explaining the whole swirl, tap, buff deal that BE is so associated with. The moment she touched the brush to my cheek I was in LOVE and I have been since purchasing it.This foundation is totally weightless, no matter how many layers you do. I have pretty oily skin and use this in the morning after I swipe on a non-pore blocking moisturizer in the areas of my face that need it (namely my chin) and do a light coating of a oil-minimizing toner. I personally do two even layers over my concealer and then go back over with my EcoTools brush and lightly pat more of the product into the areas where I need it. I have certainly found that I need very little to cover my entire face both times and have a feeling that this one purchase will last me a VERY long time. I have found that this foundation can slide a little bit in my t-zone area throughout the day, but if you gently pat it down every couple of hours with a oil blotter, it will stay picture perfect. I personally find that it has a light-medium coverage depending on how you use it and I cannot use it without a concealer, but that doesn't bother me a bit. I will definitely be looking more into BE products and will certainly buy this when it runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sheri101 on 1/28/2015 9:41:00 AM more reviews by Sheri101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have used bare minerals off an on for years so I was excited when they came out with a matte formula, however, it doesn't do so well for me. I'm 32 y/o, pale, with hyper pigmentation, acne marks, and a few active pimples from time to time, this didn't cover at all! And the more you use to get "build-able" coverage, the worse it looks. =-( Although it didn't break me out nearly as bad as the original I can't justify buying it anymore due to the pore coverage, settling into every pore on my face, and causing major dry out. And I gave it a fair try buying it three times. Even with a primer it didn't work, it actually looked worse and dried me out. The original has much better coverage but is still a flop for me as well due to causing break outs, settling horribly into fine lines and pores, and drying me out as well. Sadly bare minerals powder foundations just aren't for my aging/acne prone skin anymore. Maybe I'll give their new gel foundation a try though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products