OPI • Nail Envy - Original • Treatments

rated 4.1(377 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 snowglow on 10/20/2014 9:34:00 AM more reviews by snowglow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

HG nail strengthener! I have thin, peeling nails that used to look ghastly all the time due to a nail biting habit (disgusting). I tried a variety of nail strengtheners from Sally Hansen, Orly, and Essie, but none of them did anything to keep my nails from peeling. This product makes my nails significantly harder and stronger, and as a result I can grow them out past the tips which was never possible before. One of the key ingredients that distinguishes Nail Envy is formaldehyde - yes, the same ingredient morticians use, so it definitely works. This was key in helping me break my nail biting habit because formaldehyde is highly toxic when ingested.

Obviously, this is NOT a suitable product for those who prioritize using natural and organic products. But it delivers major results, which is worth it for me, and helped me break one of my worst habits when I had been trying to quit for years.

Nail Envy is decent as a base coat, although that is not the main use of this product and I get longer wear out of other OPI and Essie base coats. But I'll always have a bottle of this on hand to keep my nails shiny and durable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SavannahMurdock on 9/15/2014 4:57:00 PM more reviews by SavannahMurdock

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the absolute best nail growth product I've ever tried, and I've tried a lot. My nails are stronger and longer than they have ever been. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has problems growing their nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chrisk5219 on 9/11/2014 10:19:00 AM more reviews by chrisk5219

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Luv this! Had gel overlays for approximately 6 years, and my nails were a mess. I used this as directed and within a month had short nails, and within 2 months experienced some short growth! would definitely recommend. I know several reviews have said you have to keep using it to see results, and I can't say otherwise, I would definitely recommend continued use. I have purchased more expensive products and not seen near the results I have with Nail Envy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 av315 on 9/6/2014 7:30:00 AM more reviews by av315

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for a while now and I don't notice any improvement in the condition of my nails and it also doesn't do much to strengthen them while I'm wearing it so I wouldn't rebuy. That being said, I didn't know that there was a Nail Envy for thin nails and mine are really thin and soft so maybe I should try that one but even as a regular nail strengthener this just was so disappointing that I doubt I'll spend the same money on the other version. In my experience, Sally Hansen's Diamond Strength is way better for making my nails really strong and hardening them in case that's what you're looking for. Also, as a base coat, this is AWFUL on me. I've never had chipping in a matter of hours but yesterday evening I put on 2 thin coats of this and then two coats of OPI French Quarter for Your Thoughts and less than 18 hours later I've got chipped nails. I've worn this nail polish with other base coats and that never happened so, for me personally, this is neither a good base coat nor a good strengthener.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PinkDahlia119 on 8/2/2014 12:11:00 PM more reviews by PinkDahlia119

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This doesn't do anything as a base coat for keeping polish on- when I used it, I have never had a manicure last more than three days. Also, it contains formaldehyde, so continued used use is not recommended- one of the side effects of continued use is nails separating from the nail bed- yikes!

Not for me. I also noticed the yellowing that other reviewers mentioned. Going to keep looking. So far I'm leaning towards DIY cuticle oil overdose: olive, jojoba, and coconut carrier oils with a few drops of tea tree + sweet orange oil. I rub it into the nail bed and under the free edge until the nail absorbs it three times a day. So far I really like Orly Nailtrition as a stand alone treatment- but it required going without polish for a two week treatment period.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aidabit on 7/26/2014 5:41:00 AM more reviews by aidabit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used it for almost a year. It did nothing for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheMickster on 7/1/2014 5:34:00 PM more reviews by TheMickster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Nail envy is a great product! If used as directed, nails grow like crazy! When I grow out my nails I use this and people mistake my real nails for gel tips all the time. Would definitely buy again, although I must say it is very overpriced. It is great on the nails alone or as a base coat

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chrissie69 on 6/25/2014 3:37:00 PM more reviews by chrissie69

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Nail Envy, Nail Saver!!! This product has worked a miracle on my nails! Six weeks ago I began going to aqua-aerobics 3X a week and I paid a price. My nails were breaking, splitting, a total disaster. Hooray for Nail Envy! This product, used almost daily, seemingly protects my nails from the chlorinated water. Amazing stuff! My nails are not splitting, not breaking, and I am a happy camper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chri5tin3 on 6/23/2014 3:07:00 AM more reviews by chri5tin3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an absolute dream to use and the results are great. My natural nails, for the first time in my life, actually grew past the ends of my fingers. They were still peeling and breaking but nowhere near as much as before, and they actually felt hard when I applied slight pressure to them. As a base coat, I was so impressed because it lessened the chipping and provided a smooth, gelish surface to work with. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a nail hardener or base coat. The only downside is the price, here in Australia it is $20 minimum, however I lucked out at Trade Secret and got this with the Avoplex cuticle oil for $19.95. I'm ordering Duri Rejuvacote to see if it works better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aimeeb3 on 5/17/2014 9:27:00 AM more reviews by Aimeeb3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been a nail biter for years. My nails split , peeled and were always breaking. I did some research and this was the best. I have been using for about a month now and have amazing long nails with no peels or breaks! I use two coats as a base coat and polish over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Treatments products