Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil spf 25 • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Econobabe on 9/28/2014 11:03:00 AM more reviews by Econobabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

In reading the review below mine, at the BE store in the mall when I looked at the SPF version of the mineral veil I did ask if the coloring is different. I was concerned it would be too pink-toned, but she said it didn't make any difference at all in color. I didn't seem to notice any difference either, but I did only look quickly. I would prefer a less pink-toned version as well, but I need the SPF because i AM pink-toned and very fair (I wear the lightest shade in BE foundation) thus I burn very easily. I had only been buying the non-SPF version because I wasn't aware this existed until I went to the BE store, but I do like this product as a finishing power for the matte foundation. I wear it every day and it lasts about a month. I wish it was cheaper, but it does it's job of keeping oiliness at bay (and of course has SPF). Definitely would repurchase. I actually don't know if the packaging is the most efficient either, since you can end up wasting a lot of product or just applying too much, but I've just accepted that it's messy and that's something I can live with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angiee0215 on 10/12/2013 10:25:00 AM more reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I finished up a 0.75 gram sample jar of this before reviewing this product. I got it in a sephora summer essentials kit and payed for it with my own money

About me: Dry skin in the winter. Oily skin in the summer and normal between. I used this mostly in the summer and some in the fall while using it up. My skin is very sensitive and acne prone. I am NC15-20 and I have very yellow toned skin.

Pros
-didn't break me out
-SPF 25
-isn't cakey
-didn't leave any type of white or gray cast on my skin
-great for setting concealer under the eyes
-sets foundation well
-matte finish but did not look cakey on my skin

Cons
-loose powder - it would go everywhere every time I open and close the jar
-it is slightly too pink toned for my face. However, it was excellent for use under the eyes for the pink tone
-not travel friendly

Will I repurchase? No. I wish it wasn't pink toned and I didn't like how it made a mess in my bathroom every time I applied it. I did like how it was spf 25 and I like how it did not break me out and set my foundation very well.

If you do not mind loose powder and if you are more pink toned - then this is a product for you. However, I think it is a little expensive for what it is because there are many great drugstore options. If there were not any drugstore options and you again don't mind loose and that it is pink toned then this is an excellent powder. However, if you are more yellow toned like me and you like pressed SPF powders, I like the PF airbrush powder foundation in spf. The Translucent is a dead on match for NC15 and works great under the eyes as well. I don't know if BE has a pressed version of this, but if they do I plan on checking it out since I did like the product for under the eyes. It is just not travel friendly

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Inuki on 9/6/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by Inuki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the BE mineral veil SPF 25 in translucent and had to take it back to the store for a refund. The powder left a very obvious whitecast on my NC 20 skin to the point where my face had a grey tint to it. The finish was also very dull and lifeless.

There are other sunscreen powders on the market with similar ingredients that are more cosmetically elegant. I prefer Jane Iredale's Powder Me Dry Sunscreen or powder foundations by Physicans Formula that have SPF 30 or SPF 50.

All in all, I was very disappointed with BE, this product does not live up to the mineral veil hype at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ninna1 on 4/22/2013 10:24:00 AM more reviews by ninna1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Great product!! Gives you a great finish and a healthy looking glow. Wouldn't say it makes your foundation last longer though..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beantowngrl on 2/1/2013 9:44:00 PM more reviews by beantowngrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am a huge fan of the original mineral veil. I have combination skin and my tzone gets really oily and so I always use mineral veil to set my makeup. I was running out of it so went to Ulta and saw this one. Was really excited coz of the spf ...........well an hr after using this one my skin was oily. so oily that I have not seen it like this in many years. so,,,,,,,,,,,,,, this one is going back and I'm getting the original.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fizzybiz on 9/26/2012 10:01:00 AM more reviews by fizzybiz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

i apply this over my bare minerals foundation and it gives me a lovely glow and a clearer looking complextion. it is very expensive considering it is technically just a finishing powder, but until i find one that works the same for cheaper, i will be buying this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraNikkita on 9/2/2012 3:40:00 PM more reviews by SaraNikkita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this over my foundation. Works great, not too heavy but sets my make up & gets rid of shine. Definitely going to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genica on 8/26/2012 12:23:00 AM more reviews by genica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This works great with BE mineral foundation. I've tried this with a Sonia Kashuk tinted moisturizer & a liquid foundation (I can't remember the name), but it didn't work well with either of those. Especially with the SK tinted moisturizer it looked awful, accentuating flaws rather than hiding them. Since I don't use BE foundation anymore (or any other loose mineral foundations) this product isn't very useful. When I run out I won't repurchase, which sucks because I love that it's a powder spf. I just wish it worked better with different types of foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Arizona4ever on 8/4/2012 10:30:00 PM more reviews by Arizona4ever

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Overall, I am not impressed with this product. It claimed to control oil, but it did not. Also, I noticed no difference in my skin's appearance after I applied it. If anything, it was too light for my skin tone, so I had to apply bronzer on top. However, the container was convenient and it did cover the occasional scar well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dyejob98 on 7/23/2012 2:57:00 PM more reviews by dyejob98

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This gives me a flawless finish, and I get compliments on my soon when I use it. I do not use BE foundation, I prefer a liquid or cream

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products