John Frieda • Root Awakening Nourishing Moisturizing Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.7(46 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 blackhalo on 9/30/2013 7:50:00 PM more reviews by blackhalo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love the smell, it's one of the reasons I chose to try it, mint is so refreshing.
The texture is quite creamy and slippery when wet so I feel like it's not getting into my hair thoroughly and I probably am using more than I need to.
I did not use it with the shampoo duo, but this alone seems to help my scalp not be so dry and I haven't seen flakes in a long time.
As for my hair I don't think it does anything special there, I still have fly aways everywhere. Because it's good on my scalp I would probably buy it again if I can find a shampoo and serum solution for my hair.

Edit: Removing 1 lippy for winter came with a vengeance and now instead I'm alternating H&S and Giovanni TeaTree shampoo, using GVP TeaTree scalp treatment, and a conditioner that actually makes my hair soft. My hair is in much better shape, as is my scalp, and I regret sticking with this conditioner and Pantene mousturizing shampoo for so long, just to save a few bucks and smell nice(TeeTrea imo smells not very good).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HotPinkGurl on 3/13/2012 11:44:00 PM more reviews by HotPinkGurl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I DO NOT like the conditioner but i DO LOVE the SHAMPOO! If you have dry hair its proably not for you and like i said the conditioner SUCKS but the SHAMPOO is AMAZING

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tropicalbabe on 2/28/2012 3:44:00 PM more reviews by tropicalbabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought both the Cond & Shampoo for Oily scalp and i LOVE it! I tried this because my scalp gets oily very quick and after trying this out, it seemed to minimize the oil to where i can tolerate it for an extra day. I love the smell of mint so i cant complain about that. i just like scented shampoos period. WOuld i purchase this again? YES. It leaves my hair soft and it tangles less than before. I love it and will keep repurchasing :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 EL2016 on 2/26/2012 12:59:00 PM more reviews by EL2016

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I did not like this conditioner very much.... It didn't seem to moisturize very well and my hair feels dryer after I use it. Also, one thing that really bothered me was that my hair came out more tangly than when I went in. I usually comb my hair before and during my shower after I apply conditioner, and while in the shower, I could not get my comb through it. I have never had this problem with any other conditioner. My hair doesn't feel greasy after a day, but it does feel very different (much more coarse) in texture which bothers me. I actually do like the smell, which is a deal breaker for a lot of people. It reminds me of salt water taffy XD But other than that I would never buy this again....it's definitely not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 manamana on 1/26/2012 11:45:00 PM more reviews by manamana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on sale as I generally gravitate towards more affordable drugstore options. I was intrigued to try this and was horrified when I used it for the first time because of its overpowering minty scent!

Scents are a major hit or miss for me, and although I like mint I'm not crazy about anything but my toothpaste smelling like it. The scent is so strong-I wish it was a scent that I liked. I actually questioned whether I would be able to finish this product.

Eventually, I came around and got a little immune to the scent. The conditioner itself is nothing exceptional. I wasn't blown away and turned into a believer. I'm glad I got to try it, but I wouldn't bother again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lusciouslyna89 on 12/29/2011 4:46:00 PM more reviews by lusciouslyna89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This my current FAV conditioner.
Reasons why I love it:
-Moisturizes & detangles
-Helps my curls form
-Doesn't weigh down my hair
-Seems to keep my hair fresh days after.
-Love the minty sensation on my scalp.
-the scent doesn't bother me

My only complaint is that its not offered in a bigger packaging.
Nontheless, Ill continue using this conitioner as long as it keeps working & as long as it doesn't get discontinued...I hope not!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmarrs on 9/13/2011 4:39:00 PM more reviews by mmarrs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Better than average conditioner. Conditioned my hair well and smells good

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 9/5/2011 1:48:00 AM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is an average conditioner, nothing too special. Great smell, very refreshing and reasonably moisturizing. Left my hair feeling a bit weighed down and it got greasy quickly within the next day or two after washing. Not especially moisturizing or softening. Meh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melaaniepayne on 8/5/2011 3:34:00 AM more reviews by melaaniepayne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

HANDS DOWN BEST SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER I HAVE EVER USED. and i have really frizzy hair and it helps so much, do yourself a favour and buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DollParts7 on 7/13/2011 12:27:00 PM more reviews by DollParts7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Not very moisturizing and it doesn't come in different sizes. The scent, again, I can't stand, and it's very drab, and just doesn't work. Another drugstore product with big promises, and little credibility.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Conditioner products