Pureology • Essential Repair Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.1(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eastend_Snob on 3/21/2014 4:42:00 AM more reviews by Eastend_Snob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been a HUGE fan of Pureology ever since I started using their Hydrate range. I think it's the best professional haircare brand for coloured hair. My hair had been damaged by years of constantly dying it violet-red. Before reverting back to brown, I noticed that I was experiencing more breakage and fallout. I switched from the Hydrate range to Essential Repair. The first thing that made me fall in love with this shampoo is how my hair feels after - clean, soft and comfortable - not like it's been dipped in toothpaste (Hydrate - I'm looking at you). The formula is green and bit runny but lathers up super well - a little goes a long way. It also rinses well and doesn't leave my hair feeling tangled. The smell is kind of floral or herbal, a bit like how the Kerastase products smell like. Will definitely buy again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TurtleMoon on 11/25/2013 1:33:00 PM more reviews by TurtleMoon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Like the conditioner in the same range, there is no way I would even contemplate spending 15.00GBP on a shampoo normally, so it's testament to how good this stuff is that since finishing the first bottle I've gone out and got another one (and the conditioner too).

This is a lovely, lightweight shampoo that leaves my hair feeling clean without weighing it down or drying it out. Unlike the scent of the conditioner, which is divine, the scent of the shampoo takes a little getting used to (I think it smells quite herby), but it isn't bad enough to put me off using it at all.

If you're looking for a really good hydrating shampoo that doesn't contain sulphates, has plant extracts, is 100% vegan and lasts AGES I would recommend giving this a try. It might seem expensive, but like the conditioner you need a really small amount to make a difference, meaning this latest me well over 2 months when using it pretty much every day.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 10/9/2013 5:17:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really nice shampoo. I believe that it has done good things for my hair in the past when I've used it. I dumped an ENTIRE bucket of army-green wall paint on my head (it fell on me) and spent 2+ hours cleaning up the room before getting around to cleaning up myself. My hair was trashed (more than usual). This shampoo was one product that really helped my hair come back to life. The conditioner is great too. The shampoo suds nicely & does cleanse (your hair will feel clean but not striped). I'm not overly fond of the scent. There are better scents in the product line, but at least it's not offensive. I noticed that several other reviewers liked the fragrance; they're probably right, I'm definitely picky on fragrance. All in all, it's a good shampoo that cleanses and heals hair. It's at a high price point, but I feel it is worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twee420 on 10/6/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by twee420

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The vegan formulation of this product originally attracted my attention, and now I'm hooked. I have used ever product out there and I can safely say that this product has revitalized my hair. Be warned, a little goes a long way as I find the shampoo is super concentrated, so literally use a pea size amount.
All in all, I will never use any other shampoo on the market.

Oh, and it smells amazing too, my boyfriend can't keep his hands off my hair!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 realcarr on 4/6/2013 10:37:00 AM more reviews by realcarr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried just about every single sulfate free shampoo on the market as I get my hair coloured a bright copper red and usually it starts fading after a week so was advised by my hair dresser that sulfate free was the way to go. Previously to using Essential repair, I had been forking out £25 on bumble and bumble colour max shampoo (and the same for the conditioner), which would last me just over a month as I have a lot of hair and need two washes to get it clean. I was also having the in-salon B&B colour max treatment and all 3 together did help it last to about 2.5 weeks but seemed to leave a film on my hair and it never felt clean, it also made my scalp really itchy. Anyway, I couldn't justify that amount of money any longer so did some research and thought I'd give Essential Repair a go - so glad I did!! This stuff is amazing!! Only needed a 10p size splodge to do all my hair in one wash and it left it feeling so soft I debated whether I needed a conditioner! The smell was fabulous and for the first time in weeks I didn't want to claw my scalp off cos of itching. I started using it for my first wash after newly colouring (and didn't have the bumble & bumble colour max treatment this time) and 3 weeks later my colour was still going strong and by the 4th week when I went to have it coloured again even my colourist was amazed at how little fade there was. Definitely my HG shampoo!! I now use it alongside the Essential Repair conditioner and the Essential Repair Color Max Spray and my hair is in the best condition it's ever been plus the colour stays true for much longer. It is pricey compared to drugstore shampoos but considering how long it lasts and how well it performs and comparing the price to the bumble & bumble range, I'm quite happy to pay that. Plus it's saved me the £16 I was paying for the bumble & bumble treatment every time my hair was coloured :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shampooaholic on 2/20/2013 6:59:00 AM more reviews by Shampooaholic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Hair: fine, straight, shoulder length, colored blond but letting it grow out to my natural color dark blond.A couple years ago I found my hair stylist that had relocated 10 years ago and she introduced me to the purology line (thankfully). She said I should start with this one because my hair was over colored, dry, and damaged. I bought the sample sizes just to try and it was more then enough. The small bottles lasted me about 2 months...and I wash my hair everyday. On a return visit to my stylist, she said my hair was so much healthier! It wasn't breaking as much and was silkier. But she suggested to switch to the hydrating shampoo because this shampoo did it's job. I wouldn't use it everyday. Maybe once or twice a week to build up the proteins. While I was using this, I found it weight my hair down. Try the sample bottles of Pureology first to see which one works for you. Although Pureology is expensive ($30/bottle) a full size bottle lasts me 6-8 months! I only use a dime size amount and that's washing everyday!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poreblaster2000 on 11/4/2012 5:14:00 PM more reviews by poreblaster2000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of lather this shampoo produces with just a small quarter size amount in my palm. Sulfate free shampoos I've tried in the past have barely lathered or required too much product to do so. It feels very moisturizing and gentle too which I love. It smells fine, not strong and doesn't linger. I'm excited to see how and if my hair will improve by going sulfate free. It's an expensive product but since a little goes a long way it doesn't seem that bad to me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sassyBrunette on 10/14/2012 10:13:00 PM more reviews by sassyBrunette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

After my hair had been processed 3 times to go blonde(which i am not anymore, i am back to brunette because i did not like being blonde)...my hair was very damaged. this helped a bit, but it made my hair feel greasy after about 12 hours and my hair also felt very coated. this was only after the first use.....so i dont know about this one....also felt sooo weird like gummy on my hair while in the shower...weird

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cherrycoke3254 on 7/20/2012 1:49:00 PM more reviews by cherrycoke3254

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

They now give you 8.5 ounces for 27 dollars, instead of 10.1!!!!
I like to get more for my money, not less. I feel like they redesigned the bottles just to stick it a little more to the consumer. While it is a perfectly good shampoo, I can't justify the price increase in an already super expensive product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elizabethreme on 5/29/2012 7:54:00 PM more reviews by elizabethreme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This shampoo lives up to its name. As some reviewers mentioned, it does contain soy derived proteins. Because of this, if your hair is not damaged enough, you will not experience the strengthening benefits of the protein. If your hair is damaged this shampoo will work to weightlessly strengthen the hair. The sulfate free lather is strong enough to get a good clean feeling but not strong enough to strip color. Helped me repair my hair from chemical/thermal damage enough to actually grow it out for once.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pureology products

More Shampoo products