Maybelline • Color Sensational (All Shades) • Lipstick

rated 3.8(235 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 cali5991 on 7/29/2014 4:10:00 PM more reviews by cali5991

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I'm used to wearing department store lipsticks from brands such as Clinique and Lancome. I wanted to save money, so I thought I'd buy a drugstore lipstick. I bought the product in Rose Quartz from Shoppers Drug Mart. It was $7 CAN before taxes, so it was on sale. I was not pleased with the product whatsoever!

First of all, I found the formula to be too sheer. I swiped it twice onto my lips and I got more sparkles than actual color. My mom told me that my lips are too sparkly! The lipstick has a bit of taste to it, which isn't good. I found it to be a goopy texture.

I recommend using a different drugstore lipstick or spending the few extra bucks and getting a good quality lipstick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Callque on 7/8/2014 3:45:00 AM more reviews by Callque

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I own 450 in Mauve Mania. It is a medium pink with purple undertones, very my lips but only better type of shade.

This is the only lipstick that I have ever worn regularly because every lipstick I've tried in the past dries out my lips and doesn't last. This goes on so creamy and lasts a whole work day without needing to reapply (I put on several layers and then blot my lips and don't eat/drink anything till it has set). I am very happy I found this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HannahLiaNeil on 6/8/2014 8:08:00 AM more reviews by HannahLiaNeil

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this from boots, it was in a bargain basket, I believe it cost me one or two pounds. I have the shade 530 Fatal Red,it is a bold, bright red.I really like the sturdy sleek packaging. it has a mild crayon smell which doesnt bother me much. I find this to be a matte lipstick which needs a few coats to build up to a full coverage lipstick, it goes on quite smooth and lasts a while. I would be tempted to try this in a few other shades

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acciohashi on 5/31/2014 3:25:00 AM more reviews by acciohashi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I've had the shade 630 Red Revolution for a few years now. It's my favorite red and would work well on a variety of skin tones. The best way I can describe it is as a 1 million bolt bright pure-red with neutral undertones. It has "pink" undertones but not the purplish pinkish way a red with blie undertones has. Compared to On Fire Red from the Colorsensational Vivids line, it is brighter, less blue, and has more slip(or glide), and applies at first swipe more opaquely. It's really the brightest red out there and a few people have commented on its many watts. You could mix it with a tiny bit of orange or yellow or blue or purple to change the undertone if you wish, but it is a really pretty color.
Fragrance: I'm talking about Fragrance, the added kind. It has some slight Vanilla Fragrance. As far as Fragrance goes, none is best, but this is too light to irritate anyone except those with truly sensitive skin. Also, it, and pumpkin, are the few Fragrances that aren't bad for skin(that's not truly and extremely sensitive).
Scent: I believe the Fragrance was only added to dispel the natural scent of the formula's waxes(which of course, everything in solid form has). Many people so intellectually describe some certain types if waxes as "crayon-scented" or (funniest) "omg why did they add crayon fragrance?!" So, one can see why they add Fragrance. Funnily enough, now it's "play-dough fragrance". Knowing what I know, I can tell it's a slight Vanilla Fragrance with the natural formula
Taste: I detected no taste, but I never make it a habit to lick my lips. Eating with it, however, and eventually eating some of the lipstick itself, I detected no taste or change in the food or drink's flavor.
Irritants: From reading the ingredient list, nothing pops out except for the fragrance. If you are allergic to anything or fear certain ingredients because of marketing or a blogger told you, then that is at your discretion.
Longevity: This'll wear evenly for approximately a school/work day. Applying a light coat, it already make lips look very red(like you already put on a ton of rouge) but the you can build more to the opacity on the tube. It's not a lip paint, so it will smear if you smear it, though it does take some pressure.
The way I was taught to make my lipstick last all day was (1) exfoliate lips, (2) apply lip balm and let it sink in, (3) remove all traces of balm, (4) shape lips with concealer, (5) line and fill in lips with matching or translucent lipliner or lip primer, (6) apply lipstick, (7) blot, (8) repeat six and seven until full or desired opacity, (9) set edges of lips with a good amount of powder, (10) very lightly dust on translucent powder.
I find that using this regimen does make it last all day with minimal reapplying, byt by itself it also lasts a good amount of time, but reapplying is still needed. It's not waterproof, which also means it's pretty oil resistant. It does stain and has pretty heavy pigment, so it's not attractive to smear it on your skin because only vigorous rubbing, or a good face wash or makeup remover, is going to really remove it. It's not Outlast or Infallible, but it gets the job done, gets you to lunch, fades evenly as you eat, and (after reapplying) stays pretty bright throughout the day. I find it is prettier, more universal, and more pigmented than my vivid.
It also has a pretty attractive glossy, not sparkly, finish. It makes lips look nicely plump and wet but I'm not sure many will agree it's a high-shine finish. It doesn't stick to my long hair, or (what I think is worse) runs down to my chin.
Honestly, these are some of the best and most affordable lipsticks, either drugstore or anywhere. Put it in nicer packaging and in a department store, and I would spend some good bucks. The packaging is functional and not at all fragile. It has the color side on the bottom of the, surprisingly pretty accurate, and the tube completly retracts the whole lipstick bullet thereby protecting it.
Also, even after these years of using this color to a stub, it still performs just as great as when I first bought it. I haven't noticed it drying or losing slip or anything.
Recently, I bought the shade 045 Pink Me Up and it's also a very pretty shade. It's a neutral to warm medium pink that applies(on me) as my-lips-but-pinker. It's very pretty and even applied opaquely gives subtle color. The formula is just as great as Red Revolution.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snazzyjazzy on 5/9/2014 5:24:00 PM more reviews by snazzyjazzy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I picked up these during a two for one sale. I had never tried maybelline lipstick before and was dubious as to the quality, but I am in love! I've currently got Vibrant Mandarin (a lovely 'coral orange') and Hot Plum (Pink w' blue tones). They are very pigmented, with great colour payoff. The formula is much like Revlon's Kissable Balms, applying like a lipstick but also leaving a great stain which means it wears well throughout the day, even with eating/drinking. I don't find them too drying, and the only downside I can think of is that the tinted packaging of the two shades I have is very similar, so it's difficult to tell at a glance which is which. This obviously is only a problem if you have several in the same shade group.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Binney on 5/3/2014 9:24:00 PM more reviews by Binney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in deepest cherry. It is a deep dark reddish purple and it is so beautiful and in style right now. Love these lipsticks as far as drugstore lip products go, not as good of a texture as Mac (much thinner.) good color payoff with the darker colors, but be careful with lighter colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shauneexo on 4/30/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by Shauneexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this lipstick in Bit of Berry, Let Me Pink, Hooked on Pink, and Party Pink. I absolutely love every single one of them, and am really interested in the Buffs collection and will be purchasing a few of those soon. I digress.... The lasting power of these lipsticks is great, which is a huge thing for me. I hate when lipstick starts looking patchy and weird throughout the day. Especially when I'm at work and can't just touch up whenever I feel like it. There is no strong "lipstick" scent, which is nice, because some lipsticks smell like new shoes, I don't want to kiss my honey and smell like a shoe lol. The one complaint I have is that they are somewhat drying, but that's easily fixed with the tiniest bit of lip balm. I look forward to buying more of these. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Minjeec on 4/19/2014 7:14:00 PM more reviews by Minjeec

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have one of these in 075 "let me pink." Great color payoff and stays on lips all day. Great product and price. Only downside is that it dries out my lips quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harmony7 on 4/16/2014 10:58:00 PM more reviews by harmony7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

These lipsticks are great and easily compare to department store brands like MAC. They go on smooth, moisturizing and the lasting power on me extends several hours. I have Very Cherry and Blissful Berry and both shades look good on my skin and don't dry out my lips. The packaging is cute with the sheer caps matching the lipstick shades. They come in a variety of shades flattering to all skintones, which is a plus for me being black.The price is also easy on my wallet and are conveniently at CVS. These are now part of my makeup kit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 teeisblue on 4/8/2014 9:00:00 PM more reviews by teeisblue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have this in Nude Lust, which turned out to be exactly the same color as my skin and I therefore looked like a corpse... My problem with this though is that is has a very nasty, waxy sort of taste and when I went to have a snack, all I could taste was this lipstick! Really gross, and totally not worth the purchase IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lipstick products