Maybelline Color Sensational (All Shades)

3.8

249 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Lanolin Liquida/Lanolin Oil, Sesamum Indicum Oil/Sesame Seed Oil, Oleyl Erucate, Cera Microcristallina/Microcrystalline Wax, PPG-5 Lanolin Wax, Acetylated Lanolin, Cera Alba/Beeswax, Alumina, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Acrylic Acid/Isobutyl Acrylate/Isobornylacrylate Copolymer, Parfum/Fragrance, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxhydrocinnamate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Silica, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Benzyl Alcohol, Tin Oxide, MEL/Honey, Polyethylene, Terephthalate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Pearl Powder, Dimethicone, ( /- May Contain Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77941, CI 77492, CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 15850/Red 7, CI 45410/Red 28 Lake, CI 15985/Yellow 6 Lake, CI 45380/Red 22 Lake, CI 19140/Yellow 5 Lake, CI 42090/Blue 1 Lake, CI 75470/Carmine)


on 3/21/2015 11:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Got this in 965 bubble gum. I have to work in into my lips with my fingers Has some sparkles in it. Color not pigmented. Once I work it in, it looks matte but nothing special.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

very drying, does not last long. I think I'll stick to Revlon lipsticks!


on 2/5/2015 12:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Bought Shocking Coral on a sale, it works but it's not my colour.


on 1/30/2015 8:10:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have this in Coral Crush. Perhaps I misunderstood what this is supposed to be. I see it as more of a lip gloss than a lipstick. The color is very pretty but it is too soft and creamy to last long or retain much color on my lips. Not what I was looking for.


on 1/12/2015 11:06:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Wow -- a great product for the price. Lasts a good 4-5 hours on me. Smell evaporates quickly and it's not bad.


on 1/5/2015 10:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the Nude colored one, and I love it! It has a subtle sheen to it without looking like a lip gloss. The moisture factor isn't too great personally, but other than that it's a good product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have Nude Embrace (970), which is a mauve-rose nude & part of the Maybelline Dare To Go Nude Limited Edition Spring 2014 collection. It's not exactly nude on me, but it's honestly too cute a color for me to complain about. Barely Bronze (960) probably would have suited me a little better & I don't care! It's a lot for me to say I actually like a nude lipstick because I have dark skin & nude colors are hardly ever flattering on me. Nude embrace is definitely pinky on me, but it'll still most likely become my everyday lipstick. I liked it more than I expected & it's still wearable on my skin tone.

I'm not sure why, but this lipstick clings to the slightest dry patch or chapped line in your lips even though it's creamy & somewhat sheer. It's a little hard for me to wear during the harsh winter months; what I do is put on a lot of lip balm, apply my face/eye makeup, blot off half the lip balm, & then put the lipstick on last.


on 12/14/2014 10:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have this in 325, cinnamon stick, and it's by far my favourite lipstick (even though I don't wear lipstick day to day). Nice shimmer, stays on long, good for defining my lips without the need of a lip liner.


on 11/30/2014 4:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have 8 of these lipsticks. I'm going to review them each as individual products as well as a collection.
So, first off I have 2 red shades from this collection: 540 Hollywood Red and 547 Pleasure Me Red. These both have a blue undertone to them which I really love as I'm not the biggest fan of orange toned red lipsticks. Hollywood Red is a lighter shade of red, for my lips which are quite naturally rosy red anyway, this is a definite "your lips but better" shade. For anyone else though this can still look subtle and perfect for day or night, it has a classy elegance to it that I think is just beautiful. Pleasure Me Red is a deeper, darker red colour. It's an amazing shade, and looks perfect next to my fair skin. To all the cool toned, pale skinned girls out there; Pleasure Me Red is your perfect red.
Then I have a gorgeous neutral brown shade; 630 Velvet Beige. I love the name of this, I think it describes the shade perfectly. This is possibly one of my favourite neutral shades EVER, it's got a slight mauve hint to it which is gorgeous, I could consider this a 'Kylie Jenner lip' dupe. I wear this a lot during the day as it goes with nearly everything, and I pair it with my Rimmel 1000 Kisses lip liner in Spice.
Next up is 148 Summer Pink. As someone who's not a typical fan of pink lips, I adore this shade. It's got a beautiful sheen to it and the shade of pink is lovely, it's not a sickly sweet candy pink, just a simple one that looks great in spring/summer.
I also have 245 Magic Mauve. After buying this shade, I spent a while regretting it and I couldn't think why I would buy it. At first it just didn't appeal to me. However now I adore it, it's a mauve coloured lipstick with a sheen that looks amazing on the lips. It could be worn in any season, and to any type of event. This is a colour that looks better if you build it up more, the more layers the nicer the colour.
There's a lot of hype about 'The Buffs' range in this collection (it's called something else in the UK I believe but I let it go by that) and I've actually only picked up one in this range. I have the shade 757 Naked Brown which I think is gorgeous. It's a very dark brown colour with a slight berry purple undertone, and I love it. I have very pale skin and it looks flawless, but I feel like this could work with all skin tones. I get so many compliments when I wear this, it's such a gorgeous shade and don't be too scared to try it!
Finally, I have two shades in 'The Pearls' range; 842 Rosewood Pearl and 852 Coral Pearl. Both these shades are pearly looking, frosty shades which I love for a natural look but could go with a more full look if you went for a heavy eye look. Rosewood Pearl is stunning (and the name is so cute), it's a nude shade, and the frosty sheen makes it look very natural. It could work for everybody, and the sheen does a great job of making your lips look fuller. The Coral Pearl is a light coral shade, it's very pretty!
The formula of all of these is amazing, it's super creamy but also long lasting, I can get a good 6 hours wear out of these, and maybe need to top up once after eating. The packaging is cute and they're good value. Would definitely recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2014 1:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought Maybelline Color sensational 527 Lady Red quite long time ago, maybe over a year ago. I liked it quite much and yesterday I decided to buy more lipsticks to fulfill my small collection. I bought 910 Shocking Coral and 912 Electric Orange.

I personally like how this lipstick stays in it's place quite well. It's not too wet nor too dry for me. (I've never had problems with my lips being too dry) In my opinion Shocking Coral is nowhere near being coral shade and I was disappointed with it mostly, even though I still like the color - but I was looking for coral shade, not pink. But it still looks quite good on my lips and I've seen people that it doesn't fit at all. But then, I was happily surprised by how nice color Electric Orange was - I've never liked color orange, actually I used to hate it, but that color fits me like my favorite sweater. About my old Lady Red - It's color I wanted and it's very nice red indeed, in my opinion at least.

It doesn't smell bad, but then again, it's kind of smell I learnt to smell lipsticks as it was my first lipstick ever. Pigmentation is very good in all of those tree, you don't even need to put so much it and it looks fabulous - but if you put it even little too much (especially Lady Red and Shocking Coral) you will look like a clown. It doesn't last all day, at least not for me, I usually apply more of it after two-three hours of last time applying it. It stains - well, at least everyone knows it's MY cup or glass.

I recommend this lipstick if your budget is small and you want big collection to choose from - I'm sure every lipstickholic finds their color in this collection. There's shades from nude to red and from bubblegum pink to dramatically dark lipsticks.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
187 Reviews
Provocalips
64 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top